Recovery from hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.
I can’t get another reading. She only ate a few pieces of chicken, I got the prick, but couldn’t get the blood into the strip before she got upset. She won’t have tinned food and actively moves away from it, making me think she’s feeling sick.
I got a urine sample at +7. No ketones. Glucose at the highest level.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @KarenRamboConan
Good morning/evening. I suspect you are busy this morning, Bron. I’m not sure who else to ask. I do not know how much insulin to give Misty this morning. The only readings I got overnight were high. I could t get a +6. The +3 was 19ish and the +9 was 17ish. She ate some more boiled chicken overnight and a FF broth this morning. She was up and about for almost 3 hours and then Went back to bed. I was thinking 1u. She is due at 10.40am. (in 10 mins).
 
I haven’t done one yet. She is in her hidey hole, which I tried to barricade, but not well enough. I will bring her some food and try. The only trouble is that I need to have her eating to do her shot too. I will see how I go. Maybe be conservative and stick with 0.5.
 
Well done getting the BG!
I think stay with the 0.5 u for a few more cycles and let the depot fill and see where she is at then.
Get a test each day for the ketones if you can as that would be really helpful and as long as she has no ketones we are safe to stay with the 0.5U for a few days.
Try and get her to eat as much as you can.
I’ll post how to stimulate the appetite link but will post this so you can give the dose
 
My vet gave Kaia a appetite stimulant. It's a transdermal medicine (rub on ears), is this an option for you? It was kind of expensive, but it worked
 
My vet gave Kaia a appetite stimulant. It's a transdermal medicine (rub on ears), is this an option for you? It was kind of expensive, but it worked
An appetite stimulant is a good idea as long as Misty is not nauseated. If there is any suggestion she is nauseated, she will need an antinausea medication first before giving the appetite stimulant.
 
Thank you @JBat75 and @Bron and Sheba (GA)

I had a ckd cat on cerenia and mirtazapine. The trouble is, I didn’t like what the mirtazapine did to her. It stopped her eating for hours, she was vocal and restless (all common side effects apparently). Plus the cerenia didn’t seem to do much.

I did get my cerenia back from the vet in case I need it for Misty. I don’t have any mirtazapine left. I couldn’t get the transdermal here, so used tablets and they made my ckd girl’s mouth foam, which was ok if I could hide it in food, but not when I had to force it in her.

Misty has had a bit more broth and a bit more boiled chicken (which allowed me to test and shoot). Hopefully she will be ok on this diet for a couple of days and she will feel better after that. If not, I will have to try the medications.
 
Thank you @JBat75 and @Bron and Sheba (GA)

I had a ckd cat on cerenia and mirtazapine. The trouble is, I didn’t like what the mirtazapine did to her. It stopped her eating for hours, she was vocal and restless (all common side effects apparently). Plus the cerenia didn’t seem to do much.

I did get my cerenia back from the vet in case I need it for Misty. I don’t have any mirtazapine left. I couldn’t get the transdermal here, so used tablets and they made my ckd girl’s mouth foam, which was ok if I could hide it in food, but not when I had to force it in her.

Misty has had a bit more broth and a bit more boiled chicken (which allowed me to test and shoot). Hopefully she will be ok on this diet for a couple of days and she will feel better after that. If not, I will have to try the medications.
So happy to hear she's eating. I've fed my girls boiled chicken diet a few times and it really helped. Please keep us posted
 
You might find that ondansetron is better for the nausea than the cerenia. The name most often used here in Australia for the ondansetron is zofran.
It is actually a human antinausea medication but can be given to cats. The vet has to write a script and then you take it to the pharmacy and they dispense it.
When I first asked for it for Sheba, my vet had not heard of it…so possibly your vet may not have heard of it either.
The zofran comes in packets of 4 mg wafers and I used to give Sheba 2 mg (1/2 a wafer). She was 6 kg in weight.
You have to make sure your hands are dry as the wafer will dissolve with moisture. I just put it on her tongue and it dissolved.
The zofran can be given every 8 hours if needed, It is very effective for nausea.
The mirtazapine does have some side effects.
 
