Re: 2/9 Webber PMBG=59 no shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

paige

Member Since 2009
Good morning wonderful Lantus Land!

Webber ate good this morning and harassed his sister Lacey. So I am guessing he feels pretty good. :razz: Usually can't ever get a LB update this early in the morning. ;-)

I bought these cloth-like mats to go underneath the cats wet food when I switched them to wet. But these cats are too messy. I think I need to get some plastic mats or something that can be wiped down. :o They make a huge mess.


Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=63

Nice AMPS! Webber looking good again! :mrgreen:

I use paper towels as their placemats, after a few days they get a fresh one...messy sloppy kitties, can't even keep their food in their mouths! :lol:

Have a good day!
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=63

paige said:
I bought these cloth-like mats to go underneath the cats wet food when I switched them to wet. But these cats are too messy. I think I need to get some plastic mats or something that can be wiped down. :o They make a huge mess.


Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning Paige,
I had the same problem, I don't know if you have a Petsmart, but I bought it's a white big plastic type mat there, and it's a pretty good size, 3 cats could all eat togeter at it. It almost looks like a the top to a plastic storage box. I really love them cause when its really messy I just take a wet paper towel and wipe it off, even after the wet has dried it comes off easy. So check it out.
Jan and Buddy
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=63

Webber is doing really well! Look at that preshot, whooo-eee!!

My kitties make a mess on the floor too. I watched to see what and why. One kitty takes a big bite and lets some of it fall to the floor and eats it from there. She does this on purpose. I suppose she prefers to eat from a flat space rather than the feeder. I can't argue, but I still need to use the autofeeder so I just have to wash a small area of the floor a couple of times a day. If I put something on the floor like a mat or paper towel, she moves to another place on the floor. So I have to let her have the floor clear around her bowl unless I want food where I walk. :shock: BigMac is less sloppy as he will eat mostly from the feeder unless he does accidentally drop food. It looks like he doesn't do it on purpose like his sister though. She clearly is moving it out of the feeder. Silly kitty, but whatever works!
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=63

CD - that is too funny about our cat that purposely drops it. :lol: I have tried using paper towels like Ronie does but my two youngest cats always try to cover their food after they are done and ready to walk away. The paper towels would end up shredded or soaking from getting in the food dish.

You know--I have one cat that will drag all her toys over the the food bowl and cover up all the food. Same thing with the litter box. Heaven forbid we have some clothes on the floor near the LB cuz she will drag and pull it into the LB to cover up stinky. :roll:

Take a look at some of her earlier work: Lacey's Food Bowl


ETA- Jan I am going to go and look for that! Thanks
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=63

Lacey is just too funny! That is so cute how she covered her bowl with her toys. :mrgreen:

Two of my cats use their paws to eat and there is always food on the floor. I'm constantly cleaning up after them and if I don't get it cleaned up right away and one of the dogs gets in the room, they clean it up for me. Gotta love the dogs!

Webber is off to a fantastic start again this morning. He's the poster boy for getting OTJ. :smile:
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS= +5~42 Now what?

Came home to check on Webber boy and got a 42! I have sprinkled some chicken dust on his food to get him to eat (otherwise he wasn't too interested).
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS= +5~42 Now what?

Okay. I have an Italian greyhound and had two others in the past, so if there is one thing I know about, it's how to protect floors! (If this is mysterious to you, google "italian greyhound housetraining." Basil calls them the "stupid little dogs" and says no cat would DREAM of excreting so freely and randomly in his own darn house!)

Depending on the size of the area you need to protect, we have liked boot trays (available in various sizes) or those big square smooth plastic trays that are made to fit under washing machines to catch any leaks.

Last week, I was in Target, and they were selling "yoga mats" that were thick enough for like Tinker Bell to do yoga on. But they were $2.50 and I bought one and put it under our water dishes. It works pretty well. A real yoga mat works, too.

You can also buy replacement trays for the bottoms of wire kennels (all sizes, obviously., from smallest to Great Dane) and they are nice and flat and easy to clean.

Good luck, and that 42 is pretty exciting!
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Ok. I am in a new place here. Is this another decrease?
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Awesome : ) I know how you feel with our 37 on Sunday that I found when I came home from church.. Webber continues to look sooooooooo good!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Wow, Pagie, Webber is pulling a Mally with these numbers. Can't advise about a decrease, but I'm sure someone will let you know what to do next.
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

What a gorgeous SS!! Webber is really getting to a great place :smile: :smile: ) 0.1U WOW that's progress!
Moonie buries anything & everything over her food, toys, placemats, bits of carpet @-) , just about whatever is around..
The boot tray looks like a great Idea!!
Paige, great news & numbers!
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Congratulations, I'm pretty sure this could be Webber's last insulin shot. Your SS shows nottin but green for some days now and if he is going low on .1U there is nothing left to reduce to! Do you know the procedure for countdown? Are you ready? No big deal if it doesn't work out you can go back to .1U sometimes for a few days and start again. Way to go!
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

WoW! I did not expect this and to be honest I am scared to take him off (if that makes any sense at all @-) :shock: :o )

Monique - I do not know what to do. Is there a sticky for this?
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

No sticky but it's pretty simple. You measure each day at your normal shot time (like you would for AMPS and PMPS) You report here in your daily condo

2/10 Webber Day 1 OTJ AMBG 82 (AM blood glucose)

If your AMBG reading is green, SUPER! and have a nice day nothing else to do. Measure again at PMBG time and report. If green your good to go to till morning. IF....you should happen to get a higher AMBG or PMBG reading, don't panic go about things as usual (feeding etc.9 and test again in a few hours (+3 or so) normally the number should have returned to green (action of the pancreas releasing insulin in response to food) then go back to testing AM and PM. You do this for 14 days and if you have a successful trial then we have a party!

If he gets off track and goes higher and doesn't come back down you will be advised as to what to do. I don't think this will be a problem with Webber though.
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50 Monique-last shot tonight?

Thank you Monique for explaining. Those were my exact questions....still feed at normal time and do nothing different exect test at AM and PM (unless otherwise based on what you said).

So tonight I give the last shot?
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50 Monique-last shot toni

I would begin tonite, no need to make him drop low again (why feed HC when he doesn't need it!) You can begin by reporting his PMBG your party will then be on Wednesday the 24th of February, how does that sound?
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50 Monique-last shot toni

That sounds fantastic :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

some exciting times in this condo!
i was asked to stop by to see if an OTJ trial should be started. the short answer is YES! congratulations!

continue testing at what would have been amps and pmps. if webber is green... wonderful! if he's higher, feed and retest 3 - 4 hours later to see if he brings himself down. don't worry if you see a number higher than you would like to see. kitties often bobble up and down before they settle into all greens on an OTJ trial. we will be watching closely. please do not shoot any insulin without posting for advice, k? if all goes well, we'll be celebrating in 14 days! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Yay! Can I have Basil come spend some time with Webber? You know, like an old German measles party? It could be contagious....
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Paige -

How wonderful for both of you! I just knew you were ready for an OTJ trial.

Good luck - I know Webber will do fantastic! And like everyone else said, don't worry if he gets a higher number or two. On one day of Porky's trial, he had 108; other than that, he was consistently in the 70's and 80's.
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Woohoo....
Let the trial begin!!!

Way to go Webber and good luck!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

I was going to tell you that I have to also wash the walls in addition to the floor after Tizon eats - he must swing food all over the place... grrrr.... what can I do! But... then your day got better and.... Are we doing the GUM trial dance in this condo! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
How exciting!!!!
 
Re: 2/9 Webber AMPS=62 +5~42 +5.25~50

Whoo Hoo!!!!!! Webber begins his OTJ trial tomorrow. This is such great news, Paige.

I have been testing Mally about three or four times a day. I do her AMBG and then grab another test about four hours later, just to see where she is. I do her PMBG about twelve hours after her AMBG. Last night was the first time I tested her after her PMBG, because I was curious about her numbers at night.

It's going to feel totally weird not testing Webber all the time. You're so used to a routine and then all of a sudden they don't need to be tested as often. Hard to explain how it feels, but I think you'll get it after a few days of Webber's OTJ trial.

I can't tell you how happy I am for you and for Webber!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Oh my gosh! I want to thank all of you for being happy for Webber and I today. I am happy and hopeful that taking off the training wheels will work out ok. But as always, mommy will be here if you fall Webber. cat_pet_icon
 
Congratulations!!!!! I'm so happy for you!

Lucy does food dish art too! I gave up on placemats when I started feeding wet. I kept finding my food dishes upside down on the carpet (with the food under the dish) and a placemat on top of the whole thing. :roll:

A couple of my favorites (she does get help from Mickey with some of these too):
http://i282.photobucket.com/albums/kk24 ... oddish.jpg
http://i282.photobucket.com/albums/kk24 ... oddish.jpg (I don't know who removed the angel from the top of the Christmas tree)
http://i282.photobucket.com/albums/kk24 ... oodart.jpg (I just don't know...)
 
OH MY GOSH LIBBY!!! haha_smiley

That totally beats Lacey! That is absolutely hilarious!!!! I see she likes the tissue paper too. I have been known to buy tissue paper just for the kitty's to play in/with/under/on top of.....


Thank you all for your warm wishes for Webber! It means so much to us. Really :YMHUG: o:-)
 
Wow Paige & Webber! That's so amazing!!!

I'm so excited for you both! You've worked so hard :mrgreen: Moses and I will be cheering for you!
 
Any hints on how I can keep myself from still dying to test him and see how he is doing? :lol:

I need a hobby like Carolyn told me a month ago. :-x
 
Hi, Web... miss you (for selfish reasons)... xoxoxoxo
Do your deal...... boy! :mrgreen:

I hope to always miss you......... not seeing you....
 
:cry: I am too emotional.....

One thing I do have to say though......I think he might have known today was special for him. I have never seen him play sooo much this evening bcatrun_gif DH even asked me...."who is that playing?"
 
OMG I am soooo happy for you--I just know when some kitties will only be here a short time & knew it was going to be Webber--
WHOOO HOOO OTJ !st Day!! You have worked very hard for this--Congrats! party_cat drinking24 party_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top