Info RECENT REMISSIONS?

We're at five weeks of no insulin and normal BG numbers. So Pants is back in remission, which the vet said was probably not going to happen. I'm still super nervous and testing almost every day. Here's hoping it sticks.

1. Date of Diagnosis: Original diagnosis June 2017; got a few days of Lantus and went into remission in immediately; no insulin from July 2017 to November 2018. Knocked out of remission in October 2018 due to steroids and started ProZinc in November 2018.

2. Specific PZI: ProZinc

3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: Immediately after original diagnosis in June 2017.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: Lantus for a few days after the original diagnosis in June/July 2017, and then again for couple of doses after she came out of remission in November 2018. She crashes on Lantus, no matter how small the dose. In total, she had four hypos that required vet intervention/IV glucose. She's somewhat sensitive to ProZinc, but did fine on small doses (.2 - .5) and her BG was way more predictable.

5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: Last shot April 13, 2019; average BG in the low 100s on an AlphaTrak2 meter. (All of my tests are food influenced -- she free feeds.)
 
I just read on Health that Soccer and Max have both gone a couple of days without insulin. We also know Bix is trying hard.

If you cat has recently gone into remission, can you please report the following information.

1. Date of Diagnosis. Feb.2019
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) Prozinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food. I had switched before he started insulin. Tired several foods for a couple months before I found a winner for my dry food junkie. He has been doing well with Beef Fancy Feast Pate.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then. Last week 5/16/2019. On 5/15/2019 he was at 57. I have been testing him and he has been between 91-112 before food and I have now only been spot checking him and he has not been over 171.

Has anyone heard of a cat going into remission in such a short time? On my last vet visit my boy was so frail and I pretty much felt like I was loosing this battle( couldn't get his numbers below 250ish and were on average 380ish. At the vet for his last curve attempt he was 432 even after his shot) . The vet wanted to run an additional 1k in tests since she kept saying she felt he had an infection. I requested antibiotics which they gave him and two weeks later his numbers are completely fine. Could my boy have just had a bladder infection that the 2 different vets didn't catch even with tests?? I have been on this forum and its seems like most cats take months or years to go into remission. My boy was probably close to 25 pounds and was down to 15 when first diagnosed. Could it have just been his weight and diet? I really would like to feed him something he would like better but am terrified to change his food. I am hoping he is somehow all the way better so I can travel a little more again without worrying about his care as much or bringing him with (I am terrified of a maid letting him out of a hotel room) . This girl needs some R&R after months of not sleeping well and making sure I am here at all times to take care of him. :)


I just read on Health that Soccer and Max have both gone a couple of days without insulin. We also know Bix is trying hard.

If you cat has recently gone into remission, can you please report the following information:

1. Date of Diagnosis
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then

Thanks, Terri
 
Scout was diagnosed in the beginning of April, 2u 2xs daily. Blood work gave 589 BG. Scout was all dry food so we switched to all wet. I started insulin right away and should have held off. She bounced a lot so we dropped to 1u after 2 weeks. After that she just or more and more blues and greens. We slowly weened her off Prozinc by doing a week or so of .25u and drops. By week 5 scout was completely OTJ. I tested for 14 days and she stayed beautifully in green. It's been 6 days since she last daily testing and I couldn't be happier.
 
I just read on Health that Soccer and Max have both gone a couple of days without insulin. We also know Bix is trying hard.

If you cat has recently gone into remission, can you please report the following information:

1. Date of Diagnosis
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then

Thanks, Terri

Gato, 9 year old neutered male. 14lbs.
Diagnosed 3/15/19

Prescribe ProZinc 2u every 12 hrs, which we quickly found was too high a dose. Thankful I guys fdmb for more appropriate dosing advice!

We switched to low carb wet food pretty much immediately. Primarily he eats Weruva chicken frickazee mixed into Weruva pates for texture.

Dental was integral in his journey. He had 12 extractions due to rampant resorption on 4/23/19 and healed well without complications or further infection.

His last shot was a drop on the morning of 5/12/19.
Since then his BG generally sits anywhere from 75-90, with only a few outliers still hardly in blue.