You might find that ondansetron is better for the nausea than the cerenia. The name most often used here in Australia for the ondansetron is zofran.
It is actually a human antinausea medication but can be given to cats. The vet has to write a script and then you take it to the pharmacy and they dispense it.
When I first asked for it for Sheba, my vet had not heard of it…so possibly your vet may not have heard of it either.
The zofran comes in packets of 4 mg wafers and I used to give Sheba 2 mg (1/2 a wafer). She was 6 kg in weight.
You have to make sure your hands are dry as the wafer will dissolve with moisture. I just put it on her tongue and it dissolved.
The zofran can be given every 8 hours if needed, It is very effective for nausea.
The mirtazapine does have some side effects.
Zofran causes constipation in humans, so be careful. But GREAT stuff!!
 
You might find that ondansetron is better for the nausea than the cerenia. The name most often used here in Australia for the ondansetron is zofran.
It is actually a human antinausea medication but can be given to cats. The vet has to write a script and then you take it to the pharmacy and they dispense it.
When I first asked for it for Sheba, my vet had not heard of it…so possibly your vet may not have heard of it either.
The zofran comes in packets of 4 mg wafers and I used to give Sheba 2 mg (1/2 a wafer). She was 6 kg in weight.
You have to make sure your hands are dry as the wafer will dissolve with moisture. I just put it on her tongue and it dissolved.
The zofran can be given every 8 hours if needed, It is very effective for nausea.
The mirtazapine does have some side effects.
Thanks @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I am very familiar with Zofran, as I took it for morning sickness with my first pregnancy, which I experienced for 34 weeks. I did ask the vet about it for my ckd cat and she wasn't keen. I can ask again though. For my second pregnancy I took tissue salts and they worked just as effectively. I did a bit of research on using them for cats a few months ago, but I might do some more now.
I just managed to test her again. I knew she was hungry, so I took the opportunity (she is traditionally a grazer). At +4 she was 14.2. Unfortunately I have to go out tonight for my daughter's swim club night and so I won't be able to do a +6 or 7. I will probably not be home until +9. I will try to test then. We don't leave to go out for another hour, so I will see if she's hungry again then. It seems the 0.5 is bringing her out of the higher range. Still high, but not as bad. She may go down to normal, but I won't know, unfortunately. She seems alert and brighter this afternoon.
Thanks again
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
I got a reading of 10.1 at +6!!!
I’ll do the 0.5 tonight and see how she goes overnight. She was happy to eat. I will enter this reading on the spreadsheet when I get home.
She’s looking good. The depot could be filling or she could be coming off a bounce from the very low numbers, so make sure you are testing. I’m not sure if the high numbers are from just not getting any insulin for a couple of cycles or from a bounce.
Did you get the freestyle meter fixed or are you doing the tests yourself?
Did you get some ‘in date’ test strips?
 
She’s looking good. The depot could be filling or she could be coming off a bounce from the very low numbers, so make sure you are testing. I’m not sure if the high numbers are from just not getting any insulin for a couple of cycles or from a bounce.
Did you get the freestyle meter fixed or are you doing the tests yourself?
Did you get some ‘in date’ test strips?
I got some new strips thanks and new batteries for the meter just in case.
The meter isn’t working. I saw them at the pharmacy today, so I’m thinking of getting another one, although I’m doing ok testing her myself most of the time. The vet has offered to put another one on, but I’m wondering if I should do that myself too. She gets so stressed and has to be sedated. She’s enjoyed the rest today. She seems very tired after this ordeal.
 
I’m sure she was very tired after having two very low episodes and having to stay and the vet and then be sedated.
I think you are managing well with the manual testing.
I think $400 to get the meter fitted is outrageous, especially when they didn’t even test it to see if it worked.
Most people don’t pay more than $120. Some pay $80.
And the nurse fitted it not even the vet.
 
I’m sure she was very tired after having two very low episodes and having to stay and the vet and then be sedated.
I think you are managing well with the manual testing.
I think $400 to get the meter fitted is outrageous, especially when they didn’t even test it to see if it worked.
Most people don’t pay more than $120. Some pay $80.
And the nurse fitted it not even the vet.
Thanks. I am doing ok with the manual testing, but she isn’t 100%. When she feels better it may be harder and I may rethink it at that point, but taking her to the vet again on Friday, where she doesn’t eat, where she’s stressed and where they can’t really control how long it will take because other emergencies may come in, makes me nervous. She was up and wanting to go outside when we got home. The libre itself cost $192. I told the vet I saw it in the shop around the corner for $109 and she suggested I get that and they can fit it. The rest of the cost was for sedation, day stay and vet costs. They also lost a clip off my carrier and Misty nearly escaped on the footpath outside the clinic. Luckily I have another carrier.
I may see how she goes overnight and tomorrow, but I don’t think at this stage I will get the libre unless I decide to try to put it on myself.
 
