Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+11~409

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays Condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30377

Powder obviously didn't like his dinner so much 'cause he didn't eat much of his food left at bedtime. So I'm not surprised by his BG. This is not a true lower BG is it? The other time he was in the blues he had eaten? I know that if I feed him his BG will go up. Just did reduction Sun. Feed and Shoot?
 
Re: 11/23Powder +11~60FEED&SHOOT?

Good morning Kathy.
A lot can change in an hour so when you get your +12 post the number and see of it is going up. Don't feed Powder so it is not a food spike number.
Are you home to monitor today?
 
Re: 11/23Powder +11~60FEED&SHOOT?

Good Morning Miriam, here we are again :smile: No I am not home again this time. I can hang around until about 9am. Would not eating cause this or would his liver responded as with low BG?
 
Re: 11/23Powder +11~60FEED&SHOOT?

It is possible that not eating could cause the lower number or it could be that he was bouncing from the blues and is clearing that bounce.
Post your +12 number and we can make a decision then. I will be around this morning for a couple of hours to check back.

Is there a problem with Powder's appetite? Do you think he will eat while you are gone today?
 
Re: 11/23Powder +11~60FEED&SHOOT?

Powder has been eating like my dog Trina lately which is to say like a vacumm :lol: He ate over 9 oz on Sunday :-D
He's one of those sugarcats that lost half their body weight before his owner figured it out :oops: He is still underweight. He will eat if he likes it and I have plenty of varieties he likes. My DD is home and can give him food during day.
 
Re: 11/23Powder +11~60FEED&SHOOT?

Good about the eating. I would not want you to shoot a lower number if his appetite is not good.
I will check back in a little while to see your +12. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/23Powder +11~60FEED&SHOOT?

AMPS 71 He is hungry! Going to place where I used to feed him Core kibble which is not where he gets his food now :lol: Feed and shoot? Thanks for helping us this am :-D
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71going to be late for dose

10 mins past usual shoot time. Feed and shoot? He always food spikes.
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71anyone there feed &shoot?

Now 20 mins past shoot time. I think I should feed and shoot? What do you think?
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71anyone there feed &shoot? almost 1/2 la

Kathy, can you get another test please? Will you be able to come home and test him at all today?
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71anyone there feed &shoot? almost 1/2 la

Since this looks like the lowest number you have shot I am a little concerned about you not being home to test. How long will you be gone.
If you do shoot please get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71anyone there feed &shoot? almost 1/2 la

I didn't get your post Laurie in time. Sorry. He was 111+50 Couldn't wait any longer or I wouldn't have any time to test before leaving and now its a dosecrease. No I can't but he is going to eat 'cause he likes his breffis. One of his favs. Thanks
hooting..
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71+.50~111

Morning guys! Glad to hear that powders appy is back this morning since you will be gone all day ... I'm sure he will be fine .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71+.50~111

I will be leaving lots of food for him and some frozen 6% and last time his BG went up. He always food spikes . I can post a test at +.75. I will try to come back if I can but no guarantee. DD will be here to give him more food at +5. He has a very active liver and always bounces. I think he's starting to already with the continuous rise. Thanks
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71+.50~111

Kathy, I'm glad you stalled because he was pretty low and he didn't rise much from +11 to PS..you want to stall in that situation. Did you feed him LC?

It sounds like you have a plan, Kathy. :smile:
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71+.50~111

Yes I gave him Whiskas Filet Mignon which he usually gobbles up but today he wanted chicken that is a 4%. Whatever he wants he gets :lol:
WCR all his P's in place including PICKY :roll:

Will post next test.
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71+.50~111

Depending on that test, you might want to leave out MC.

Just wondering...would it be possible to teach your DD to test? I'm sure that would help you feel better about shooting low and leaving.
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353

gave tsp 11% wellness lobster leaving 4% chix and filet. and frozen 6% chix will try to come back but DD will be here at +4 so will see how he is acting if I can't get back. She absolutely refuses even though he is awesome for testing and shooting it is so annoying. She has to give herself an inj every day for a while and refuses to give him any. Its cruel no argument has been persuasive even that IU threatened to have her least fav person come stay with Powder when I go away in Dec for grandchild's birth :-x Immature 20 yr old. :roll: Off tbp.Thanks
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71+.75~117

That's not much of a food spike, I hope he gets a boost from the 11%. I would be inclined to have DD give him some more 11% when she gets there for insurance.

