Re: 7/28 PMBG 57 +14 65 +15.5 58 +17 77 +18 70 +19 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon,

I reduced Rocky's insulin dose to a skinny 1.0u this morning. It doesn't matter right now. His BG seems to be on a roll down hill, which is good. However, I question just how much I should be working to prop up a number under 50 if in fact his pancreas has healed. His BG is headed lower at this hour, (4:30pm PST), and his shot time is at 7PM. I'm going to need to feed him the Science Diet Light Chicken and Liver to keep him elevated above 50 while I go feed the ferals between 5pm and 7pm. Having elevated his BG, I definitely won't give him a shot tonight. Tomorrow morning I'll reduce his shot to .75u.
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122459&p=1273161#p1273161

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 56 +.75 52 +1.5 63 +3.5 50 + 4.5 82 +6 84 +7 69 +8 80 +9.25 66
(no shot) PMBG 58 +13 58 +14.5 58 +15 56 +16 59 +17 57 +18.5 46 + 21 65
 
Re: 7/28 Rocky(reducie S1.0u:)AMPS 63 +2 56 +4 49 +7.5 62 +9

With some kitties, once they've reached the point where they are on a mission and the pancreas is healing fast with lots of green, there isn't a need to prop them up and do the fat/skinny reduction dosing thing. You might want to just try .25U reductions and see how that goes. Rocky's been getting mostly greens from what I can see on your condo's (insert gentle hint on updating the SS here), so it's not like you need to do anything to keep him in normal numbers.
 
Re: 7/28(no PM shot):PMBG 57 (but still feed HC in 40s?)

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for dropping by and sharing what you've experienced here! I read somewhere on LL that there was a cat who may have OD, but then came straight back down and went OTJ. Do you know about that cat? I'd like to read that condo, if you know who it was.

I wish I were more comfortable reducing Rocky's dose by .25u increments. I want to be able to keep a close eye on these numbers and find the correct dose for him. I worry that if I make .25u jumps in dosing that I'll miss the dose that works best for him. However, I don't know how to dose a fat or skinny .75u because there isn't a line on the syringe for .75 units, so, *if* we reduce down from that, it will be to the fat .50u.

Elise, I just keep having flashbacks of the last time it seemed that he may go into remission very quickly. This time, I have given up all hope and will take whatever he gives me, however, I'm going to do whatever my "best" is to see if I can help him get into remission. I keep thinking that one of these tests his BG might surprise me with a 100, or, maybe his BG will do a steady climb to 100 when I have skipped a shot, or when I haven't fed him any HC. At that point I know that I must right away increase his insulin dose.

I thought that his BG would come back down by his PM shot, but instead it is slowly starting to climb. His BG is 57.. I know, I know, that's still in the green. I am wondering, do I really need to feed him *if* he gets into the 40s at sometime tonight, if I've already fed him the 5.5 OZ. of food, in mini-meals?

I just fed him 1/4 can of the Merrick Purfect Bistro Chicken Pate 2% carbs even though his PMBG is up 4 points from AMPS +9.
 
Re: 7/28(no PM shot):PMBG 57 (but still feed HC in 40s?)

If you didn't shoot and his BG is already rising there should be no need for HC. He might want a little more LC though. It would be nice to see if his pancreas kicks in w/ it's own insulin after a small meal.
 
Re: 7/28(no PM shot):PMBG 57 +14 65

Thank you Julie and Ann. I am beginning to wonder if the rise in BG might be a small bounce from spending a few hours in the 40s this afternoon. I wasn't able to post the entire string of numbers because I didn't have enough room in the subject box. I am crossing my fingers that maybe his pancreas will kick in and his BG will start to come down sometime tonight.

I will still give a reduced insulin shot tomorrow even f his numbers don't come down tonight because of the time he spent in the 40s today.

I read here somewhere that *if* the kitty is in remission, or going into remission, it is better to reduce their insulin dose gradually rather than just take them off of it cold turkey. That is what I'm trying to do for Rocky. But am I doing it wrong?

I read through most of the condo about the cat Sheevee, who OD'ed and then went straight into remission. My God, that sounds so scary.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top