Thanks for all that information. It’s a bit hard to digest and it’s overwhelming because it’s all based on testing.
Now that the hypo crisis seems to have passed and I’ve had time to think tonight, I’ve lost confidence.
I decided to try to take the libre off Misty and I put some zoff on it, but she ran off and I couldn’t rinse it. She became very distressed, pacing and panting. I finally managed to wipe it off. Then she disappeared. I felt for sure I’d poisoned her. I found her and she seems ok, but I’m shattered. The needle was bent on the libre, but it’s so weak I can’t imagine ever being able to get it through anyone’s skin. It must somehow.
I have to keep the shots at midday and midnight because my daughter has a swim meet on Sunday and we will be away from 7.45am to midday-ish. There’s not enough time to get it back to 7.30am.
I’m still awake …so much for an early night!
That is fine to keep the current hours if that works for you at the moment.
You as probably having a bit of a reaction to all that has happened over the last several days. It’s been pretty full on for you. you have coped amazingly well I think.
I think anyone having gone through a kitty having one hypo event, let alone a second one, would feel pretty shattered.
It took me ages to get my head around the 2 dosing methods, so don’t worry.
The differences are basically
TR……must be feeding low carb wet food, must test before every shot and at least once during each cycle, can increase each 3 days if needed, if you get a failed reduction you can go back to the best dose straight away.Reduction BG 50 (2.8)
SLGS……can feed dry food, test before each shot, do a curve once a week and can increase if needed then. Can only increase after 7 days, if a failed reduction, must wait 7 days before increasing again. Reduction BG 90 (5)
Whichever one you choose, you can get help each day if needed. We don’t expect you to know what to do for some time.
I’m sorry you have lost confidence…I think you have done so well throughout this whole episode, despite getting dodgy advice and poor treatment from the vets.