I'm sorry about DD being unhelpful with testing...kids! I hear they get reasonable around 25 or so. My DD (17) is good about testing, but she has plenty of other ways of driving me crazy.... :roll:
 
Re: 11/23PowderAMPS71+.75~117

wow, busy morning!

i feel the frustration on the no help scenario...3 family members within a 4 mile radius and no help til my cousin moved here...
but then...they think i'm crazy for even keeping binks...much less treating him.
this from the folks who left two cats on their own in a house for six years and just came in every 3 days to feed and clean LB...

different strokes, i guess...
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353

Recap:
+11 60
AMPS 71
+ 13 111
+ +1 117
+5.95 38
+6.12 39
+6.28 51
+7 88
+8.90 208
+10.25 211
+ 11 356
+PMPS 353

You can't tell by Powders PMPS but he was up to no good today doing his best to make me out a liar. :lol: DD got home +5 The Picky Prince was fine greeted her pleading for food and except for the MC frozen cube he had barely touched the two different foods I left. :roll: I was able to run home and got there about 55 mins after her. Powder was fine, up and asking for food although I noted he had eaten very little so I grabbed him and testes. 38 :o I . Out came the MC gravy and put it on his LC he smelled it and looked like" You can't do better than that" cat(2)_steam and walked away. I'm like "This is not a joke you have to eat What do you want?" :? Since he obviously wasn't going to eat any of the foods in his bowl I put out the Sophisticats pouch with the gravy. Nope NO GO. ohmygod_smile I had just bought a Whiskas pouch so I opened it up and put two tablespoons out. YUMMM! YUMMM! Down the hatch.Finally Its odd how so much happened in probably less than 5 mins. Felt like an hour until he ate. So when 10 mins past I tested 39 :shock: So I gave him two more tbsp which he ate and wanted more so I mixed some in his LC and he ate it. 15 mins later he was up to 51 and 1/2 hour later 88. Gave him a little more of mixed LC MC and had to go back to work. DD was going to look in on him to see how he was acting. I didn't have time to post only feed test beg etc. get him up give instructions and leave. If mama bean gets fired there won't be any more Whiskas for Powder ;-) BTW he does this whenever he gets a taste of the good stuff grrr.
Got back a little before +9 he was 208 so no intense homecoming this time. So he earned another dosecrease to 0.5. He pulled the picky prince act again tonight so I had to put a little whiskas gravy on his LC. which he ate :roll:
This wasn't the only surprise today DD decided she would give him his insulin when I go away. Which brings up the question for tonight. I've read the posts about leaving kitties with sitters etc. but my question is about the dose. Do I cut it to .25 or go to skinny or less after what he did the last couple of days? DD is afraid to test. I'll have to work on her for the future now that she will shoot I'm so grateful for this. He was going to have to come with me and stay in a crate in my room. My sisters pooches see cats as prey. :sad: I've told DD if he won't eat the LC to give him MC.(what a brat ;-) ) all cans are marked and divided on two different shelves. Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving to all.
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 Holiday question

After holiday question post did +3~ 98 :o This is after he ate 13% with his 4%. Should I feed him more or retest in 30?
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 Holiday question

Wow that was quite a big drop. I would feed a little more and retest in 30. Don't feed too much.....it is early in the cycle and he may drop more. Did you retest by any chance since this is such a big drop to make sure your meter was correct?
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353

Kathy&Powder said:
Powder was fine, up and asking for food although I noted he had eaten very little so I grabbed him and testes. 38 :o

Yup, I'd say that's an appropriate reaction to getting grabbed there :lol:

ANYway.... last year Donovan was still getting insulin, and big Chicken that he is, he hid all day on Thanksgiving because there were Strange Voices in the house :shock:. So he didn't graze like he usually does, and his BG went low. I'd err on the side of caution and shoot less if Powder can't be tested.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 Holiday question

Yikes....I missed the 38 since it was not posted in the subject I was worried about the 98 since it was such a big drop. Now I am more confused.....is the number in your subject line supposed to be 38 or 98?
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 Holiday question

Disregard my previous post I just reread the post with the 38.....I need a good night's sleep. :roll:

The 98 still is a pretty steep drop so it looks like you may have a lot of testing tonight. That is the fastest cleared bounce.
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 Holiday question

Oh my I know. I think someone switched my cat. Or he went to Curry's LT class :lol: Thanks and sleep well.

