? Raymond James 2/8 AMPS, 97

If you have plenty of supplies and can test as often and as long as may be necessary tonight, you should shoot the scheduled dose.

You can also stall another 20-30 minutes without feeding to make sure his numbers are still going up if you're really concerned.

Remember, you're shooting the number he'll be in 4-5 hours, not the number you see now.
 
Last edited:
With Levemir you may often find that the preshot is the lowest in the cycle, so if you are able to continue to monitor, and have enough supplies, you can shoot. While you are shooting a lower number, it also helps to remember that onset is likely 4-5 hours from now, which means with food and time the last dose duration has waned. If I understand the numbers you've posted, he's flatten out now?
 
If you have plenty of supplies and can test as often and as long as may be necessary tonight, you should shoot the scheduled dose.

You can also stall another 20-30 minutes without feeding to make sure his numbers are still going up.
I'll shoot 20. Then he'll be high tomorrow. He's waiting to eat.
 
With Levemir you may often find that the preshot is the lowest in the cycle, so if you are able to continue to monitor, and have enough supplies, you can shoot. While you are shooting a lower number, it also helps to remember that onset is likely 4-5 hours from now, which means with food and time the last dose duration has waned. If I understand the numbers you've posted, he's flatten out now?
Thanks... I'm glad he's lower but know I need to get more knowledge...
Flatten out means?? I decrease???
 
Last edited:
I'll shoot 20. Then he'll be high tomorrow.

He may be high tomorrow no matter what you shoot. His body hasn't been in those good numbers for quite some time so he'll probably bounce just by dropping into a high green. Our cats are so good at hiding that they're sick until they're really sick and by then, they've probably been diabetic for a long time and their body has gotten used to living in those high numbers. When we come along and force them down, the liver says "Wait a minute! That's not normal! I don't like being down here!"...and releasing stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up. They "bounce" high and there's not a darn thing we can do about it.

It can take up to 6 cycles for those hormones to work their way out of the body but as he spends more time in good numbers, the bounces shouldn't go as high and should clear faster.
 
All good, you need to feel comfortable, and this technically is your lowest preshot that I've seen ;) . You'll get another chance to shoot greens. I'd still get a test or two tonight, even with the reduced dose. All data is good data.
Thanks. I will test twice more tonight. I tend to panic because I don't know. This is my first rodeo..
Thanks for the help.
 
He may be high tomorrow no matter what you shoot. His body hasn't been in those good numbers for quite some time so he'll probably bounce just by dropping into a high green. Our cats are so good at hiding that they're sick until they're really sick and by then, they've probably been diabetic for a long time and their body has gotten used to living in those high numbers. When we come along and force them down, the liver says "Wait a minute! That's not normal! I don't like being down here!"...and releasing stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up. They "bounce" high and there's not a darn thing we can do about it.

It can take up to 6 cycles for those hormones to work their way out of the body but as he spends more time in good numbers, the bounces shouldn't go as high and should clear faster.
That's what I thought, his body is use to being high. Hopefully I will know what to do next time...
So when he tests low, I look back at 5 cycles of BG??
 
Time to bring out the Pom Poms @Chris & China (GA)

Ah yes!! First green Pre-shot earns @Lee cuzz the coveted "BOS" award!!
upload_2022-2-8_20-12-31.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-2-8_20-12-31.jpeg
    upload_2022-2-8_20-12-31.jpeg
    24.3 KB · Views: 333
Thanks... I'm glad he's lower but know I need to get more knowledge...
Flatten out means?? I decrease???
sorry, missed your edit, what I meant was that the difference between 105 and 97 is technically insignificant (flat) given allowable meter variance. So, when you see "flat" numbers, between tests, depending on when it happens, it usually is a good indication that the kitty is finished dropping, and will inevitably be coming back up.
 
Back
Top