Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+6.25 83,+7.5 125,+11.5 201

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Newbie needs help interpreting tonight's PMPS

Hi Josie, Welcome to Lantus Land! No dosing advice from me. For faster response for the wise ones, I recommend you edit your original post to apply the question mark (?) icon, and update your subject line to include the key info in the usual LL format 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed. That will help the gurus notice your question sooner.
When you shoot a low number, you must be prepared to test early and often, possibly stay up all night, and use food to raise the numbers if Ripley drops too much. Here is the sticky on shooting low numbers
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

Josie, One additional thing to consider, it looks like you are at or a little past your shot time? Lantus works best shooting every 12 hours so if you stall and shoot late, your next shot will be 12 hrs from the late shot. Consider if you have the flexibility to accomodate that shift.
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

Josie --

You don't have a great deal of data yet to support shooting low. Are you able to stall for a bit and retest (and don't feed Ripley), and see if the numbers are on the way up?

Do you have extra strips and high carb food in the house if it's needed?
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

I fed her before I read the advice to stall :(

I do have strips, and her pre-diagnosis dry kibble.

How often should I test?
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

You don't want to use kibble to steer numbers. It takes too long to be metabolized and raise numbers and it takes forever to work it's way out of the system. Next time you go shopping, pick up some high carb (above 17%) food. In the mean time, if you have corn syrup (Karo), honey, maple syrup, etc., you can add a drop or two to low carb food to bump up numbers.

Did you shoot already? If so, get a +1 and a +2. You may also want to take a look at the sticky note on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

Already shot. And going to run to a nearby store to get some wet food w/gravy; I also do have Karo, honey, etc. Thank you for your advice -- trying not to stress too much.
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

No worries. We will be keeping an eye out for you.

How about putting Ripley's name in your subject line? As you get your test data, please add that to your subject line, as well, that way if we think you need a hand, we'll be able to tell what's going on.
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

Josie

Sienne asked me to pop in and stay with you. I'm on the west coast and can work with you to be sure Ripley stays safe.

Please be sure you get a +1 test and post it. I'm going to look at her SS and read through any condos you have. Just post her +1 in the subject line when you get it, okey doke? :-D
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

Good....we like to see a food spike. Next test is +2 to see where she is in relation to her PMPS. You can fed her a couple of tsp low carb food :-D

If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's probably not going to be an active cycle. If the +2 is similar to the PS, it's likely to be an active (typical) lantus cycle. If the +2 is much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle with an early onset. Below is a "typical" lantus cycle although every cat is different (ECID). As you build data for Ripley, you'll see her specific patterns....which can also change ;-)

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78 +1 87

Thank you for posting that table. This is like learning a new language -- except a little life depends on it.

Ripley is due for her +2 in 1/2 hour...
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

That's all true and that's why we are here to help you so you won't be alone.

We also ask that once your question is answered, if you could please take the "?" off :-D We typically go up and down the list of condos looking for questions and if yours has been answered to your satisfaction, we can help others :-D thank you! See you in 30 mins.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78 +1 87

Do I need to go back to my first post to take off the question mark?
Also, what is a condo?
Thanks for helping me w/the lingo.
 
Re: 11/13 PMPS 78, dosing advice needed

"Condo" is slang for your thread. We open one condo, per cat, per day.

Also, in order to change the subject line so it's visible on the Board, you need to make the change in your first post of the string. It's the only subject line that is visible. So, if you could add Ripley's name and your +1 test, that would be great.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87

I'm thinking it could be. We don't have enough data to know when she nadirs. The +2 is pretty similar to the PMPS. She should onset between now and +3....... So I'd get that test.

Thanks for taking down the ?. Please let us know any questions.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87

No.....do you have a higher LOW carb food...maybe a 10%? How much has she had to eat tonight and what %carb?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61

She ate about 2 oz. of 7% about 3 hrs ago. I don't think I have a 10% food -- just the low wet food and some wet w/gravy.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87

Aaaahh...I left you a message to feed her at +1. How about giving her a nice big helping...couple tsp of the 7% and then retest in 30 mins?

Could you also please update the subject line after you feed her :-D Thank you.

So what I'd like you to do is test her, feed her LC, test in 30. If she's still coming down but is above 50, do it again. That is what we call lather, rinse, repeat.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61

Thank you. I'm on it. And taking deep breaths.
What's the proper/best way of indicating food in subject?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87

Try that and see if it slows her down a bit. When you retest, if she's still coming down at that rate, add some gravy to the LC.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87

hi Josie

no dosing advice but remember to edit the subject line on your initial posting - otherwise it doesn't show the updated numbers in the main listing.