Charging you $192 just for the meter was very overpriced.
If you think you can manage to test yourself, I would leave putting on the meter. Misty will get used hometesting.
They sound pretty hopeless I must say……losing the clip on your carrier, not testing the libre to see it is working before handing her over to you, and not feeding her during the day. And also giving the 2 units and discharging her and she dropped low again.
Did you tell the vet what happened? what time is the PMPS tonight?
 
Sorry I missed your message. it was a different vet clinic that gave the 2u, but otherwise you are correct, plus I spoke to no vet all day yesterday. The nontreating vet called me after 6pm and she only called to talk about the results of her senior blood test (borderline anaemic, nothing else of note)
PMPS is 11.30ish.
What would be a no shoot reading?
 
I’ll be asleep I hope at 11.30 pm. I’m generally a night owl but I find if I don’t get up early to get my walk in, it’s too hot and humid. So I’m forcing myself to go to bed early.

You know you can give the dose 15 minutes earlier each cycle (or 1/2 hour once a day) to get back into a better schedule.
I would take the preshot BG 10 minutes or so before that so you have time to ask if you are not sure.
You can tag @Bandit's Mom if you are not sure. She will be around in 3/4 hour.
As we have no real data for Misty, and we are still figuring out what dose she needs after the hypo and next day very low BGs, , I think if she is under 11 (200) I would stall and don’t feed and test 20 minutes later to see if it’s going up, or skip.
Try and get another ketones test in sometime if you can too.
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom
Misty’s +6 reading was 18.6.
However, the weather has gotten considerably colder here, so I struggled to get enough blood while she was eating and she finished it all before I could do it. I got more food and heated a rice sock and came back and did it. The process probably took 5 mins. I’m not sure therefore if the food I gave her while I was doing the first try has made her higher than she otherwise would have been. It was a fancy feast broth. Does the food impact the reading immediately?
she is behaving like her normal self.
if the food doesn’t increase it that quickly, then she’s much higher than +6 in the last cycle.
it seems her amps will be higher too.
dosing will be tricky.
I’m going back to bed for a nap before my children get up. So is Misty.
thanks again.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
I just did Misty’s AMPS. It was 15.2. Will I stick with the 0.5u?
Shall I start a new post in the Lantus section? I’m still quite frazzled today, but I’m starting to try to get a bit more organised.
Misty was not helpful with the testing. Not sure ho
How is it going today.
Have you done the am dose yet. I can see you have 274 in the AMPS Column
our messages have crossed paths!
15.2 AMPS. Haven’t given insulin yet. Maybe one more cycle of 0.5? Or up to 1?
 
I would stay with 0.5 for now until we see how she is with the depot full and the bounce gone.
Did you manage to get a ketone urine test yet today?
You are doing really well!
 
Thanks so
I would stay with 0.5 for now until we see how she is with the depot full and the bounce gone.
Did you manage to get a urine test yet.
You are doing really well!
thanks so much. yes, got urine sample. No ketones. I also have to take a sample to the vet to see if there’s blood in her urine or anything. I had 3 calls from vets yesterday. I think they realised they’d neglected Misty and me. They didn’t add anything useful, but the urine test may rule out any UTI or whatever.
 
Sorry, I was away and didn't see the tag until today. You didn't need a new phone to scan the Libre sensor. There are standalone Readers that are sold for the Freestyle Libre. In the US, they cost about USD$60. They are great because even when you are not home a sitter or family member can just scan the sensor with the Reader. https://www.freestyle.abbott/in-en/products/freestyle-libre-reader.html . I'm so sorry neither your vet nor your pharmacist told you this.
 
