Re: 4/22 Do Lou pmps 296+3 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12544

WCR he is eating and seems to not feel as good this am as yesterday not sure what happened to our lovely numbers unless I fed HC by mistake but boy he sure went up to pink again :sad: Hoping he comes bk down today I am off to study the J&B chart for a while to get it in my head whats what ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352

sorry to hear do lou is not feeling as good today as he did yesterday. I hope his numbers come down for you!

By the way, is that do lou in the avatar picture, as a kitten? WHAT A CUTIEEEEEEEEEEE!
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 carb ??

?????????
Serving Size: 1/3 lb. (5.33 oz.) Does anyone know what 1% carbs means does it mean one or something else this is from the primal website on the nuggets he is eating???
Calories: 312 per 1/3 lb.
Carbohydrates: 1%
Vitamins

Also I am now studying the J&B chart I fed him something last night that was 26% carbs :sad: :sad: :sad: UGHH here I go to all the trouble to pick up dry and let him have hardly any of it which is 24% ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile So now I need to get what I can feed in my head thats LC
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 carb ??

OK you really need to watch that! WE all make mistakes..Try to throw away or put away any HC from your sight--I have all the HC & MC cans in a different cupboard than the rest of their food, for fear I'd do the same thing!!
Soooooooooooo Cute & the diaper!! Have a great day :razz:
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 carb ??

Shake it off, we all make mistakes! Do Lou will come back down!

Hope you both have a great day!
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 carb ??

Your SS indicated that you decreased the dose due to less dry food in Do Lou's diet. I tend to think that shifting the dose up then down this quickly will end up in weird numbers. If you are decreasing the dry food, what may make more sense is to only decrease when the numbers tell you to, rather than in anticipation of the numbers dropping.

EVO and Wellness grain free dry are lower in carbs.
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 carb ??

Sienne and Gabby said:
Your SS indicated that you decreased the dose due to less dry food in Do Lou's diet. I tend to think that shifting the dose up then down this quickly will end up in weird numbers. If you are decreasing the dry food, what may make more sense is to only decrease when the numbers tell you to, rather than in anticipation of the numbers dropping.

EVO and Wellness grain free dry are lower in carbs.

Well D had told me to go bk up to the 5.5 this am if his numbers were high so that is why I did that Sienne
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221

Hey Lisa, the food thing happened here last night too =) Don't feel bad. Like everyone told me, you learned something!

I wrote the carb %'s on the can tops because I was afraid I'd feed the wrong thing but I guess I forgot to explain it to hubby so when he fed last night while I was out... he fed high carb stuff that is meant for the counter feeders rather than the lc that we put on the floor. One would *think* that if you were about to feed some animals with food restrictions (we also don't feed beef because it makes Echo puke) and you saw handwritten stuff on the can tops, if you didn't know what it meant you'd maybe want to call and ask before you feed... but not my husband. "It shouldn't matter." :evil: But it worked out ok in the end and I didn't have to kill him (hubby, not the cat) or bean him with my cast iron skillet.

I also keep the high carb and low carb on different shelves. I guess I should keep them in different cabinets too now. ohmygod_smile I guess today is rearrange the kitchen day :lol:
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221

Marvie and Tugger said:
Hey Lisa, the food thing happened here last night too =) Don't feel bad. Like everyone told me, you learned something!

I wrote the carb %'s on the can tops because I was afraid I'd feed the wrong thing but I guess I forgot to explain it to hubby so when he fed last night while I was out... he fed high carb stuff that is meant for the counter feeders rather than the lc that we put on the floor. One would *think* that if you were about to feed some animals with food restrictions (we also don't feed beef because it makes Echo puke) and you saw handwritten stuff on the can tops, if you didn't know what it meant you'd maybe want to call and ask before you feed... but not my husband. "It shouldn't matter." :evil: But it worked out ok in the end and I didn't have to kill him (hubby, not the cat) or bean him with my cast iron skillet.

I also keep the high carb and low carb on different shelves. I guess I should keep them in different cabinets too now. ohmygod_smile I guess today is rearrange the kitchen day
:lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol: sounds like something my DH would do if I am out and want Do Lou fed this is something other then his dry I would have to prepare it put it in frig with a note attached saying who its for and what time to give it to him. My DH is great but I have to make my instructions really really clear or he just does not get it right at all :roll:
Anyway I am going to make sure it hopefully will not happen again anytime soon and writing on the cans is a good idea.
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221

That is such a cute picture of Do Lou! He is definately going the right direction. I hope you see some blue today.
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221+6.5 221

What goes up must come down...we've all done it! Maybe you should keep the high carb in a different room.

JUST KIDDING! I went to bed at 3:30AM, I'm punchy :-D

after making a mistake that I couldn't figure out, even AFTER marking cans with carb numbers, I also put high carb, medium carb and low carb in totally different cabinets. I haven't made a mistake again yet.

That photo IS adorable!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221+6.5 221

The 1% applies to 1 patty or the whole bag. It is the number of grams of carbs that will change with the change in the amount of food. You feed the calories of food depending on the ideal weight of the cat. Dr. Lisa's formula for amount of food is :
  • "13.6 x ideal weight +70" So a 10 pound cat should have 206 calories a day.
    The 5.5oz. serving size would be nearly half again too much for a 10 pound cat w/ 312 calories.
    312 calories/ 5.5 ounce = 56.7 calories / ounce.
    So 3.6 ounces would be correct for a 10 pound cat.
The hardest part is deciding what the ideal weight is for your cat.

I write the carb % on the cans too. I got tired of going back to the list if I wanted to micro manage the carbs Tess was getting on high BG days. My OCD got me to put the calories per can on the side too. :roll:
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221+8 229

+8 229 well I am now stocked on FF LC and a few MC as well he is eating the FF I just fed so I am feeling more and more pos about getting our food switch accomplished stopped by this hick pet shot on the way home I always hated going in here its just a sight but they used to carry evo and since mine had not come in yet, thought well lets see if they carry it and they carried 3 bag sizes to I went on and bought one to see if he will eat it he used to hate it so we shall see.
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221+8 229

Hi, Lisa -- Looks like Do Lou responded nicely to his morning dose! That's good. You'll get the food issues sorted out with a little more time.

Interesting to read how well some of the beans control carbs! I just chose a low-carb food and feed him what he wants. (But, um, yes, he could lose a pound or two. :oops: )

Your pictures are wonderful -- and that is the most awesom cat tree ever!!
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou amps 367+3 352 +4.5 221+8 229

pmps 296 and he likes evo :-D as a dry backup at least for now he does keeping paws crossed he continues ate some FF tonight
 
Re: 4/22 Do Lou pmps 296

Hi, Lisa and Do Lou. Do Lou not feeling so well today? Awww, well wishes to you Do Lou :YMHUG:
Good job on coming on down, your body is doing good!
 
Hi Lisa, It looks like you have the foods thing under control. Keeping fingers and paws crossed that Do Lou will like his new menu. Stu likes EVO dry a lot, but I have been restricting him to 8 or 9 kibbles a day because everyone here says that dry food, even low-carb dry food, stays in the cat's system longer than wet food and therefore can influence the numbers. When I put the EVO dry out it's the first thing Stu goes to! He likes EVO wet, too (95% Turkey & Chicken in particular). This apparently has 0 carbs. Anyway, keep on doing your research on the foods and put the HC and MC in a separate box.

Have a good evening,

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top