We'll continue testing a few times a week, as I'm a bit of a control freak. Once I'm certain he's consistently holding we'll switch to once a week.
I'm. So proud of him and thankful for how good and sweet he's been throughout this whole process!
 
1. Diagnosed June 3rd 2019
2. ProZinc
3. June 18th 2019 switch from dry to wet food (estimate)
4. No other insulin used other than ProZinc
5. Last shot 08/11/19 and average BG since then is 53
 

Attachments

  • 20190909_203756.jpg
    20190909_203756.jpg
    50.3 KB · Views: 696
Last edited:
1. Diagnosed as possible diabetes on 8/9/19
2. Prozinc prescribed on 8/13/19
3. Switched to Fancy Feast Classic wet food 8/14/19
4. Last shot was .5 on 8/24/19 and average BG is 85

Cutie Pie had surgery for an abscess in March and SD WM was added to her dry food.
Beginning of August she was peeing outside her litter box so we thought maybe a urinary infection and took her to the Vet.
They did urine and blood work then diagnosed her on 8/9/19. Vet prescribed ProZinc 2u every 12 hrs for 2 days then increase to 3u every 12 hrs.
He gave us Purina DM for her food (18% carbs).

On 8/14/19 I found this AWESOME board and spent hours/days getting educated. My husband has type 2 diabetes so I'm familiar, but still in unknown territory. We switched her to Fancy Feast classic, set up her spread sheet and posted.

MrWorfMen's Mom (Linda) has been a fabulous mentor and angel helping us throughout this journey. :cat::D:smuggrin::cat::otj:
 
We're at five weeks of no insulin and normal BG numbers. So Pants is back in remission, which the vet said was probably not going to happen. I'm still super nervous and testing almost every day. Here's hoping it sticks.

It stuck! Pants is now at 5 months of remission. I've calmed down and am only testing every few weeks instead of daily. She gained back a little bit of weight as well, and while she's still teeny tiny at 6.6 lbs, she doesn't look nearly as scraggly and skinny as she did at 6.3.
 
It stuck! Pants is now at 5 months of remission. I've calmed down and am only testing every few weeks instead of daily. She gained back a little bit of weight as well, and while she's still teeny tiny at 6.6 lbs, she doesn't look nearly as scraggly and skinny as she did at 6.3.
She is such a gorgeous kitty, congrats
 
Just so it's all in one place, here's Max's story: DX Jan 28, 2010 with a regular blood panel. Jan 29 curve at vet's, 500+ all day on 1U Prozinc. Food switch/Prozinc 1.5U Jan 30, 2010. Meter arrived 2/2/10 and he was testing in the 50's. The next two days we did curves both days, dropping to 1U on the first evening and second morning. Second evening, 2/4/10, we gave .5U. That was his last shot. Average since then: 139. Today brought two new lows, 93 and 91.

Here's to hoping it stays that way :)
What a precious face
 
I've been waiting to be sure before doing the happy dance, but I think it's safe to say Maximilian is officially OTJ and diet controlled!!! dancing_cat

1. Date of Diagnosis - January 8, 2011
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) - PZI locally compounded (generic of ProZinc prescribed by vet, not sure I would've chosen compounded on my own)
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food - Did some transitioning but official only low carb wet date was February 5, 2011 (dose dropped dramatically from that date)
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - Vet started us on Vetsulin but I switched within 3 days cause of recall
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - February 12, 2011 - BG average 70-100 (usually in the greens but creeps up to low 100's if goes long b/w meals)

I can't thank everyone on FDMB enough for all your advice, help, and encouragement. It has made a world of difference to Max and I. He is a happy, healthy kitty again. When Max was diagnosed, I was so sad and overwhelmed with what it meant. As we started the sugar dance, I became increasingly discouraged with the little progress. Then I found FDMB, followed the great advice/protocol, and everything turned around. I realize how lucky I am, and I'm so grateful to all those who continue to pay it forward on FDMB. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
What a handsome kitty
 
Rusty is OTJ
He was 1st diagosed 2-11-11
He has been on Prozinc from the beginning. His normal diet before was dry indoor cat food, but I would give them (I have 2 other cats) 1 can of wet food per day.
I switched him to all wet about a week after being diagnosed, after I had found this board and read up on everything.
Rusty's last injection was 4/30 of .5 unit, he is averaging around 85 BG now.