Thanks so

thanks so much. yes, got urine sample. No ketones. I also have to take a sample to the vet to see if there’s blood in her urine or anything. I had 3 calls from vets yesterday. I think they realised they’d neglected Misty and me. They didn’t add anything useful, but the urine test may rule out any UTI or whatever.
Do you think she has a UTI.? Can you see blood? Is she peeing more frequently?
Excellent no ketones!
 
Do you think she has a UTI.? Can you see blood? Is she peeing more frequently?
Excellent no ketones!
No I don’t think she has a uti and I can’t see blood. The vet just wanted to check. He is wondering why she suddenly crashed. I think sometimes there’s no knowable reason.
 
Sorry, I was away and didn't see the tag until today. You didn't need a new phone to scan the Libre sensor. There are standalone Readers that are sold for the Freestyle Libre. In the US, they cost about USD$60. They are great because even when you are not home a sitter or family member can just scan the sensor with the Reader. https://www.freestyle.abbott/in-en/products/freestyle-libre-reader.html . I'm so sorry neither your vet nor your pharmacist told you this.
Thanks for that info. I was aware there is a reader, but no pharmacies in my area had them and the last one I spoke to said no one keeps them in stock. They all order them when needed. I was mostly disappointed that the vets office didn’t have one or the app and no one told me about the need for a compatible phone or to check the website or anything like that. If I’d had even a few days’ notice I could have sorted it. The fact the meter didn’t work because it wasn’t put on properly is what made the whole thing doubly frustrating. It registers, but has an error message saying to check if it’s on properly and if not get a new one. The fact I was charged a mark up of close to $100 for it was rubbing salt into the wound!
 
No I don’t think she has a uti and I can’t see blood. The vet just wanted to check. He is wondering why she suddenly crashed. I think sometimes there’s no knowable reason.
I think the reason she crashed is pretty obvious. She needs less insulin. Her pancreas could possibly be starting to produce some insulin. She has probably been dropping low for a while but has been saving herself by bouncing but she can only do that for so long, if she keeps getting too much insulin, before she crashes.
I am so glad you are going to test now. It’s the only way to keep a kitty safe on insulin.
Misty is so lucky to have you.

I would think a UTI would increase the BGs as it is an infection, not lower them. I hope he’s not going to charge you for the test!
 
Charging you $192 just for the meter was very overpriced.
If you think you can manage to test yourself, I would leave putting on the meter. Misty will get used hometesting.
They sound pretty hopeless I must say……losing the clip on your carrier, not testing the libre to see it is working before handing her over to you, and not feeding her during the day. And also giving the 2 units and discharging her and she dropped low again.
Did you tell the vet what happened? what time is the PMPS tonight?
I’ve now looked at the itemised bill from the emergency vet and I was charged about $45 for the 4u of glargine. I pay that for 5 pens. Outrageous. I’d rather they charge more for their time and just charge a reasonable amount for pharmaceuticals etc. one vet charged me $30 for a bag of fluids. Another charged properly at $7.50.
 
I think the reason she crashed is pretty obvious. She needs less insulin. Her pancreas could possibly be starting to produce some insulin. She has probably been dropping low for a while but has been saving herself by bouncing but she can only do that for so long, if she keeps getting too much insulin, before she crashes.
I am so glad you are going to test now. It’s the only way to keep a kitty safe on insulin.
Misty is so lucky to have you.

I would think a UTI would increase the BGs as it is an infection, not lower them. I hope he’s not going to charge you for the test!
I know others would have euthanised her when diagnosed, as was suggested to me. I have tried, but do feel I’ve let her down.
On another note, I was planning to try to transition her to raw, if she is amenable to it, which is no carbs, so I was going to ensure I was monitoring at that point. It would be great if a diet change made her need even less insulin.
 