Take a deep breath or 2, as well!! You're doing great with the testing!
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61, food +3.5 49

Hey, Josie -

I'm hanging out with Hershey; he likes jammy parties :-D , so thought I'd stop in and introduce myself. I'm on the east coast, but will be glad to hang out with you a while.

Libby
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61, food +3.5 49

Ok...how about a tsp of LC with a tsp of your gravy and test at +4. She's safe...this is not a low number.

Tomorrow, I'd like you to reduce her dose by .25u to 1.25u, ok? Can you please confirm this for me? Thanks. :-D
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61, food +3.5 49

Josie -

We've been here about 10 months and KNOW it can be pretty overwhelming - learning the lingo and how the record keeping works. One thing that is helpful is each time you test to edit your first note to include the new data. You can look at Hershey's 11/13 to see what I mean. It's helpful to anyone checking in on you and helpful for you to go back and review or fill in parts of the SS that you couldn't keep up with because it's all happening so fast.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61, food +3.5 49

Just to catch me up - how long until the +4 test

jammy parties are fun...well, Hershey thinks so anyway ;-)

Between tests you can browse other people's condos or SS or you can tell me a little about yourself :smile:
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61, food +3.5 49

You're welcome :-D

On the food...you don't need to put it in your subject line. You might need the space for numbers. Just put it on your SS.

Josie, unfortunately, the one day a week I work is tomorrow and so I need to get to bed. Libby is going to stay with you because she's up with Hershey and she's great at handling low numbers.

Just reread the "Handling Low Numbers" linked in my signature. You want to give a little gravy with the LC to get her up above 50. I'm having you give her LC to help the HC not wear off so fast. HC can wear off and numbers come back down later in the cycle.

If she doesn't come up out of the 40s quickly, just give her HC gravy because we don't want her to get full. Once you get her above 50, then she can have the LC food. Libby will know what to do.

The main thing is breathe and remember you are in control because you are testing and feeding, ok? Have yourself a big piece of chocolate while you are waiting for the next test.

Ill check in tomorrow...you are doing super! Thanks, Libby! :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61, food +3.5 49

You're welcome.

Yes, I remember reading that you should treat yourself to ice cream when your cat goes low. After several jammy parties, Jessica remarked that I had never gotten my ice cream. :smile: But, it seemed like there was always too much to do - test or read or post on somebody's condo :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49

So, when was Ripley diagnosed?
What food do you use?
Do you know when her nadir is? (ballpark?)

ETA: Read her profile and saw she was diagnosed 8 days ago
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49

Good job. I try to measure the amount of higher carb foods when I give them. I found I was over-feeding

*Sorry for the delay. Hershey just got sick
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

You're doing great. How are you feeling? Nervous? Tired? What time is it for you?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

The low carb food I'm currently using is Walmart's Special Kitty Super Supper.

And not sure about nadir yet... husband thinks it may be +7 or 8, but haven't done a thorough enough curve yet. Planning on doing so Sat. (next day off wk).
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

Feeling a little nervous; not tired, thanks to adrenaline spikes. It's almost 11pm -- I'm normally in bed at 8:30 (due to early wk schedule).
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

Oh, bless your heart, I'm sure you are getting tired. It's almost 2am here. I've always been a night owl, less as I mature. ;-)

I hear ya' on the adrenaline.

I still have no idea about Hershey's nadir. Thought it was about +7.25 and BAM! it was +3.5 :lol: I think our kitties just want to keep a little mystery in the relationship ;-)
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

Your subject line will only hold a certain amount of characters, so next time you test, you'll want to take out some of the earlier ones you posted.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

I'm quickly finding that I don't like mystery :?

Aren't you tired?

Is Hershey ok? Sorry -- I'm a little slow on gathering info tonight.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

I'm a little tired, but I'm watching Hershey hang between the 30's and 40's, so trying not to think about it. I haven't worked a public job is ~18 years, so I'll catch a nap at some point tomorrow if I need one.

I've had people stay up with me during jammy parties and I think the forum is about paying it forward, you know? Besides - it's a good opportunity to get to know people more one on one :-D
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

I've already warned my co-teacher (I teach preschool/kindergarten, starting at 7am) about tonight; and that tomorrow I'll likely be extra caffeinated.

I'm closing in on the +4.5 mark: feed LC & gravy/test?
These 1/2 hr increments are flying by -- I haven't had time to eat ice cream.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top