Reduce dose?? 1/11 - Mia - AMPS 373, +2 275, +4 248, +6 250. PMPS 135, +1 184, +2 178, +4 275 +6 412

MonicaT

Active Member
Hi!
Just did Mia's ps and she is 135 all of a sudden

Do I still give the increased dose??? It seems like a lot when her BG is less than half of what its been
 
Retested already after 5 min and it was 146 so still ALOT lower than what she's been for weeks

I really don't want to end up giving too much insulin causing her to go low and end up bouncing again
 
Jumping in here seeing the 911... I'm not an expert!

Do you have high carbs? 15%-20% or more? Do you have karo or honey on hand?

Looks like you're doing tight regulation, so I don't think just this drop according to protocol would warrant an immediate reduction. This is the just the depot building up and you're starting to get back into better numbers.

If you have everything you need, I would give a higher carb meal than normal and proceed with the current dose.

Whatever you decide, for sure get a test at the +1 and every hour after that to catch any potential drops.

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom
 
Jumping in here seeing the 911... I'm not an expert!

Do you have high carbs? 15%-20% or more? Do you have karo or honey on hand?

Looks like you're doing tight regulation, so I don't think just this drop according to protocol would warrant an immediate reduction. This is the just the depot building up and you're starting to get back into better numbers.

If you have everything you need, I would give a higher carb meal than normal and proceed with the current dose.

Whatever you decide, for sure get a test at the +1 and every hour after that to catch any potential drops.

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom
Thank you so much for replying @Jason - Kona's Dad ! Gave her dose now already as I ended up having to move her dose time by 15min. So reduced slightly and hope it wasn't the wrong move reducing too early... Will test at +1
 
It's about that time... how's the +1 looking?

Forum housekeeping when you can, please update your title with today's date and put all the tests in there for better tracking.
 
@Jason - Kona's Dad so her +1 saw an increase...really hoping I haven't made the wrong move here...

She went up to 184. But could be from her big meal with the shot..., I hope I'll see a slight drop at +2!

Even if she bounces tonight and goes into some higher numbers from that big drop today, don't stress it, you made a totally fine decision. I personally would just call this PM a "skinny" dose and unless anything crazy happens tonight like she did that 38 on January 1st, just stick with the .75 tomorrow and not take an actual reduction.

You're just building up experience and courage with shooting higher doses. Good job! :bighug:

Looking forward to seeing the +2. I would also get a +3 & +4 if you can... the more data the better with recent, increased dose changes.
 
@Jason - Kona's Dad thank you so much for the reassurance! That was much needed, was going back and forth in my mind of what to do with her dose

She has gone slightly down with her +2 test, will get in a +4 in around 30min too

For the morning dose tomorrow, I'm not exactly sure I'm understanding you correctly. You're saying I should go back to her dose in the morning? Or now stick with the slightly reduced dose that she got this evening?
 
Side note: please upload a picture of Mia as her profile photo.
@Jason - Kona's Dad thank you so much for the reassurance! That was much needed, was going back and forth in my mind of what to do with her dose

She has gone slightly down with her +2 test, will get in a +4 in around 30min too

For the morning dose tomorrow, I'm not exactly sure I'm understanding you correctly. You're saying I should go back to her dose in the morning? Or now stick with the slightly reduced dose that she got this evening?

A lot can happen from now and until the AMPS tomorrow, but if it was me, I would want to go back to .75 in the morning if the AMPS is fine to do so. You got cold feet tonight, decided to give a skinny essentially, but I wouldn't necessarily considerate it as an official reduction and the new dose going forward.

For your spreadsheet, I think the thing some people do is to input "0.50 skinny" or "0.50 S" so it notes that you decided to give a skinny.

Protocol says to hold a dose and not reduce unless she went under 50. Source: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom for a second opinion.
 
Here's the link to your previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-1-mia-amps-418-2-322-4-331-6-367.297339/

When you increased, you should have increased by 0.25 units, not 0.5 units. Your dose should have been at 0.5 units. Increases and decreases are made by 0.25 units at a time.

I do agree with the others that a reduction had not been earned if 0.75 units had been her correct dose. It could be she will eventually have to go back up to 0.75 units.

I really don't want to end up giving too much insulin causing her to go low and end up bouncing again
Don't think of bouncing as a problem. It is the cat's body's natural reaction to lower numbers or fast drops. It is a sign that the insulin is starting to take them into numbers they haven't been used to for a while. We want Mia to see greens and low blues again so her body will get used to them.
 
Side note: please upload a picture of Mia as her profile photo.


A lot can happen from now and until the AMPS tomorrow, but if it was me, I would want to go back to .75 in the morning if the AMPS is fine to do so. You got cold feet tonight, decided to give a skinny essentially, but I wouldn't necessarily considerate it as an official reduction and the new dose going forward.

For your spreadsheet, I think the thing some people do is to input "0.50 skinny" or "0.50 S" so it notes that you decided to give a skinny.

Protocol says to hold a dose and not reduce unless she went under 50. Source: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom for a second opinion.
@Jason - Kona's Dad looks like you were right! She's back up in high numbers for her amps this morning, so followed your advice and am sticking to her recently increased dose. That blue PMPS really came out of nowhere! o_O
 
Here's the link to your previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-1-mia-amps-418-2-322-4-331-6-367.297339/

When you increased, you should have increased by 0.25 units, not 0.5 units. Your dose should have been at 0.5 units. Increases and decreases are made by 0.25 units at a time.

I do agree with the others that a reduction had not been earned if 0.75 units had been her correct dose. It could be she will eventually have to go back up to 0.75 units.


Don't think of bouncing as a problem. It is the cat's body's natural reaction to lower numbers or fast drops. It is a sign that the insulin is starting to take them into numbers they haven't been used to for a while. We want Mia to see greens and low blues again so her body will get used to them.
@Wendy&Neko still have to figure out this caliper dosing, which is why I'm not quite sure if she is infact at 0.75u now and if her previous dose was 0.20u

Will try to get those measurements done that @JL and Chip has asked about.

Went back to her 0.75u this morning as she is back up in high numbers. Just wasn't prepared on how to treat that sudden blue PMPS that came out of nowhere yesterday evening and was worried to give her the same dose that had dropped her 100 points in the am cycle
 
Back
Top