I’ve now looked at the itemised bill from the emergency vet and I was charged about $45 for the 4u of glargine. I pay that for 5 pens. Outrageous. I’d rather they charge more for their time and just charge a reasonable amount for pharmaceuticals etc. one vet charged me $30 for a bag of fluids. Another charged properly at $7.50.
That is outrageous!
 
know others would have euthanised her when diagnosed, as was suggested to me. I have tried, but do feel I’ve let her down.
I don’t think you have let her down at all.
I think you have been let down by the vets.

another note, I was planning to try to transition her to raw, if she is amenable to it, which is no carbs, so I was going to ensure I was monitoring at that point. It would be great if a diet change made her need even less insulin.
I feed my cats a raw diet.
How were you thinking of doing it?
There are a few options out there now. Some of the raw foods you get are full of preservatives and some of the others are not nutritionally balanced so you need to be careful.
I make my own.
Have you managed to get another test in during the cycle yet?
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Misty's +6 was 17.8.
Looks like we need to go higher. Her PMPS will be at about 11.30pm again, so you will be asleep. I will do the same as you suggested last night if it is below 11 (very unlikely given what the +6 was).
If it is still in the purple range, I think I should give 1u. She's essentially been high since Monday and I'm worried about ketones. I will check her urine again in the morning (its the only time I can catch her).
The vet called and the urine had nothing of note, except it shows she is dehydrated given the concentration. It was her first morning urine and she hasn't been getting the water I usually put in her wet food. However, she does seem dehydrated to me - she was rushing for water on Monday afternoon and I found her at a water bowl today, which is ordinarily unheard of. The vet will give me some pet glue to try to stick the Libre on myself. He agreed it was worth a try, given the stress and sedation that she would need if they did it.
I went to the pharmacy today and they sold out of Libre 2 this morning (grrr). The lady said she could get me one in tomorrow, so I will wait for that. If it doesn't come in, I will just get a Libre 1. I think I will explode if they run out of them!
Today is the first day she has eaten some of her usual food. Admittedly it was a "not complete meal" pouch, but I felt it was an improvement.
The raw I'm thinking of is Raw Meow Mix.
 
raw I'm thinking of is Raw Meow Mix.
Is that the one in Western Australia? The lady who runs the Australian Raw Fed Cats Facebook page own the Raw Meow Mix. You can ask all the questions you like on that page. It’s good.

shows she is dehydrated given the concentration
Try and get some fluids into her with her food if you can. Hopefully she will starting eating properly again soon.

The vet will give me some pet glue to try to stick the Libre on myself. He agreed it was worth a try, given the stress and sedation that she would need if they did it.
They should be providing another libre free to you after the last stuff up.
I’m sure you will be able to do it and it will be much less stressful for a Misty.

Misty's +6 was 17.8.
Looks like we need to go higher. Her PMPS will be at about 11.30pm again, so you will be asleep. I will do the same as you suggested last night if it is below 11 (very unlikely given what the +6 was).
If it is still in the purple range, I think I should give 1u. She's essentially been high since Monday and I'm worried about ketones. I will check her urine again in the morning (its the only time I can catch her)
My only concern is if she is bouncing (they can do this for up to 6 cycles). This is the 6th cycle since the lime green numbers so you should be ok to increase next cycle.
We can call it a failed reduction and increase but I would only increase to 0.75 units. Will you be able to monitor overnight?
Would you be happy with that increase?
 
Yes, it is the RMM one in WA and I am a member of their fb group. I got a sample pack and I've been waiting for the libre to start trying it. I may have to hold off now. I just want her to eat!
The vet wanted me to increase to 1 this morning, but I refused. She also said that a normal starting dose for a cat of her size would be 2 or 3. That's when I lost interest in her pov.

I'm happy to stick with 0.5 tonight. I will still do a +6 test (if I can).

She got up and came downstairs and outside for a while this afternoon, even in the cold wind.
 
Yes, it is the RMM one in WA and I am a member of their fb group. I got a sample pack and I've been waiting for the libre to start trying it. I may have to hold off now. I just want her to eat!
The vet wanted me to increase to 1 this morning, but I refused. She also said that a normal starting dose for a cat of her size would be 2 or 3. That's when I lost interest in her pov.

I'm happy to stick with 0.5 tonight. I will still do a +6 test (if I can).

She got up and came downstairs and outside for a while this afternoon, even in the cold wind.
I’m glad you are a member of that Facebook group. I am too.

I don’t think that vet has any idea about feline diabetes. the starting dose is usually 0.5 units if the cat eats low carb wet food or 1 unit if they eat dry.
unfortunately vets don’t get very much tuition about feline diabetes at Uni.

