Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+6.25 83,+7.5 125,+11.5 201

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

Hi I am newer (3 weeks on monday) but I have had some up all nights and low numbers myself. If you have newbie questions - these are the best people!

I am up for a few hours if you need somone to talk to.
We are stalling a little right now
Misty & Bast
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

Josie & Ripley said:
These 1/2 hr increments are flying by -- I haven't had time to eat ice cream.

That's what I was saying :-D

Test at +4.5 to see where she is. If above (50) I'd just go with the tsp LC. If below (50) I'd go with tsp LC and gravy.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

My youngest is working on her degree in early childhood birth - 5 years. My oldest is a middle band director. Let's just say that teaching middle schoolers would NOT be my first choice.

Yes, tomorrow will likely be a tough day for you. Do you have children?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

Hey, Misty - Welcome to the jammy party. Did you bring the ice cream?? :-D
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44

Hovering in the 40s.

She's begging loudly for food. Or maybe just gravy. I think I've created a monster.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46

My So ate all my ice cream but i have chocolate and peeps- want a smore?

Josie- when i had to test all night on 11-1-12 i gave up and put the laptop on the toliet sat on a towel and watched the cat eat. then test and feed and test....
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44

Josie & Ripley said:
Hovering in the 40s.

She's begging loudly for food. Or maybe just gravy. I think I've created a monster.
wait till you get some freeze dried chicken- we call it kitty crack.... :lol:
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

Josie & Ripley said:
I think I've created a monster.

Absolutely! Once they realize they can get the 'good stuff' they try to do whatever it takes!

When Hershey is in the 30's, I give him the 19%. When he's in the 40's, Oreo's 7% usually brings him up. But, that's not true for a lot of cats. They need the HC in the 40's, too.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

Hi, Misty. Welcome to the party. All this talk about sweets is torture. When I said goodnight to my husband, I joked that I would bake choc chip cookies in btwn testing. Not a bad idea, eh?

I don't have any children. Just some random pets.

How often are they in the 30s/40s?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

Oh Misty, Ripley's been getting that freeze-dried chicken since test #1. She loves it. She loves food in general. But this gravy stuff is bringing out a new side.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

All of these jammy parties remind me of late nights when my kids were little. That's why I asked. I remember m-a-n-y days going to work dragging around in a fog. :lol: Funny now - but, not so funny then. ;-)

I think I have sweeted out tonight. My daughter baked chocolate chocolate chip cookies earlier. There are some left, but I'm trying to be good. I did vacuum the living room, though. Surprised my husband didn't wake up and come see what the crazy woman was thinking at 2am! :lol: :lol:

Misty - Where are you located? What time is it for you?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

Hindsight teaches us a lot...well, it teaches me a lot, anyway. I believe Sienne mentioned earlier in your condo about having a limited amount of data since you're so new to the FD dance. For that reason, you need to really think about, and perhaps discuss with some of the more experienced users, at what point you'd want to stall (without feeding) instead of shooting low numbers.

It may be that your shot time isn't flexible for whatever reason, but if possible, you need to stall until you know more about how she'll react given certain numbers.

I know Ripley has earned a reduction, so that should help, too. :smile:
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

I am in Ca. so it's almost midnight but i am usually up for at least another hour. I have a wierd scedule. Right now I am tring to decide whether to give bast a shot or skip. ohmygod_smile

I am good at staying up the night! LOL
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

Misty - I missed your note about s'mores! YUM!! We LOVE s'mores...okay, my youngest and I LOVE s'mores!

Yeah, I used to be better at staying up at night. I remember lots of nights my dad would come into my room at 2 - 3am asking what in the world I was doing. I forgot they were in bed and would be moving furniture or hammering nails or whatever. :lol: He was not amused. ;-)

Josie - I think we're close to +5. Hoping she's coming up a little!
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

I'm unfamiliar with the stall tactic -- would that mean delaying subsequent shots (to keep the 12-hr spacing)?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46, +4.5 44

Yes. Let's say you usually shoot at 8/8, but she's too low to comfortably shoot at 8am. You'd wait :15 - :20 minutes (without feeding) and test, again. If she's at a point you feel comfortable, then shoot. If not, wait another :15 - :20 min (without feeding), etc. Your new shot schedule would be 12 hours from when you shot.

You can get back to your ideal shot schedule by moving each shot time :15. So, let's say you ended up shooting at 9am. PM shot could be 8:45. The following AM shot 8:30, the next PM shot 8:15 and the next AM shot 8:00. Back on schedule.

If she was too low after stalling or if she was too low and you couldn't wait around to stall, you could make the call to skip that shot. You could expect higher numbers in the near future (because her depot was depleted) but it would keep her in safe numbers and allow you to stay on schedule.

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

I think it makes sense -- I'm not sure how I'd be able to pull it off w/my weekday schedule (6/6 works best for me, but if not for Ripley then what -- skip? Would that be a major step back?).

Sorry -- just re-read what you wrote. Makes more sense now. Getting sleepy I guess.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

Josie & Ripley said:
60!! Her poor ears.

Ugh - it just lost my whole long post - I'll try to reconstruct it.

(60) is good. Did you feed her? Your goal is to get two rising tests that you didn't feed.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

Her ears - I've had the same thought. But, the more you poke the easier she'll bleed which means less unproductive pokes. Also, don't squeeze around the area as it causes bruising. And, there is an antibiotic ointment (I think Neosporin makes it.) that has a pain reliever in it. Some people use it after poking, some before, in place of vaseline. I used it after.

I've had to skip a shot (or two..) In the moment, it does seem like a set-back. But, tonight, Hershey is hanging in the 40's on .3u, so I don't think it's done any long-term damage.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

I fed her a tsp of LC + tsp gravy @ +4.5; and tsp of LC @ +5.

So, depending on next # (in a few mins), I may not have to feed her? With 2 rising tests w/o food, how often should I test for the rest of the night?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

I just did a stall on bast. he was lower than i am comfortable with at 15 min to shoot. He like to drop in the first few hours (but we are tring flank shots with less drop) so i was waiting and he came up at +12.5 so i shot then. It is ok for tomarrow because I have the day off and I can sleep an extra half hour! LOL
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

Ears: there actually isn't any visible damage (yet); I just feel bad about the multiple pokes. It'll be much nicer when her ears are trained to bleed. I do have that Neosporin on hand, just in case.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

...Speaking of smores... Got married a few months ago and someone gave us a Smores maker that can be used indoors (w/Sterno fuel). Haven't used it yet... maybe I'll save it for the next pj party.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

I used the Neosporin even though there wasn't visible damage. Seemed to make him feel better...I know it made me feel better. ;-)

Right, depending on what her numbers are, you may not need to feed her. Let's say she's at 60+ again, then you could hold up on the food until the next testing. If she's dropping, then feed. If not, hold the food, again, until the next test.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

Well, congratulations!! We had one of those, but decided we liked them better in the microwave. Jessica has been using mini marshmallows (because that's what we had) and found them to be a challenge as they want to roll off of the graham cracker. I told her I want to see her use mini marshmallows AND chocolate chips instead of candy bars! :lol:

Once I feel like Hershey is hold his own (or rising) I lengthen the time between tests before stopping until the next shot time. Let's see where she is now...You've probably posted while I've been sitting here drool over s'mores! :lol:
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3 61,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60

I'm overly cautious since Ripley isn't mine. I'd say :30 for the next test. If you're uber sleepy, you can set your alarm and grab a quick nap until then.

She's looking good and you're doing great! :-D
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61

30 mins it is. (I like overly cautious.)

I'm awake for now -- but if the tests end up becoming further apart, I may catch some zzzzzs.

If at +6 she's hovering in the 60s, do I still need to test throughout the night?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61

The next test will be in ~:15? and will be +6? Is that right?

If so, and she's still (60)+ - you can either test one more time at :30 (+6.5) since that would give you two unfed numbers that'll hopefully be rising - or - you could wait :45 (+6.75) and hopefully see that second unfed rising number. After that second unfed rising number - I'd do a one hour test just to make sure - before thinking of calling it a night. I don't know if you've had a chance to look at Hershey's SS, but he dropped at +10.5 tonight. Again, I like overly cautious. :smile:
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61

Aw poor Hershey. This can be quite a rollercoaster, right?

I'll test Ripley at +6.75 (in about 20 mins), and with luck, again an hr after that. How significant should a rise in #s be in order to be considered a rise?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61

I'd say as long as she's holding in safe numbers, it's okay without an actual rise. So, if she's hanging (without help from food) in the 60's+ - I'd let her go an hour

So - quick recap:

+5.5 (61) - You didn't feed (That was ~:30) ago
Your next test will be :45 from then, so
+6.25
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61

Yes -- thanks for keeping my times straight for me. It's a little confusing even when it isn't late ;-)

And I really appreciate all of the help/advice/encouragement you've given me tonight. I'm so glad I found this board & website. Looking back, my vet didn't give me much to go on (skeptical about being able to home test).
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61

I know what you mean about keeping it straight even when it isn't late. :smile:

You probably haven't seen my initial post on here, but my vet was less than helpful or supportive or...anyhoo - I did my own research, which included a LOT of time reading here and asking TONS of questions! My vet didn't see a need to hometest, wanted to start Hershey on 1 - 2 units and Purina DM dry food. Needless to say, I'm SOOOO thankful I found this place!
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61, +6.25 83

83!! **sigh**

When my vet called w/the test results (I was thinking kidney failure) he said 'Bad news: it's diabetes. You should consider putting her down.' Geesh. Way to give up.