MJ should I edit or let anyone else who reads it have a good laugh :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 Holiday question

Posting time is delayed tonight but I am getting used to posting and I didn't get tricked. ;-)
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 Holiday question

Kathy, I agree with MJ....last time you shot a low number, you fed MC and reduced the dose by 0.25u. I would suggest that if you need to shoot low and leave, you reduce the dose significantly and feed more MC or HC before you leave. It seems like he doesn't always eat when he gets low, so if I were you I would want to make sure I erred on the side of safety and boosted him more, and not count on the bounce. I'm glad you were able to get home to test him today!

Yes, that's a steep drop tonight...I'd check him again soon, feed MC if he's diving.

When are you going away? I thought that was in December? Or are you going for Thanksgiving?
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+3~98 +4.75~68 Holiday question

I think he's doing his usual "feed me higher carb food". It seems when I have to use it for low BGs I have a struggle getting him back only on the LC after a drop. I think the bounce Sunday had him eating so well he fooled me into thinking he wasn't going to do it this time. Oh well. Like now put down his LC he licked at it then meowed. I gave him a tbsp of 13% mixed in the LC and he's eating it like I don't feed him. :roll: I could have this all wrong but it has been a pattern. He has been trying to get me to feed dry kibble. Which he hasn't had since early August.
I am going away but I had planned to take him with me. Tonight she said she would give him the insulin but said she thought the testing was too hard. It was such short notice that I can't work on her by tomorrow.
I'm thinking after today that skinny 0.25 or less would be best. I shot 0.5 tonight which was a shave off his am dose fat 0.5.
Thanks Laurie. What do you think?
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+2.5~98 +3.75~68 +4.25~60

Just tested @4.15 60 Fed tbsp of MC w/ extra gravy mixed in with LC. He ate almost all of it. I just thought of another reason he's so picky he got lunch meat Sunday and yesterday.
Will retest in 15
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+2.5~98 +3.75~68 +4.25~60

Nice to see him getting pretty numbers in consecutive cycles! That's a nice place to surf, Powder....stop right there, ok?

Yes, I would definitely reduce, skinny 0.25u at the most...less wouldn't hurt. When are you leaving, and how long will you be gone? I would be tempted to consider skipping with the way he has been dropping and not eating reliably.
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+2.5~98 +3.75~68 +4.25~60

I was going to leave around 1:00pm tomorrow and coming back sat. If I'm right about what's going on with him he will always eat lunch meat When I wanted to be sure he would have enough food before I went back to work I gave him two slices of sliced turkey and he ate it up.
I'm not experienced in this but I don't feel comfortable leaving him without any insulin have you ever done that? How does that effect them?
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS35375~68 +4.25~60 4.5 71

I was thinking it might just be for one day or so...skipping one shot is not a big deal. If you are going to be gone that long, I wouldn't skip, but I would reduce. I'm thinking at least to a skinny 0.25u, but maybe you could post the question in your condo in the morning for other opinions?

Be sure you leave a sample syringe for DD with the correct dose (I use milk, it shows up really well).
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS35375~68 +4.25~60 4.5 71

I was going to draw them up and leave in refrig. to avoid any mistakes. Would that be ok? I know we used to do that for sight impaired for a whole weeks worth? Haven't been able to see DS since Powder DX with FD and she can't come see me her Poodle has Addisons and gets too stressed now.
Powder is 82 now and if I haven't already given too much MC what would be good to keep him surfing,more food or gravy or just test in a 1/2 hour? I haven't been too successful getting him to stay in greens.
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS35375~68 +4.25~60 4.5 71

Unfortunately, it's not recommended to prefill syringes with Lantus. I would not do that....the manufacturer says to fill right before shooting.

I would not feed anything right now, see where he is in 30 mins.
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+4.25~60 4.5 71+5~82

Darn I hope this won't stop DD from joining in his care. Hes up to 123 so he should be fine for now. Will check at +8 unless you think I should do sooner,
 
Re: 11/23PowderPMPS353+4.25~60 4.5 71+5.5~123

I forgot to tell you yes I am going away in Dec too. Thanks Laurie you've been great. Thanks for all your help. If I don't hear from you tomorrow have a great Thanksgiving.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top