If she doesn’t drop into green tonight, i would go up to 0.75 units in the morning. Try and start winding back the time so you can get back to a decent time schedule. You must be exhausted.
If you can have a look at the two dosing methods we have and decide on one, we can send you over to the Lantus forum. DOSING METHODS
As you are not feeding any dry food you can do the TR which means you can increase every three days if needed.
But it’s up to you. Have a look and see what you think.
 
Thanks for all that information. It’s a bit hard to digest and it’s overwhelming because it’s all based on testing.
Now that the hypo crisis seems to have passed and I’ve had time to think tonight, I’ve lost confidence.
I decided to try to take the libre off Misty and I put some zoff on it, but she ran off and I couldn’t rinse it. She became very distressed, pacing and panting. I finally managed to wipe it off. Then she disappeared. I felt for sure I’d poisoned her. I found her and she seems ok, but I’m shattered. The needle was bent on the libre, but it’s so weak I can’t imagine ever being able to get it through anyone’s skin. It must somehow.
I have to keep the shots at midday and midnight because my daughter has a swim meet on Sunday and we will be away from 7.45am to midday-ish. There’s not enough time to get it back to 7.30am.
 
Thanks for all that information. It’s a bit hard to digest and it’s overwhelming because it’s all based on testing.
Now that the hypo crisis seems to have passed and I’ve had time to think tonight, I’ve lost confidence.
I decided to try to take the libre off Misty and I put some zoff on it, but she ran off and I couldn’t rinse it. She became very distressed, pacing and panting. I finally managed to wipe it off. Then she disappeared. I felt for sure I’d poisoned her. I found her and she seems ok, but I’m shattered. The needle was bent on the libre, but it’s so weak I can’t imagine ever being able to get it through anyone’s skin. It must somehow.
I have to keep the shots at midday and midnight because my daughter has a swim meet on Sunday and we will be away from 7.45am to midday-ish. There’s not enough time to get it back to 7.30am.
I’m still awake …so much for an early night!
That is fine to keep the current hours if that works for you at the moment.
You as probably having a bit of a reaction to all that has happened over the last several days. It’s been pretty full on for you. you have coped amazingly well I think.
I think anyone having gone through a kitty having one hypo event, let alone a second one, would feel pretty shattered.
It took me ages to get my head around the 2 dosing methods, so don’t worry.
The differences are basically
TR……must be feeding low carb wet food, must test before every shot and at least once during each cycle, can increase each 3 days if needed, if you get a failed reduction you can go back to the best dose straight away.Reduction BG 50 (2.8)

SLGS……can feed dry food, test before each shot, do a curve once a week and can increase if needed then. Can only increase after 7 days, if a failed reduction, must wait 7 days before increasing again. Reduction BG 90 (5)

Whichever one you choose, you can get help each day if needed. We don’t expect you to know what to do for some time.
I’m sorry you have lost confidence…I think you have done so well throughout this whole episode, despite getting dodgy advice and poor treatment from the vets.
 
I’m still awake …so much for an early night!
That is fine to keep the current hours if that works for you at the moment.
You as probably having a bit of a reaction to all that has happened over the last several days. It’s been pretty full on for you. you have coped amazingly well I think.
I think anyone having gone through a kitty having one hypo event, let alone a second one, would feel pretty shattered.
It took me ages to get my head around the 2 dosing methods, so don’t worry.
The differences are basically
TR……must be feeding low carb wet food, must test before every shot and at least once during each cycle, can increase each 3 days if needed, if you get a failed reduction you can go back to the best dose straight away.Reduction BG 50 (2.8)

SLGS……can feed dry food, test before each shot, do a curve once a week and can increase if needed then. Can only increase after 7 days, if a failed reduction, must wait 7 days before increasing again. Reduction BG 90 (5)

Whichever one you choose, you can get help each day if needed. We don’t expect you to know what to do for some time.
I’m sorry you have lost confidence…I think you have done so well throughout this whole episode, despite getting dodgy advice and poor treatment from the vets.

Thanks. I nearly couldn't do the pre-shot test. Misty is wise to it all. I eventually got it (18.5). I can only test her if I give her a FF broth and you're only supposed to give one of them per day. I'm not even sure of their carb count, but I assume they are low since there is only water and bits of fish with the thickening agent last on the list of ingredients. Maybe I'm wrong and that's another reason her numbers are high. I will have to investigate further - at least it's giving her more water.

