Jill & Alex (GA)
Member Since 2009
There seems to be a lot of misinformation floating around lately about guidelines for *earning* reductions as well as numbers to look for prior to starting an OTJ trial.
Hope this helps put everyone back on the same page...
REDUCTIONS:
Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis
OTJ TRIALS:
Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.
Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.
Hope this helps put everyone back on the same page...
REDUCTIONS:
Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis
- reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
- reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
- reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
- reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS
- reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
- reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
- reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
- reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS.
OTJ TRIALS:
Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.
Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.
Last edited: