recent DKA, Alice running higher for several hours

Status
Not open for further replies.

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
I can tell she doesn't feel as well. She won't purr for me and she's just laying there. She's thirstier, and she seems to either be peeing straight back (outside the box while standing in it), or climbing in then climbing out without actually urinating.

I know I don't have my SS running right now, but here are numbers:
4/10
BG 392, 8AM shoot (4u)
+ 10:50 - 227
BG 148, 4PM shoot (dropped to 3.5u going forward)
+ 6:12p - 294
+ 10:03p - 236

4/11
BG 305, Midnight shoot
+12:49 - 338
BG 343, 9AM shoot (overslept :( )
+ 11:24 - 177
BG 313, 5PM shoot ??? ***
+ 9:18p - 419
+ 9:55p - 385

4/12
BG 436, Midnight shoot
+ 2:12 - 487
+ 2:36 - 475
+ 3:00 - 476

ETA:

+ 3:53 - 447
And I gave her another little hematoma :(
+ 4:56 - 397
Okay yay she drank "wet food soup," had a bowel movement, purred a little, and she is going down now.


*** I wonder if I had a wet shot at midday. :(
 
Last edited:
Here is your last post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/recent-dka-bg-148-do-i-still-shoot-right-now.213069/

I have no experience with Novolon sorry, but maybe the higher dose was better for her.....
Have you tested recently for ketones?

Yes but I can't decipher if it's a yes or no on ketones.
Here's that post. Lol. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-little-reagent-strip-deciphering-help.213126/

I'm figuring either I wet shot or yes, she needs the higher dose even though it's only a half unit difference. I think that will be clearer after her next shot. Thanks for responding. How nice it's been to have someone more experienced up and online while it's night for the couple of us in the States that have needed help. Thank you. :)
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    40 KB · Views: 109
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    39.8 KB · Views: 112
You need to read the ketone test exactly when they tell you. I'm not sure with those what the number of seconds is but they will start going off after the allotted time and give you an incorrect reading. It should say on the bottle how many seconds.
Also how old are they?
Because the colour changes over time it is hard to tell the result looking at those photos but it does look as if there has been a change in the colour.
Re those strips? I saw on another thread you said a friend gave them to you. They only last 6 months after opening as far as I know and I'm not sure they give a correct reading after that.
If you are able to buy some of the Ketostix which you get from a pharmacy or maybe Walmart, they are about $10 or $15, they would be easier to use I would think and may be fresher and more accurate, especially seeing you are dealing with a kitty who has recently had DKA and the monitoring is ketones is crucial.
 
I take a photo of each one I can a few seconds after I do it. But maybe I am doing something wrong. I'll ask her when I see her. Another friend has some plain ketostix type for me too and says they don't expire until the end of the year. I'll try to get those today or tomorrow.
I know they aren't that expensive but right now... they are for me. I appreciate the advice! :)
 
She's going down more though. Just tested before shot 1 of 3 for the day, she's 356 with two hours fasting, and her shot definitely went in. :)
 
I take a photo of each one I can a few seconds after I do it. But maybe I am doing something wrong. I'll ask her when I see her. Another friend has some plain ketostix type for me too and says they don't expire until the end of the year. I'll try to get those today or tomorrow.
I know they aren't that expensive but right now... they are for me. I appreciate the advice! :)
I do understand how things can be tight financially and if you could get some Ketostix from your friend that would be really good. Just to check the others are OK.
 
Nurse says: "The strips are new. Like ordered from the company this month" so unless I'm doing it wrong....

I mean that bottom color makes it pretty clear her urine was off the chart high in glucose. So. Something is working correctly. Also the top one is leukocytes and her labs from the hospital indicated an insanely high wbc count.
 
Is she eating well? How is she feeling, now?
The Relion Ketone Strips from Walmart are $6.64 for 50 strips and are good for 6 months after opening. With the Relion ketone strips you need to check for the result in 15 seconds exactly. It's best to use good lighting. I hope you can get some ketone strips soon.
 
+2 she is down to 196. Wet shot probably, yesterday afternoon. I thought I got it. I don't know.

She's also in the room that gets the warmest and the coldest depending on what the heat and air are turned at. It's been chilly so we had the heat on. My partner thought maybe the heat made her numbers go up, but I don't know about that..... I can tell how she feels about temp because she has 3 temperature surfaces to choose from in her room right now.
 
That's good she's coming down. I would test again at +3 or +4 in case you need to boost her numbers up a bit.
The next time you get a pee sample, just concentrate on the ketone reading and let us know what it is after 15 seconds, or whatever time the instructions on the bottle tell you to use. Remember, she needs extra food and plenty of water or fluids right now.
 
100 at + 5:35hrs so all I can say is I probably missed the shot!

She hasn't eaten quite as much so far today. I gave her a little bit of a 14% friskies chicken & gravy to keep her from being too low.

I'm wondering if it stays in the 100s next shot (in a couple hours) then I probably need to drop the dose... Hmm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top