It probably doesn't help that I had my covid booster today and feel a bit rotten.

I don't know how to thank you. I wish I could send chocolates or flowers...
 
probably doesn't help that I had my covid booster today and feel a bit rotten.
I felt rotten for 24 hours after my booster. Very hard to concentrate and felt achy, exhausted and foggy in the head. No wonder you feel lack of confidence. Hopefully you will feel much better after 24 hours. I found Panadol made me feel a bit more human.

I'm not even sure of their carb count, but I assume they are low since there is only water and bits of fish with the thickening agent last on the list of ingredients. Maybe I'm wrong and that's another reason her numbers are high. I will have to investigate further - at least it's giving her more water.
I looked up the FF broths. Are they the Narurals? They have 0 carbs. Why can you only give one a day?

I don't know how to thank you. I wish I could send chocolates or flowers..
Just seeing Misty get back to normal is all the thanks I need.:bighug:
 
Hi Rowena. We tried fitting the Libre to Benny but it fell off after half an hour.(waste of $105) I am going to try again today with some glue. I found this video which shows it is really easy. I think the glue is necessary because of the hair. The tissue glue is expensive though. My vet charges $200ish for application including the sensor. Benny is very chilled and easy to do things with.
 
Hi Rowena. We tried fitting the Libre to Benny but it fell off after half an hour.(waste of $105) I am going to try again today with some glue. I found this video which shows it is really easy. I think the glue is necessary because of the hair. The tissue glue is expensive though. My vet charges $200ish for application including the sensor. Benny is very chilled and easy to do things with.
Thank you. They make it look easy.
I saw some glue online for $20 from the medical place where I buy my syringes. I didn’t make sure it’s the right thing, so I’ll have to investigate further. My vet is going to give me some glue today in a syringe so I can try. I thought it was better to waste $109 rather than take her to the vet, have her stressed and it not work again at a cost of about $300. It cost $400 for the first try, but they charged a lot for the libre and they are happy for me to supply my own. Saves about $90.
 
Thank you. They make it look easy.
I saw some glue online for $20 from the medical place where I buy my syringes. I didn’t make sure it’s the right thing, so I’ll have to investigate further. My vet is going to give me some glue today in a syringe so I can try. I thought it was better to waste $109 rather than take her to the vet, have her stressed and it not work again at a cost of about $300. It cost $400 for the first try, but they charged a lot for the libre and they are happy for me to supply my own. Saves about $90.
It is really easy to apply. He did flinch a little. We didn't shave him closely enough and use the glue. There is another video on YouTube with the Vet using a product called Skin Tact. It helps the adhesive stick better. I am waiting for the surgical glue to arrive ( $40 for 10 applications) and try that. If it doesn't arrive today I will take him to the Vet for the $200. That is meant to include the Vet monitoring it from the web app. Did you know they can do that? Your vet probably doesn't know. www.libreview.com
They get a practice ID and you share the information with them. I have the exact instructions if you want?
 
That's very interesting re the vet monitoring. I doubt they know that. I have been reading things here and there about the libre and someone said not to put the glue too close to the edge or it will stick the applicator to the device. Good luck with yours. My girl is super feisty and she's getting very sick of being poked and prodded. I'm not sure when to try. Maybe later today. The pharmacy gave me a discount on the libre since I was buying it outright and charged me $92.50, which is the cost Abbott charges on their website. I was pleased about that.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) I couldn't get a urine sample today because she hasn't been. I'm a bit concerned. She went last night at about 10pm. Also, the broths aren't "naturals" they are part pf the "Royale" range. Coles and Woolworths sell them. I can't figure out how to add a photo to these messages... And you aren't limited to one per day - that's the Dine Fine Flakes that she also likes. I know it's probably dreadful quality food, but I bought some Whiskas Tuna today because she likes it. She ate some, which makes me hopeful that she's getting back to cat food. She has this thing where she associates the food with her sickness and refuses to eat it when she's recovered. This has happened when she's had repeated UTIs in the past. It means I get stuck with a box of whatever she was eating! I'm hoping that is why she's been refusing the fancy feast. Hopefully trying another food will bring her back to eating normally and from there we can work out the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top