amousm
Member Since 2021
Hi!
I'm taking care of someone else's diabetic cat for the next 6 months or so. His name is Blue. I'm Amy. He came to me on 7/11 and had a combo diet. He is obese. I've switched him to a canned food diet and reduced the amount of food he's receiving. I'm familiar with slow weight loss goals. I also know that the cold turkey switch from kibble to canned food means the insulin needs to be lowered.
I thought we were doing well until this morning. His amps was 44. Blue was fine-acting. We didn't give any insulin and did feed him. He ate well.
I'm now worried that I didn't reduce his insulin dose enough with the diet change.
We've got an AlphaTrak meter. Blue is on PZI. Do you have any suggestions on what I should do for this evening's dose?
I see lots of information on how to start giving insulin to a newly diagnosed cat. I am not seeing (although I'm sure it's there) how to reduce insulin doses.
Thanks!
I'm taking care of someone else's diabetic cat for the next 6 months or so. His name is Blue. I'm Amy. He came to me on 7/11 and had a combo diet. He is obese. I've switched him to a canned food diet and reduced the amount of food he's receiving. I'm familiar with slow weight loss goals. I also know that the cold turkey switch from kibble to canned food means the insulin needs to be lowered.
I thought we were doing well until this morning. His amps was 44. Blue was fine-acting. We didn't give any insulin and did feed him. He ate well.
I'm now worried that I didn't reduce his insulin dose enough with the diet change.
We've got an AlphaTrak meter. Blue is on PZI. Do you have any suggestions on what I should do for this evening's dose?
I see lots of information on how to start giving insulin to a newly diagnosed cat. I am not seeing (although I'm sure it's there) how to reduce insulin doses.
Thanks!
Last edited: