Judy and Hershey
Member Since 2015
I just tested Hershey at +12 right before his PM shot. He came back at 167. I read that anything this low we are not to give insulin. Help?
Hi Robin, I already fed him. I did not think of this....Hi, Judy. This can be frustrating, I know - it's happened to me many times with my cat. (Take a peek at her SS.) Have had to test up to 4 times in 15-20 minute intervals - withholding food - until she's risen enough. (Once went off schedule by about 1.5 hrs. because of it.) Usually they rise enough. Sometimes they don't. Let's see what happens ...
Hi Robin, I already fed him. I did not think of this....[/QUOT
Unless I hear from anyone else, I think I will not shoot tonight, and if this happens again, I won't feed him and wait 20 min and retest. Happy but feeling frustrated. Vet's office closed.
Hi Robin, sorry yes I see your posts now, I was posting and therefore I think we crossed our postings, any way, I know for next time, and I will just not give anything to him. I keep a couple of that special food on hand in case of a low BS reading, as well we have corn syrup if needed. He is happier than ever. His pees are smaller and he is attacking my other cat, so I know he's back to his "norm"! I know I will probably be upset in the morning about the reading, but I just don't want to risk it. I'm so hopeful this will be the beginning of perhaps remission down the road.....I see you shoot even at 167 though, perhaps .50 or .25?And if you do dose him and see that he is dropping really low (close to 50) just give him some gravy or higher carb food. This will bring his glucose up to safer levels. Don't worry, this happens sometimes. I had to do this with my cat Nicky a couple of times. You can check my spreadsheet. When the dose got close to 50 or below, I gave him some gravy or additional food and his glucose raised pretty quickly.
Good! Am glad you decided to skip, given the time that had elapsed since your pre-shot. (You'll get more sleep tonight that way!Hi Robin, sorry yes I see your posts now, I was posting and therefore I think we crossed our postings, any way, I know for next time, and I will just not give anything to him. I keep a couple of that special food on hand in case of a low BS reading, as well we have corn syrup if needed. He is happier than ever. His pees are smaller and he is attacking my other cat, so I know he's back to his "norm"! I know I will probably be upset in the morning about the reading, but I just don't want to risk it. I'm so hopeful this will be the beginning of perhaps remission down the road.....I see you shoot even at 167 though, perhaps .50 or .25?




Sounds like a beautiful place, all we are surrounded by in Tennessee is trees....Sorry about the delays in my responses, Judy - my ISP here is being a real pain in the butt! (I am surrounded by HUGE granite boulders here in northern AZ, called the "Granite Dells" - Google it sometime, they're really amazing!) So my local topography can make maintaining internet connections a real challenge.![]()
So sorry I missed you, Judy! (That 3 hr. time difference between us cuts both ways.Good Morning Robin, if you are up, Hershey's read was 228 this AM. After no insulin last night. I have posted a new thread as well. He has to have his shot before I go to work this morning if he is going to get it I was thinking maybe .25 units. Yesterday he dropped 100 from AM to PM reads. I know its early but if you are up any advice appreciated. Thanks!
And Whiskey, Judy, LOL! I love TN and don't forget the beautiful Smoky Mountains.!Sounds like a beautiful place, all we are surrounded by in Tennessee is trees....
Yep, I'd give that a go for a bit, and see what happens. (Ha, I was just lucky my ISP held the connection at just the right moment!Thanks Robin, will give now. I am so thankful people monitor this page! Bless you. I will give .50 now and try a few cycles, ie. maybe 3 days?
Oh, you must take a nice hike in the Smokey Mts. I think TN is just beautiful!Hi Bobbie, can you believe I have lived here 2 years and have yet to get to the Smokies!
Judy, I think it is 60-120, I am sure a pair of experienced eyes are going to post soon.Can anyone tell me what will be a "normal" blood sugar range?
Wow! Cindi, that is awesome! My husband hiked it years ago before we were married. It took him 6 months too. Such a cool thing to do with your daughter. Sorry, Judy and Hershey that we are high-jacking your thread.I loved the Smokies. My daughter and I hiked the Appalachian Trail two years ago. It took us six months. We loved every step and especially TN & NC.