I can't thank everyone here enough for all the support and knowledge. If I hadn't of found this board, no telling where me or Rusty would be now, because the vet originally have him on 4 units in the am, then 2 in the pm. If I had listened to that it could have gotten very bad without the home testing.

Thanks everyone!! cat_pet_icon :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
He's so handsome
 
Looking at all of these precious kitties that have gone into remission. I'm so happy for all of you. Hopefully one day Tyler's name will be here, The boys are all so handsome and all of the girls are so beautiful.
 
1. Diagnosed as possible diabetes on 8/9/19
2. Prozinc prescribed on 8/13/19
3. Switched to Fancy Feast Classic wet food 8/14/19
4. Last shot was .5 on 8/24/19 and average BG is 85

Cutie Pie had surgery for an abscess in March and SD WM was added to her dry food.
Beginning of August she was peeing outside her litter box so we thought maybe a urinary infection and took her to the Vet.
They did urine and blood work then diagnosed her on 8/9/19. Vet prescribed ProZinc 2u every 12 hrs for 2 days then increase to 3u every 12 hrs.
He gave us Purina DM for her food (18% carbs).

On 8/14/19 I found this AWESOME board and spent hours/days getting educated. My husband has type 2 diabetes so I'm familiar, but still in unknown territory. We switched her to Fancy Feast classic, set up her spread sheet and posted.

MrWorfMen's Mom (Linda) has been a fabulous mentor and angel helping us throughout this journey. :cat::D:smuggrin::cat::otj:

Update 10/13/19: Cutie Pie has tested between 83 and 106 (avg of 95) over the last 4 weeks. She's very active now but still wants her lap time every day and a chicken treat:cat:
 
Marley's adventure.
1. Date of Diagnosis - 08/09/2018
2. ProZinc only.
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
09/03/2018 FF Classics and mixed with Friskies Pates
4. ProZinc only.
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - 10/06/2018 Average of ~87 with AT2
Some notes, we've quit picking up their food at night. They are eating two meals per day but they free-eat more like they did when they were on the dry type. We're starting to relax the testing to once a day now and may cut back even more. If you check Marley's chart, often the higher results are explainable as we see him eat just a short bit of time prior to that test.

Hopefully this is long-term and no rebounds come our way, at least we have a better understanding of what to look for and how to help him out if needed.

The only real issue we have now is that he has extremely dry skin. We're trying to find a lotion or something for his skin. We sold our house and the apartment does not have a humidifier on the furnace.

We really appreciate the guidance along the way. We've relieved a lot of great help and comfort from many but a few really stand out. @MrWorfMen's Mom @Idjit's mom @Diane Tyler's Mom Thank you and apologies if I left someone out.
 
congrats_cat_448x293.jpg
I am absolutely thrilled for you and Marley! Always love remission stories and Marley's BG has been stellar! May you and Marley enjoy a long and healthy stay at the Falls! (FDMB for in remission). Thank you for letting us know!
 
Just so it's all in one place, here's Max's story: DX Jan 28, 2010 with a regular blood panel. Jan 29 curve at vet's, 500+ all day on 1U Prozinc. Food switch/Prozinc 1.5U Jan 30, 2010. Meter arrived 2/2/10 and he was testing in the 50's. The next two days we did curves both days, dropping to 1U on the first evening and second morning. Second evening, 2/4/10, we gave .5U. That was his last shot. Average since then: 139. Today brought two new lows, 93 and 91.

Here's to hoping it stays that way :)
That's great! Could you describe the "food switch" that you're referring to? What did you switch from and to? Thanks!
 
Bonbon, the diabetic girl I adopted last Feb went into remission a few months ago. And she's still in remission...(can you tell that I don't really trust it? Hahahaaa! (Nervous laughter....)

1. Date of Diagnosis
November 2018. She was handed into rescue because she was peeing everywhere. I adopted her the following Feb.

2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
Hypurin PZI. Now sadly discontinued... I got her into remission using Bertie's old insulin left (after he went into remission) from 2017...

3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
She'd only ever been on a dry diet before coming here. When she came here I took her off insulin while transitioning her to low carb wet food, and getting her used to having her blood glucose tested.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
Bonbon was on 4 units Caninsulin when she came here from the rescue. After transitioning her to wet food I put her on Bertie's old Hypurin PZI.

5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
20th October 2019 (and she probably didn't need that shot...).
She's now usually between 3.7 and 4.3 on a human meter.

Bonbon catnip pillow.JPG
 

Attachments

  • Bonbon catnip pillow.JPG
    Bonbon catnip pillow.JPG
    99.2 KB · Views: 1,242
1. Billy, my 11 year old male was diagnosed on 12/28/2019 with BGL over 500 and signs of neuropathy.
2. He was put on ProZinc
3. We switched immediately to canned food, but used a mix of low-carb and higher carb the first 4 days
4. He has only used ProZinc.
5. Billy's last dose was 01/13/2020. Since then his BGL has ranged from 70-115.

Juls, Billy's story continues to keep us optimistic for Kit's journey on ProZinc. I'm so thankful that you and others that succeed with remission don't abandon us on this forum! We need you! Are you feeding FF pate? Can't remember. I think you've mentioned before but it's not on Billy's SS.
 
Are you feeding FF pate? Can't remember. I think you've mentioned before but it's not on Billy's SS.
Yes, FF pate and some Friskies pate now and again. I mix the flavors up a lot so he doesn't get bored. We also did many small meals a day, and I basically fed him whenever he was hungry. He's a fat boy, but we didn't reduce his food until he was in remission.
 
Angel was diagnosed Jan. 30, 2020 with BG of 600
Started on Prozinc Feb.2, 2020 4U twice a day!!
Started on FF pate right away but then changed to Wellness and Weruva because they are lower in phosphorus and she also has CKD
Angel’s last insulin was on April 21, 2020 and by then she had been on a 1 drop dose for a few days,
Her BG is usually between 50 and 80 AM and 90 to 118 PM
When we found this forum and a wonderful expert advisor, things started getting better. I had already reduced her dose based on info from the group but here we got help tailored to our specific circumstances and needs. I had hoped we could achieve remission but it has happened more quickly than I expected and I still can hardly believe we are there. Fingers crossed we stay in remission. I can’t thank the awesome people in the group and on the message board enough.
 
1. DX March 2, 2020
2.Prozinc started 1 unit 2Xday
3. Switched to wet food almost immediately
4. no other insulin
5. Last shot was 5/6/20 and that was only a smidge. He's been doing great since, keeping his numbers between 64 and 95 on the AlphaTrak2

The biggest change was investing in a microchip reading dish for the other cat. No sneaking of snacks allowed.
 
Sounds like Sidney is doing great! So exciting to be here. I am hoping I can relax about testing soon but I still get anxious and have to make sure she is still on track. Her last four numbers have been 84, 94, 72 and 80 so we are ok.
 
Boo was diagnosed Feb of 2018, was on .25 PZ. Switched from dry food to FF pate and within two months was in remission for over 2 yrs. Now back on PZ, but having those 2 yrs in remission was great! He's 15 yrs old.
 
Max is officially OTJ and in remission. I can’t thank this site enough for all the help, support and guidance I got during Max’s diabetic journey. @Deb & Wink , @JanetNJ , thank you for all the dosing guidance and encouragement. @Red & Rover (GA) , @Bron and Sheba (GA) , @Panic , @Diane Tyler's Mom , @Shelley & Jess , thank you for help during our late night pajama parties (hypo events).

Praying he continues to stay in remission, but if not, I would not hesitate to do everything all over again even if it was a life long change. Max means the world to me and through all of this, we have bonded so much. I’m just thankful it was caught early and he’s still here.

@Irish Pat and @jt and trouble (GA) , thank you for you words and encouragement. I had my share of tears and frustration when we first got the diagnosis and then with our several near hypo events. I hope Brady and you are able to experience remission. He’s a lucky boy to have such a caring and dedicated dad.

