Really late nadir

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mancat

Member
To spare you from having to click on Nala's chart I've just given numbers in the post. She seems to have a bit of a high flat in the morning and then a late nadir. I'm skipping her second dose tonight currently due to her numbers. At first I was worried about using the Freestyle Lite strips in the AT2 meter but I got the coding situated and this curve is looking pretty much like her curve on 10/17 where she hit a late one then too.

AMPS - 360
+3 - 294
+6 - 187
+9 - 98
PMPS - 112

As you can see at +9 she's a little low but not dangerously so. I know her AMPS would be better closer to 300 but given her curve I can't up her dose.
 
Sometimes, if you get a preshot closer to 200, you can stall. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest - to be sure the number is rising, not falling and that it is close or at 200. But tonight, she definitely won't be close enough.

I would reduce overall, even though she is likely to be high in the am. My thinking is that you don't want a cycle like today's, with a late nadir and a pmps too low to shoot. Your 160 for the amps also indicates too high a dose. What would you think about trying 1.75 if you can monitor, maybe 1.5 if you can't.
 
I'm with Sue here. The late nadir indicates that the dose is too high. Lowering might help you get a more even cycle.
 
Well I'm off tomorrow so I can definitely do 1.75 and watch her. I'll try that and update with her results. Thanks again ladies, you're the best!
 
Ok I've updated her chart again. She was running a little high yesterday which I expected because she didn't get her evening dose the prior day. The curve was running more smoothly yesterday and it looks like nadir came in around +6 and held steady before increasing to her PMPS number. Seems like her dose might still be a bit high. She came in at 200 exactly for AMPS today. I am currently waiting to test again while I get ready for work to see if it goes up any. If not I may need to skip this dose again. I know we originally thought 2 units was going to be the magic number but without the dog food in her system it seems like she's going to less.
 
Her retest about 25 minutes later came in at 181 so I'm not giving her a morning shot. Perhaps I should back down to 1 unit and maybe go up from there?
 
Well that's interesting. I wouldn't have expected her to drop that low today.

It's possible that starting over at 1 may be best. That way, you can increase slowly instead of trying a decrease and finding that it is too much still. If that's what you are feeling is best, I say go for it. Remember, she'll probably be a bit high tonight, but that's just due to the missed shot this morning..which was the right call. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top