RAYMOND JAMES AMPS 429, +3, 448

Lee cuzz

Member Since 2020
Switching to lantus, 5 units. On prozinc for 21 weeks, no improvement. Give lantus 7 to 10 days, then I raise to 0.25? Also, U100 needles are very short. He is long haired. Hoping this works, as he has been sky high for months. Also, going to change to friskies pate no more fancy feast.
 
Hello and welcome. Could you do me a favour and put a blank line after the last day of Prozinc (yesterday) and before today. On that blank like write "start Lantus" or something like that. It just makes it easier for us to see when it started. Since Lantus is a depot insulin, length of time at a particular dose is important.

We have two dosing methods on this forum in our Dosing Methods Sticky Note. The length of time you hold a dose will depend on which dosing method you'd like to follow. Though as long as you have dry food on the menu, that means using Start Low Go Slow. Any chance of removing the dry food? With those high numbers, you don't want to hold doses long. And with a dose of 5 units, increases would be by 0.5 units at a time. And we would have had you start at 6 units, as when you switch we take the dose of the existing insulin into consideration.

Can you tell me a bit about Raymond James? Are you testing regularly for ketones? How is his appetite? Any other medical issues? The link to your previous post here has some details. When you finish that Lantus vial, I'd definitely thinking about switching to Levemir. You might also want to ask the vet to have him tested for acromegaly (IGF-1 test) and IAA. When kitties get to 6 units with no sign of breakthrough, we suggest getting those tests. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, so it's fairly common.
 
Hello and welcome. Could you do me a favour and put a blank line after the last day of Prozinc (yesterday) and before today. On that blank like write "start Lantus" or something like that. It just makes it easier for us to see when it started. Since Lantus is a depot insulin, length of time at a particular dose is important.

We have two dosing methods on this forum in our Dosing Methods Sticky Note. The length of time you hold a dose will depend on which dosing method you'd like to follow. Though as long as you have dry food on the menu, that means using Start Low Go Slow. Any chance of removing the dry food? With those high numbers, you don't want to hold doses long. And with a dose of 5 units, increases would be by 0.5 units at a time. And we would have had you start at 6 units, as when you switch we take the dose of the existing insulin into consideration.

Can you tell me a bit about Raymond James? Are you testing regularly for ketones? How is his appetite? Any other medical issues? The link to your previous post here has some details. When you finish that Lantus vial, I'd definitely thinking about switching to Levemir. You might also want to ask the vet to have him tested for acromegaly (IGF-1 test) and IAA. When kitties get to 6 units with no sign of breakthrough, we suggest getting those tests. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, so it's fairly common.
Thanks for the info. Don't understand where you want me to put a blank line. In the profile? Ketones, negative. Get's very little dry food. Surprised he's still eating and jumping with such high BG for so long. I understand about running more test, unfortunately, the cat fund is depleted. So we're riding the wave as long as we can. Thank you. +6, 476.
 
Thanks for the info. Don't understand where you want me to put a blank line. In the profile? Ketones, negative. Get's very little dry food. Surprised he's still eating and jumping with such high BG for so long. I understand about running more test, unfortunately, the cat fund is depleted. So we're riding the wave as long as we can. Thank you. +6, 476.
Hi on your spreadsheet above today's date 4-21 put started Lantus
I see you put it in the remarks column , I don't think the members will see it there
 
Also, U100 needles are very short.

You might try using the "wrist roll" method instead of the "tent" when shooting. You grab some fur between your thumb and forefinger and then "roll" your wrist to gently pull until you see a "break" in the fur. Shoot into that break at about a 45 degree angle. It's kind of hard to describe but here's a picture that should help
upload_2021-4-21_17-19-32.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-4-21_17-19-32.png
    upload_2021-4-21_17-19-32.png
    337.2 KB · Views: 440
Hello and welcome. Could you do me a favour and put a blank line after the last day of Prozinc (yesterday) and before today. On that blank like write "start Lantus" or something like that. It just makes it easier for us to see when it started. Since Lantus is a depot insulin, length of time at a particular dose is important.

We have two dosing methods on this forum in our Dosing Methods Sticky Note. The length of time you hold a dose will depend on which dosing method you'd like to follow. Though as long as you have dry food on the menu, that means using Start Low Go Slow. Any chance of removing the dry food? With those high numbers, you don't want to hold doses long. And with a dose of 5 units, increases would be by 0.5 units at a time. And we would have had you start at 6 units, as when you switch we take the dose of the existing insulin into consideration.

Can you tell me a bit about Raymond James? Are you testing regularly for ketones? How is his appetite? Any other medical issues? The link to your previous post here has some details. When you finish that Lantus vial, I'd definitely thinking about switching to Levemir. You might also want to ask the vet to have him tested for acromegaly (IGF-1 test) and IAA. When kitties get to 6 units with no sign of breakthrough, we suggest getting those tests. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, so it's fairly common.
Sometimes it is confusing with the spreadsheet to know how to put a blank line to add additional information. I still don't know how to do it.
 
You might try using the "wrist roll" method instead of the "tent" when shooting. You grab some fur between your thumb and forefinger and then "roll" your wrist to gently pull until you see a "break" in the fur. Shoot into that break at about a 45 degree angle. It's kind of hard to describe but here's a picture that should help
View attachment 60645
I will try that, thanks. Should I increase dose tonight as I decreased him a whole unit today starting lantus?
 
Should I increase dose tonight as I decreased him a whole unit today starting lantus?

It takes 5-7 days for the Lantus depot to fill so you're not going to see the full effect for several more days. I'd just stick with the 5U for now.

Sometimes it is confusing with the spreadsheet to know how to put a blank line to add additional information. I still don't know how to do it.

Click on a line number, like here:
upload_2021-4-21_19-30-54.png


Right click and choose "Insert 1 above"
upload_2021-4-21_19-32-29.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-4-21_19-30-54.png
    upload_2021-4-21_19-30-54.png
    42.6 KB · Views: 425
  • upload_2021-4-21_19-32-29.png
    upload_2021-4-21_19-32-29.png
    222.6 KB · Views: 422
Back
Top