I still have a lot to learn, but I’d like to stay on the boards and help pay it forward. FD can be so overwhelming and scary at first, but this board helped calm those fears and anxiety.

Thank you all and big hugs!
Max and Rebecca
 
YAY!! Congratulations Max and Rebecca!! Rebecca, I'm so happy and PROUD of you for you diligent hard work to get Max into remission! Sigh.. I cant wait to get there! *High fives*
upload_2020-7-24_7-59-20.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-7-24_7-59-20.png
    upload_2020-7-24_7-59-20.png
    231.2 KB · Views: 1,438
YAY!! Congratulations Max and Rebecca!! Rebecca, I'm so happy and PROUD of you for you diligent hard work to get Max into remission! Sigh.. I cant wait to get there! *High fives*
View attachment 54948
Thank you! I hope you and Tucker get to experience this too. Deb really helped with his dosage control and I trusted her 100%. We were aggressive and I had some late nights, but totally worth it. Near hypo events are scary, but the more it happened the more comfortable I got learning how to control his BG with food. Good luck to you both!
 
Thank you! I hope you and Tucker get to experience this too. Deb really helped with his dosage control and I trusted her 100%. We were aggressive and I had some late nights, but totally worth it. Near hypo events are scary, but the more it happened the more comfortable I got learning how to control his BG with food. Good luck to you both!
Thank you!
 
Max is officially OTJ and in remission. I can’t thank this site enough for all the help, support and guidance I got during Max’s diabetic journey. @Deb & Wink , @JanetNJ , thank you for all the dosing guidance and encouragement. @Red & Rover (GA) , @Bron and Sheba (GA) , @Panic , @Diane Tyler's Mom , @Shelley & Jess , thank you for help during our late night pajama parties (hypo events).

Praying he continues to stay in remission, but if not, I would not hesitate to do everything all over again even if it was a life long change. Max means the world to me and through all of this, we have bonded so much. I’m just thankful it was caught early and he’s still here.

@Irish Pat and @jt and trouble (GA) , thank you for you words and encouragement. I had my share of tears and frustration when we first got the diagnosis and then with our several near hypo events. I hope Brady and you are able to experience remission. He’s a lucky boy to have such a caring and dedicated dad.

I still have a lot to learn, but I’d like to stay on the boards and help pay it forward. FD can be so overwhelming and scary at first, but this board helped calm those fears and anxiety.

Thank you all and big hugs!
Max and Rebecca
upload_2020-7-24_12-18-16.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-7-24_12-18-16.png
    upload_2020-7-24_12-18-16.png
    46.2 KB · Views: 929
:otj: My Skye has done amazingly well! I have a new kitty that is well groomed and far more interactive than she has been in a long time. I am super excited about all of the information and support I got here for my sugar cat.:bookworm: As a HUGE added bonus - the information here may have saved my current civvie as well as my future kitties from EVER having to go through this or any other number of diseases that I may be able to prevent with a total wet food diet!:cat:

1. Date of Diagnosis:
  • 09/02/2020
  • I believe onset was probably a couple of weeks before this. I started noticing the excessive thirst and urination but needed to wait for her scheduled appointment before I could address it with all of the backlog and COVID precautions.
2. Specific PZI:
  • ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food:
  • Skye was a PITA about her dry food but I finally got her off of it when I switched to Weruva. I had her on Royal Canin prescription weight control dry free feed with canned in the morning and evening. Once she was diagnosed I worked on switching her to the recommended Royal Canin Glycobalance dry and canned on 09/04/2020. The more I read in this group the more I realized that it was STILL incredibly high in carbs and not going to be a good match. I mean seriously, the canned had GRAVY!?!? She wasn't a fan of the canned food at all and barely ate it. The dry, on the other hand, was her jam. :facepalm: I looked for a good food low in carbs and found Weruva. She started getting tastes outside of her meals on 09/10/2020 and we got a kitty thumbs up. As soon as she was completely transitioned to the Glycobanalance on 09/11/2020 I almost immediately I started switching her over to the Weruva Slide and Serve JeoPURRdy and Meal of Fortune for regular meals with treat meals from the Showcase Chowdown pack (with the exception of The Slice is Right since it is almost 10% carbs. My civie kitty gets those packs). I pulled out all dry food including the dry my civvie was eating. During transition she just ate the Weruva from the Glycobalance so we switched early. I basically gave up a slow transition on 09/14/2020. She has been eating more and more of the packs until I have a finished 2.8 oz pack before the next meal.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it:
  • No other insulin
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then:
  • Last shot was 0.25 Units of ProZinc on the morning of 09/21/2020 when she was 184 mg/dL. That night she was 133 mg/dL (same as her +2 that morning) and I did not give her any insulin. By +5 after her normal shot time and after a meal she was at 106 mg/dL. She was up to 147 mg/dL in the morning but I did not feel comfortable shooting her before leaving for work. She was down to 122 mg/dL that evening and did not get any insulin again. Good call since she was down to 71 mg/dL by +5 all on her own. Our last blue was the next morning at 131 mg/dL. She has been running high to mid-90's to mid 60's ever since. (ReliOn Prime).

I cannot express how invaluable this group has been for getting Skye to this point. All of the advice and support has been amazing. I just don't know how I would have gotten through those first few days after diagnosis without the help. All of the worry and late nights doing curves... I hope we never have to cross that bridge, but even if she comes out of remission, I feel like I have a handle on the daily treatment. I know that I will have the support for those tough questions and a guiding hand during any crisis. This is the best group EVER!

THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!!

Carrie
 
1. Date of Diagnosis - may 13th 2021
2. Specific PZI - ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet - about 3 days after diagnosis
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - vetsulin (gag) for 6 days. It made his numbers worse!
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - June 4th 2021, avg BG around 90. I found that he needs meals much more often to keep his blood glucose down, so now he eats every 5-6 hours and that keeps him around 80 :)

This cat is my soul cat I've had him since the day he was born and the diagnosis rocked my world. I'm so blessed that he's in remission thanks to the FDMB. This website saves lives without a doubt, I remember when he was first diagnosed I read everything on this site and I found this thread of remissions on day one. I thought to myself I would never be lucky enough to get to post there but it wasn't luck that I get to finally post, it was everyone here working together to make sure my cat was safe and healthy. I love y'all
 
Diagnosed 28 May, 2021

ProZinc

Always on wet food veterinary food for stuvites. Switched to low carb diet about a 1-2 weeks after diagnosis

Only ProZinc

26 July 2021 last dose of insulin recommended by vet after BG and fructosamine test.
 
Red was diagnosed Dec 2, 2021.

He's always been on ProZinc.

He was a big dry food/high carb eater, but I switched him to wet/low carb food immediately.

Last shot was May 22, 2022, which was a drop dose.

His BG since last dose has been running between 70's to low 100's. He been averaging 100 in the AM, and about 85 in the PM.

A big warm thank you from Red and me for getting him to remission! Without the help and support I received, I don't know where Red would be now!
 
It looks like Bowie is in remission.
He got his last shot this Wednesday morning (0.10U) and his numbers are keeping steady, albeit on the higher side (6.6mmol/L)
He is getting 20g of orijen 6 fish + 100g BARF a day. Strictly on BARF made him constipated, so adding fibre husk and water to his BARF to keep things going.
Fingers crossed!
 
If you cat has recently gone into remission, can you please report the following information:

1. Date of Diagnosis - 10/2023
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) - ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food - evening meal on 9/4/24
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - Lantus for 9 mths
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - Last shot was morning of 9/4

I am brand new to the board and being caretaker trying to manage Batman’s diet and diabetes. Here’s his curve the last day he had insulin and then yesterday’s curve. He’s wearing a Libre3 right now.

I’m not sure if he should have insulin now or not. The vet said he was happy with anything below 350 mg/dl

upload_2024-9-11_18-14-31.png
upload_2024-9-11_18-16-35.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-11_18-14-31.png
    upload_2024-9-11_18-14-31.png
    86.6 KB · Views: 547
  • upload_2024-9-11_18-16-35.png
    upload_2024-9-11_18-16-35.png
    87.9 KB · Views: 493
If you cat has recently gone into remission, can you please report the following information:

1. Date of Diagnosis - 10/2023
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) - ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food - evening meal on 9/4/24
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - Lantus for 9 mths
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - Last shot was morning of 9/4

I am brand new to the board and being caretaker trying to manage Batman’s diet and diabetes. Here’s his curve the last day he had insulin and then yesterday’s curve. He’s wearing a Libre3 right now.

I’m not sure if he should have insulin now or not. The vet said he was happy with anything below 350 mg/dl

View attachment 70961View attachment 70962
This looks like a super bouncy cat perhaps. Can you make a post of your own to the prozinc forum and get a spreadsheet set up where we can start tracking the numbers? How many units of ProZinc is your cat receiving. Again, if you could put this information into a new thread on the ProZinc forum itself , I will look for it there. Okay?
 
Last edited:
I’m not sure if he should have insulin now or not. The vet said he was happy with anything below 350 mg/dl
And what the heck does this mean? Anything below 350?? Normal blood glucose numbers for a cat are between 50-120. The 300s are way too high for health and we also don't want a hypo where the cat drops below 50 while on insulin (my non-diabetic cats are in the 40s at times, but they're not on insulin so a cat on insulin we won't let drop below 50 without taking action.)
 
I just read on Health that Soccer and Max have both gone a couple of days without insulin. We also know Bix is trying hard.

If you cat has recently gone into remission, can you please report the following information:

1. Date of Diagnosis
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then

Thanks, Terri
Hi there, I'm not sure if my cat Calvin can be said to be in remission, but, he has not had insulin since 1/4/25 (am). He was diagnosed 11/1/24. Put on 2 units Novolin every 12 hours. Diet was DM dry food. Switched to ProZinc 12/15/24 1 unit every 12 hours. (In error I was giving 1 unit when my vet had prescribed 2.) Started 2 units on 12/18/24. Started introducing wet low carb food at snacks, Fancy Feast. Slowly lessened DM until 1/3/25. Now he only eats low carb wet food and baby food for snacks, freeze dried chicken treats on occasion. Calvin's BG on 1/7 was 139 PMPS, so NS was given. BG was 130 +1 hour later. This morning's AMPS BG was 174. BG was 153 +1.5. This is very new for Calvin to have these kind of #'s with no insulin so I'm treading cautiously. Where can I find info as to know how to determine a NS #? I've just been guessing as to how to proceed. I believe the food is helping him regulate but I don't know how to handle the insulin dosing going forward. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
 
Hi there, I'm not sure if my cat Calvin can be said to be in remission, but, he has not had insulin since 1/4/25 (am). He was diagnosed 11/1/24. Put on 2 units Novolin every 12 hours. Diet was DM dry food. Switched to ProZinc 12/15/24 1 unit every 12 hours. (In error I was giving 1 unit when my vet had prescribed 2.) Started 2 units on 12/18/24. Started introducing wet low carb food at snacks, Fancy Feast. Slowly lessened DM until 1/3/25. Now he only eats low carb wet food and baby food for snacks, freeze dried chicken treats on occasion. Calvin's BG on 1/7 was 139 PMPS, so NS was given. BG was 130 +1 hour later. This morning's AMPS BG was 174. BG was 153 +1.5. This is very new for Calvin to have these kind of #'s with no insulin so I'm treading cautiously. Where can I find info as to know how to determine a NS #? I've just been guessing as to how to proceed. I believe the food is helping him regulate but I don't know how to handle the insulin dosing going forward. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Hey. I replied over on your thread. He’s not in remission yet, but your switch to low carb food has made a tremendous difference. Let’s talk over there on your thread.
 
Hello! First post and wondering if anyone else has had this happen. Kammy the cat has been a diabetic for one year, had a dental, and had been on wet food only since. She has not needed insulin since her dental which is new for her. Wondering how many other people have had cats that go into remission after one year and how long they usually last.

1. Date of Diagnosis - 2/2024
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) - ProZinc, 3 units twice daily
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food - 2 weeks ago
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - none
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - right after dental two weeks ago and then nothing! BG running between 100-120
 
Back
Top