I'm off to nap/snuggle with Ripley for about an hour... Do u want an update then? I hope Hershey's #s increase for you.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+3.5 49,+4 46,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61

Have a good nap. Yes, please, post your updated number. (83) is great for where we are in the cycle. It means you'll actually get some sleep tonight! :-D

Wow - great response from your vet. I'm sorry that's how your journey began, but glad you didn't just accept his recommendation!

You've run out of characters in your subject line. Time to delete more. :-D

See you at +7.25
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61,+6.25 83

Oh - just to give you a heads up - Ripley bounce from the extra carbs tonight. That's just what cats do most of the time. It's just their livers panicking and dumping extra glucose because they think the kitty is in danger. Just didn't want you to worry if/when it happens. (I hope I explained that right...getting foggy at 4am ;-) )
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78, +1 87, +2 80, +3 61, food +3.5 49

Marje and Gracie said:
Tomorrow, I'd like you to reduce her dose by .25u to 1.25u, ok? Can you please confirm this for me? Thanks. :-D

I have a question. Looking at your SS - am I understanding that you shot 1.25 into that (78) at PMPS? If so, I believe Marje is asking you to reduce by .25u, which would be 1unit.
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61,+6.25 83

Have you tested, yet?

+5.5 (61) Didn't feed
+6.25 (83) Didn't feed
+7.25 ??
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+5.5 61,+6.25 83

I hope everything is okay. Maybe you slept through your alarm? Not that I've ever done that... ;-) I was thinking +7.25 was :15 ago. Will get ready for bed and check back to see if you're here -
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+6.25 83, +7.5 125

Didn't over sleep -- but this last test was a big struggle for Ripley.

So at +7.5, 125!
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+6.25 83, +7.5 125

So, how do you feel about her numbers? Do you feel comfortable going back to sleep and calling it a night until shot time?

And, you're quite welcome :smile:
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+6.25 83, +7.5 125

I feel much better about her numbers now. I'm waking in about 3 hrs anyway, so I guess I'll test again then. Oh, you mentioned she'll bounce -- do u mean her numbers may spike due to the gravy?
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+6.25 83, +7.5 125

i will be here awhile if you need a talk buddy (bast just dropped to 46- sigh)
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+6.25 83, +7.5 125

Yes, Josie. That's what I mean. I just didn't want you to be caught off guard.

Try to get some sleep. Again - great job!!
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+6.25 83, +7.5 125

Great job last night ladies! Thanks Libby and Misty for helping Josie and Ripley.

Josie...I hope you see this before you shoot. I was bleary eyed last night and thought you shot 1.5u and so I told you to reduce to 1.25u. BUT...you actually shot 1.25u last night.

Even though she went below 50 which is when we reduce, I want you to shoot 1.25u again this morning. Why? Because we don't take back to back reductions unless there is some really extenuating issue. The numbers you got last night were from the depot of the 1.5u. So please shoot 1.25u this morning.

Also...I know it's crazy when numbers are low and a little difficult to catch every post. But I got the sense when reading back through the condo this morning that you were feeding her first then testing. We want to test and then feed. The process is always going to be test, feed. If you are dealing with low numbers like last night, it's test, feed, wait 30 mins and then test, feed, etc.

Also, when you are waiting between the tests, it's good to scroll back in the condo to YOUR last post and read forward. Sometimes we cross post and miss important info.

I hope you aren't too exhausted. Have a great day. You did super!
 
Re: 11/13 Ripley PMPS 78,+4.5 44,+5 60,+6.25 83, +7.5 125

Good Morning!! You had a busy night last night and lots of great support.

I want to clarify a couple of points. It looks like you shot a reduced dose last night -- not the 1.5u you had been shooting. You want to shoot 1.25u this morning. With Lantus, it can take a cycle or two (or three) for dose changes to take effect. This is because there is carryover from the insulin depot. In other words, even though you shot a reduced dose last night, the depot was still at 1.5u and influenced the PM cycle based on that dose.

Also, HC food doesn't cause a bounce. HC food helps to raise BG levels quickly and then wears off. Bounces are a very normal, protective response that occurs when BG numbers drop lower that what your kitty is used to or if numbers drop fast. The pancreas releases a hormone (i.e., glucagon) and the liver releases counterregulatory hormones that cause BG levels to rise. It can take up to 72 hours for these hormones to clear out of the system. The more time a cat spends in normal numbers, the less bouncy they become and the quicker the bounces clear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top