Re: 3/18Simba +11.5 112 +3 122 +6 106 ATrak No Shot.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/18Simba+12.25 96 +12.5 96 +12.75AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 A

Hey Sarah, thanks for adding a bit of excitement to my morning. It's always interesting to see what others do in situations like that :smile:
Not that chex is ever that low in the morning. :-D
 
Re: 3/18Simba+12.25 96 +12.5 96 +12.75AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 A

Sarah, please test again 20 minutes after you fed, and post your results. Do you have HC food with gravy?
 
Re: 3/18Simba AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 ATrak

If you have gravy, I would use a tsp or two of that, and add a few drops of karo to it...you want to boost those numbers up out of the 70s. If you don't have gravy, use a small amount of regular food and add a few drops of karo to it. Retest in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 3/18Simba AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 ATrak

Sarah...kibble is not going to work well for this...it takes too long to boost numbers. Please use a tsp of regular food and add karo if you don't have HC wet food.
 
Re: 3/18Simba AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 ATrak

If you don't have karo, use honey or maple syrup instead. Retest 20 minutes after you feed.

No panicking, ok? His numbers are safe, but you don't want him to hang out in the 70s and it's early in the cycle, so you want to boost him up.
 
Re: 3/18Simba AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 ATrak

not panicking. was busy following him around the house with a bowl of food mixed with a little honey. lol.
 
Re: 3/18Simba AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 ATrak

he ate about an oz. You said a couple drops of karo, but I didn't see it. I put about 1cc into 2oz of food. so if we assume the mixture is homogeneous, we can say he got approximately .5cc honey. will test in t minus ten minutes. (I edited the measurements, I got them wrong earlier)

Thanks you guys :smile: I AM getting better at this and it DOES get easier!

However my new mantra is 'always listen to CD, always listen to CD'...... she's been with me for the last few drops like this, she knew, she knew! well, I hope she's having a fantastic flight and gets a good laugh at this when she comes back.
 
Re: 3/18Simba AMPS 100 +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 ATrak

Oh good, glad you're not panicking..I couldn't tell from your post. ;-)

I would use less food, a tsp...about 1/4 oz....you don't want Simba to get full and refuse to eat. The amount of honey was probably fine, just less food.

It's ok that you chose to shoot a reduced dose, you just need to monitor closely like Sienne said....and you are doing fine! It would have been ok to skip also. There is no absolute "perfect" answer....just different options, and opportunities to gather data.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.24 103 ATrak

yes... but with this option, there's no opportunity to sleep :lol:
I definitely wanted to shoot the reduced dose, I was just waiting for someone to say it was 'ok'... I take full responsability for not getting any sleep... for the last 24hrs and within the next... what would you say? When should I test again?
 
Re: 3/18Simba +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.24 103 ATrak

btw, 'Mr Tinkles'... LOL. love it. absolutely love it. Which reminds me, Simba went to the litter box, I wonder if he... did more than tinkle. brb.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.24 103 ATrak

Ok, 103 is a good number. I would offer him a bite of his regular food, let's try to get him to surf there....test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.24 103 ATrak

Sarah...If you are tired, you could add some honey to the bite of food, boost him more so maybe you can get a nap after you make sure he is going to stay up...he has nothing left to prove this cycle, he already earned a dose decrease. You need to keep testing for a while first to make sure he doesn't drop again, though.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +1 94 +2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.24 103 ATrak

can do. not about to collapse :smile: I'm a TROOPER!

He just ate 1/2oz-1oz regular (low carb high prot) wet food mixed with water.

will test in 5

PS I'm so glad he's better with ear pricks now, thanks to LL
 
Re: 3/18Simba+2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.25 103 +3.75 101 ATra

:lol: :lol: i'm worn out just READING about your morning!

celi & binks
 
Re: 3/18Simba+2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.25 103 +3.75 101 ATra

I would test again after 30 minutes. He's surfing right now, but he could drop again. Normal range is 80-150 for AT, so don't be afraid to boost him up a bit more, it won't hurt him and then you can relax a little.
 
Re: 3/18Simba+2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.25 103 +3.75 101 ATra

will see what I can do. He's snoring in my lap at present. heh. I'll test him in 15 then see if he'll eat some more. Should I add a tiny bit of honey to boost, or no?
 
Re: 3/18Simba+2 70 +2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.25 103 +3.75 101 ATra

Yes, I would add a little honey, like you did before, the same proportions...so if you feed a tsp of food, maybe 0.3ml honey. He doesn't need to prove anything more this cycle, so boosting him a little is a good idea.
 
Re: 3/18Simba+2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.25 103 +3.75 101 +4.25 97 A

I did not see 'tsp'.. lol... damn. I should have known. I just let him eat what he wanted (since he hasn't been eating much lately, I'm very thankful whenever he eats more then 15 licks or so - he ate about 3/4oz! will test him in 20 mins

ty ty ty ty ty ty Laurie for holding my hand :smile:
 
Re: 3/18Simba+2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.25 103 +3.75 101 +4.25 97 A

Looking good! I don't blame you for letting him eat if he hasn't been, I understand. You just don't want to feed too much at a time because you don't want him to get too full, then refuse to eat when you really need him to. That's the other reason for using HC wet food...then small amounts of food boost his numbers up, less risk of him getting full.

You're doing fine!
 