It's because of all the wonderful faithful people on this site. Sad though I can't even discuss with my vet. He was adamant that the only way to bring Hershey's numbers down was with Purina DMwet (which Hershey would not eat) and lots of insulinThat's great! I was just about to ask you if you planned on getting a nadir test in ... Ya beat me to the punch!(See how much you've learned already?)
Hi Rachel, I did not know that this is a way of the pancreas healing. I'm interested too in the nadir, but I'm sure my boy won't be....We have a new hold for him, my daughter holds him like a baby and then we poke the ear. I am waiting for a new lancet pen in the mail and hope that that will make things easier. I just hate seeing his little ears all redJudy, Hershey's numbers are lovely! He's hanging out right at the renal threshold (220). That's a great place to be because the longer he hangs up out under that number, the more healing time his pancreas have. I'm very interested to see what your nadir is today! That will help us really see what's happening with the insulin.![]()
Hi Judy, I use the Neosporin ointment with pain relief on Bubba's ears after every poke, soothes and takes care of the redness. Just a tiny amount is all you need.Hi Rachel, I did not know that this is a way of the pancreas healing. I'm interested too in the nadir, but I'm sure my boy won't be....We have a new hold for him, my daughter holds him like a baby and then we poke the ear. I am waiting for a new lancet pen in the mail and hope that that will make things easier. I just hate seeing his little ears all red![]()
Yeah, it's really too bad that some vets aren't open-minded enough to realize that the people involved with FDMB have collected enough data to have developed "best practices" in treating feline diabetes that more vets should actually be putting into practice themselves!It's because of all the wonderful faithful people on this site. Sad though I can't even discuss with my vet. He was adamant that the only way to bring Hershey's numbers down was with Purina DMwet (which Hershey would not eat) and lots of insulinI have learned a lot and I visit this site several time a day. The advice and the stories of the newbies helps me understand that we aren't the only ones
![]()
Hey Robin, I just picked up some Weruva Paw Lickin Chicken. I called the company yesterday and the carb count on that flavor for a 5.5 oz can is 0.6%. Calories is 103. They human grade chicken breast. I am hoping Bubba likes it; he'll be getting it for dinner. It's a bit pricey, $2.29 /can but on PetFlow.com a case of 24 is $42.96 making each can &1.79. He gets Wellness also, but the two no grain flavors he likes the most both have fish in them along with either the chicken or the turkey. I rotate those with FF Chucky Chicken and FF Kitten Turkey Feasst (uder 1% gram of carb) So hopefully I can add the Weruva to the rotation. Next, I'll start cooking for him.Yeah, it's really too bad that some vets aren't open-minded enough to realize that the people involved with FDMB have collected enough data to have developed "best practices" in treating feline diabetes that more vets should actually be putting into practice themselves!
As for the Purina DM canned, while it's at 3% carbs (original formula, not the other DM Savory Selects), I've heard others report, too, that their cats wouldn't eat it. (Bat-Bat will; she'll eat anything!) So it's not a bad choice per se (if a cat will eat it), but it's just ridiculously expensive! I really wish my cat wasn't so darned carb-sensitive, because that makes it harder to find canned choices @ 3% carbs or less that aren't fish-based. (She LOVES fishy stuff, but I've learned it's not wise to feed fishy foods too often, thanks to mercury & other toxins. <sigh> )
Hi Robin, so how often can they have fish fancy feast? I usually buy a mix of all the suggested low carb ff pate, but I usually give at least 3x a week????Yeah, it's really too bad that some vets aren't open-minded enough to realize that the people involved with FDMB have collected enough data to have developed "best practices" in treating feline diabetes that more vets should actually be putting into practice themselves!
As for the Purina DM canned, while it's at 3% carbs (original formula, not the other DM Savory Selects), I've heard others report, too, that their cats wouldn't eat it. (Bat-Bat will; she'll eat anything!) So it's not a bad choice per se (if a cat will eat it), but it's just ridiculously expensive! I really wish my cat wasn't so darned carb-sensitive, because that makes it harder to find canned choices @ 3% carbs or less that aren't fish-based. (She LOVES fishy stuff, but I've learned it's not wise to feed fishy foods too often, thanks to mercury & other toxins. <sigh> )
Hi Rachel, Yes he gets sooo much love and lots of pure bits and cat grass (that is his cat drug of choice) (lol) I'm not sure if we hitting or missing the sweet spot. He jerks his head. I hold him in a baby position and my older daughter (20) pricks and gets the blood. I think we hurt him the first few times and now he hates the whole procedure.... Ordered a special lancing device that is suppose to be the most painless and will see if we have better luck with that it is the Accu--check Multiclik. Haven't received it yet. It's almost time for nadir!Hey Judy! Yep, when under 220, a cat's pancreas is getting some healing time in. As the pancreas heal, they can start to kick in more...heading towards remission! So focus on the good stuff...Hershey is right there at preshot times, which means he probably spends a pretty good amount of time during the day healing.
