Thank you so much for replying @Jason - Kona's Dad ! Gave her dose now already as I ended up having to move her dose time by 15min. So reduced slightly and hope it wasn't the wrong move reducing too early... Will test at +1Jumping in here seeing the 911... I'm not an expert!
Do you have high carbs? 15%-20% or more? Do you have karo or honey on hand?
Looks like you're doing tight regulation, so I don't think just this drop according to protocol would warrant an immediate reduction. This is the just the depot building up and you're starting to get back into better numbers.
If you have everything you need, I would give a higher carb meal than normal and proceed with the current dose.
Whatever you decide, for sure get a test at the +1 and every hour after that to catch any potential drops.
@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom
I reduced her dose slightly, from 0.75 to 0.5, with the caliper I went from 3mm to 2.10mm.
Will test at +1 to see how her numbers are
Jason to the rescue!Not a bad move, playing it safe with a skinny.... good job!
Keep us posted on the +1. Have your high carbs and Karo ready, you got this!![]()
@Jason - Kona's Dad so her +1 saw an increase...really hoping I haven't made the wrong move here...
She went up to 184. But could be from her big meal with the shot..., I hope I'll see a slight drop at +2!
@Jason - Kona's Dad thank you so much for the reassurance! That was much needed, was going back and forth in my mind of what to do with her dose
She has gone slightly down with her +2 test, will get in a +4 in around 30min too
For the morning dose tomorrow, I'm not exactly sure I'm understanding you correctly. You're saying I should go back to her dose in the morning? Or now stick with the slightly reduced dose that she got this evening?
Agree with Jason. A decrease really wasn't warranted as she didn't go below 50, so I would also go back to .75 for amps (unless of course she dips into the low greens tonight).I would want to go back to .75 in the morning if the AMPS is fine to do so.
Don't think of bouncing as a problem. It is the cat's body's natural reaction to lower numbers or fast drops. It is a sign that the insulin is starting to take them into numbers they haven't been used to for a while. We want Mia to see greens and low blues again so her body will get used to them.I really don't want to end up giving too much insulin causing her to go low and end up bouncing again
@Jason - Kona's Dad looks like you were right! She's back up in high numbers for her amps this morning, so followed your advice and am sticking to her recently increased dose. That blue PMPS really came out of nowhere!Side note: please upload a picture of Mia as her profile photo.
A lot can happen from now and until the AMPS tomorrow, but if it was me, I would want to go back to .75 in the morning if the AMPS is fine to do so. You got cold feet tonight, decided to give a skinny essentially, but I wouldn't necessarily considerate it as an official reduction and the new dose going forward.
For your spreadsheet, I think the thing some people do is to input "0.50 skinny" or "0.50 S" so it notes that you decided to give a skinny.
Protocol says to hold a dose and not reduce unless she went under 50. Source: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom for a second opinion.
@Wendy&Neko still have to figure out this caliper dosing, which is why I'm not quite sure if she is infact at 0.75u now and if her previous dose was 0.20uHere's the link to your previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-1-mia-amps-418-2-322-4-331-6-367.297339/
When you increased, you should have increased by 0.25 units, not 0.5 units. Your dose should have been at 0.5 units. Increases and decreases are made by 0.25 units at a time.
I do agree with the others that a reduction had not been earned if 0.75 units had been her correct dose. It could be she will eventually have to go back up to 0.75 units.
Don't think of bouncing as a problem. It is the cat's body's natural reaction to lower numbers or fast drops. It is a sign that the insulin is starting to take them into numbers they haven't been used to for a while. We want Mia to see greens and low blues again so her body will get used to them.