Re: 3/18Simba+2.5 72 +2.75 76 +3.25 103 +3.75 101 +4.25 97 A

tanks!
I'm nervous about trying to get him to eat HC.. or any other type of wet food... he's new to wet food altogether and I have another cat who eats Fancy Feast and he doesn't look at it twice. I'll try over the weekend. I printed out Janet and Binky's list, stabled, have a highlighter at the ready... but have yet to analyze. I'm gonna look like a real pro at petsmart with my stack of papers, highlighter in hand, I tells you!
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.25 103 +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 ATrak

Well I'm glad I gave him as much as I did, he didn't come up all that much..
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.25 103 +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 ATrak

He is determined to surf there! He's in a safe range, if you want to give him a break, test at +5.75.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.25 103 +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 ATrak

He's resting comfortably. He really shows his numbers in his behaviour, I'm oh so very thankful for that. It's a big reason why I wasn't so scared this time.
That, and you guys have helped me build lots of confidence!
Still appreciate the guided tour - you're amazing! :RAHCAT
I think I have a better grasp on what I need to do for those low-safes-but-want-him-higher values.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 +6 119 ATrak

yay!!! 119!! DANNNNCIN!
*spins laurie around* WHEEE!
Reading ended up being about 5 mins before +6 instead of +5.75...! whoopsiedaisy
omgosh. What a wild ride this is.
How have you guys been doing this for so long!?! lol
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 +6 119 ATrak

Imma take a nap now, I am POOPED. I'll be back for a +8 or 9
I can't thank you enough. I name a star in your honour Laurie, forever to light the way for hope-filled newbs.

I-)
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 +6 119 ATrak

:lol: @ Sarah. Very nice, he's looking great! Get some sleep, +8 sounds good. Simba's on a mission, he may keep you busy again tonight!

He earned a reduction....don't forget to shoot 0.25u tonight.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 +6 119 ATrak

Well, you had a busy morning! Congrats on the dose reduction. You'll want to stick with the dose you shot this morning -- 0.25u.

If you are going to shop for FF, just be aware that the name of the LC variety changed from what's on Janet & Binky's list. It's now called "Classic" varieties. (These are the pate style foods.)
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 +6 119 ATrak

just stopping by to see how you're doing - good that you're snoozing. feeling like an old pro yet?
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 +6 119 +8 103 ATr

I feel like a rookie with lotsa fans cheering me on. I like it :)

*dreams she creates a giant pool of rolling fancy feast for all the little FD kitties to come play in* ZZzzz
 
Re: 3/18Simba +3.75 101 +4.25 97 +4.75 110 +6 119 +8 103 ATr

Wow, Sarah you did great, and how much coffee did it take to keep you up all these hours?
 
Re: 3/18Simba +8 103 + 10.75 97 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to do

Thanks Ann :)

He's low again. 97. I can't do what I did in AM all over again.

Someone please tell me what to do?

Thanks,
Sarah.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +8 103 + 10.75 97 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to do

This is probably a "double dip." I would get a test at around +11.5 unless you are nervous and want to test sooner.
 
Re: 3/18Simba +8 103 + 10.75 97 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to do

It's hard to know what direction the numbers are going. The +8 and the +10.75 are pretty much the same number. I would prefer to see Simba higher at shot time.
 
Re: 3/18Simba + 10.75 97 +11.5 112 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to

supposed to shoot in 20 mins.. but his values were so low... I don't know if I should shoot again, or skip?
 
Re: 3/18Simba + 10.75 97 +11.5 112 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to

retest at your shot time, if you see a rising number it should be ok.
what do you think?
oh I saw a lot of good info earlier in your condo about options.
 
Re: 3/18Simba + 10.75 97 +11.5 112 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to

yeah, but I shot AM .25 and he went way down and I had to test him very carefully. I can't put him through that again.

His values right now are artificially inflated because he's excited because people just got home from a trip and there's excitement.

help?
 
Re: 3/18Simba + 10.75 97 +11.5 112 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to

Sarah --

It's really OK to skip the shot if that's what makes you comfortable.

If you decide to shoot, the shed shouldn't still be over-filled, but I can't guarantee that it won't be another pokefest. Take a few minutes and think about what makes the most sense for you. You haven't gotten that much sleep and while it's important to take care of Simba, it's important that you take care of yourself, too.
 
Re: 3/18Simba + 10.75 97 +11.5 112 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to

it's kind of up to you... how tired are you? Are you able to monitor tonight, is he eating ok so you can use food to steer numbers, etc.? Today's cycle was influenced by the shed from last night's 0.50 dose, so you don't know for sure that he will drop if you give 0.25 again. He might, though, so if you shoot you need to be prepared just in case.

I can't stay up tonight, so I can't be the one to yell SHOOOOOOOT! You have to decide for yourself based on how you and Simba feel tonight. It sounds like you're leaning toward skipping, and that is a perfectly ok option. I've done it when circumstances didn't allow me to shoot (I did it this morning, in fact).
 
Re: 3/18Simba + 10.75 97 +11.5 112 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to

Hi guys, thanks for getting back to me - timing is crazy, I'm just too scared his values are artificial and he'll drop if I shoot.

Lemme see what happens if I skip. Thanks so much, will keep posting,

Sarah.
 
Re: 3/18Simba + 10.75 97 +11.5 112 ATrak ADVICE PLS? what to

Hi Sarah,
I agree that it is fine to skip the shot tonight. You'll be able to get more rest and you will be refreshed in the morning.
Enjoy your evening and get in a few tests so that you will know what Simba is doing.

You did great today!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top