I know it's tough with the tests. You give plenty of treats and love after right? Where are you testing? Have you managed to hit the sweet spot? Usually they get used to that pretty fast because there are not many nerve endings there so it's just a bit annoying...not painful.
You're doing great at this! Even though it's hard for you, you're still willing to do what you need to do.![]()
Nadir 243 at +6, no food 2 hours prior. Are you suppose withhold food during the nadir? Confused. Thought it might be a little lower. Not sure what to expect.Hey Judy! Yep, when under 220, a cat's pancreas is getting some healing time in. As the pancreas heal, they can start to kick in more...heading towards remission! So focus on the good stuff...Hershey is right there at preshot times, which means he probably spends a pretty good amount of time during the day healing.
I know it's tough with the tests. You give plenty of treats and love after right? Where are you testing? Have you managed to hit the sweet spot? Usually they get used to that pretty fast because there are not many nerve endings there so it's just a bit annoying...not painful.
You're doing great at this! Even though it's hard for you, you're still willing to do what you need to do.![]()
I think that here @ FDMB, it's generally recommended that you limit the canned fish-type foods to once a week; primarily because of the mercury content. Dr. Lisa Pierson's site has additional info about this; another problem is that cats can become "fish-food addicts," and can start refusing to eat anything else. (I actually had a problem with Bat-Bat that way, years ago; she was totally hooked for a while on salmon-formula everything!)Hi Robin, so how often can they have fish fancy feast? I usually buy a mix of all the suggested low carb ff pate, but I usually give at least 3x a week????
It might have been lower a little earlier or might be a little lower later. The nadir can vary in that 5-7 range (or even earlier or later than that). You might get your nadir test in before you feed him. If he protests, then a little snack while he is being poked. Or it could be that this cycle will be a little higher and flatter.Nadir 243 at +6, no food 2 hours prior. Are you suppose withhold food during the nadir? Confused. Thought it might be a little lower. Not sure what to expect.
Wow who knew, I guess I will stick to the chicken, turkey and limit the fish....continued learning!!I think that here @ FDMB, it's generally recommended that you limit the canned fish-type foods to once a week; primarily because of the mercury content. Dr. Lisa Pierson's site has additional info about this; another problem is that cats can become "fish-food addicts," and can start refusing to eat anything else. (I actually had a problem with Bat-Bat that way, years ago; she was totally hooked for a while on salmon-formula everything!)
Well, if you're trying to find an on-insulin nadir, it can make it a little more difficult to determine where the lowest BG is when you're spreading the meals out in several feedings throughout the 12-hr. cycle.Nadir 243 at +6, no food 2 hours prior. Are you suppose withhold food during the nadir? Confused. Thought it might be a little lower. Not sure what to expect.
Thanks Sue, good to hear back from you! Hershey was tested at 1:00 and hadn't had anything to eat since 11, so he didn't care if I poked him or not I gave him treats and food after, I must say this test was the easiest one yet. I started putting the Neosporin on when I rub his ear gently to warm it up. He very awake and active today, happy camper. Thanks again for all your amazing advice! I will just have to be patient and remember he started at 488 on May 16 the day he was dx. 3 months later he has come down 200 points and his insulin is only at .50.It might have been lower a little earlier or might be a little lower later. The nadir can vary in that 5-7 range (or even earlier or later than that). You might get your nadir test in before you feed him. If he protests, then a little snack while he is being poked. Or it could be that this cycle will be a little higher and flatter.
Remember that you are just gathering data, Judy. It's the overall picture and pattern that help you figure this out. One number is just one number.
One thing you might do for his ear is to put a very small smear of Neosporin on his ear before poking. Some people think that makes the ear a little numb.