Raise dose for Logan to 1.5??

Logan & Sandy

Member Since 2020
@Deb & Wink @Chris & China (GA) Logan seems to act fine.. but his numbers seem to be like in the 300s and sometimes even higher. Not sure if he is still bouncing tho, I was wondering IF he should go to 1.5 units of prozinc? Or if I should just wait longer and see what his tests show....thoughts?? thanks..
21
 
Last edited:
No, he sure doesn't need a dose increase.

p.s. Picture link did not work. Still an issue with that. Board admin is working on it.
@Deb & Wink i was so surprised to see that low amt at +8. makes me wonder about tonites dose.. he has been relatively high tho,. then boom a low dose.. we went snowshoeing today so i wasn't able to test mid cycle.. i bet he was even lower.. i guess another bounce.. i just don't get this disease.
 
then ofcourse at +10 he went to 185 then at pmps he was 247! crazy numbers today.. I thought he was done bouncing and I thought he needed a dose raise.. boy was I wrong,
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ I read in the STICKY it said "If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit". On feb 1st (today) +5 Logans bg was 63.. first it was 64..so i retested right away in case of a faulty strip,.,and it went down 1 pt, but generally hes been higher,, not sure if i should lower his dose tonite to 1 unit, verses his 1,25 units.. or just wait and see??
 
Yes, a 63 at +5 is low.
Please get another test if you are around.
Did you feed Logan when you got that low? If not, try a teaspoon of his regular food.

I'd recommend lowering the dose. For this evening, decrease to 1U please.
You should also keep a close eye on Logan.

That 63 could drop even lower. It's why you should test more ASAP.

64 and 63 are basically the same number. Remember the meter variance of 10-15% when you look at the BG numbers.

p.s. Dealing with a big snow and wind storm here on the east coast. Just in case you don't get a response here, you should try posting on Feline Health.
 
@Deb & Wink thx for your response Deb! I thought he'd be a lot lower too.. but later but when I tested him at +7 (245pm)he was bg243,. I did give logan like 3 tablespoons at the +5 time.. so.. still go with 1 unit tonite..?? even tho his other numbers are like in the 300s-200s... goodluck with the snow,,, u being close to the ocean i really didn't think you guys got that much snow,,,>? do you guys lose power too like we do>?? goodluck.!
 
Yes, I'd still recommend going with the 1U of insulin. Logan earned a reduction.
So that 1U should be his new dose for a while.
You have to give the bounce time to clear.
Looks like Logan could be very food/carb sensitive.
Next time, start with only 1 teaspoon of food, his regular low carb food.
You don't want him to fill up if you need to steer the BG numbers with more food.

It still gets pretty cold here in Massachusetts in winter, even along the seacoast. It was 2 degrees yesterday morning, and only warmed up to the middle 20's.
Yes, we can lose power too. Hoping that doesn't happen, but winds are supposed to increase to above 25-30 mph sustained winds, with wind gusts in the 50+ mph range.
 
thankyou,, ok one unit tonite... i just don't want him to bounce too much... 2 degrees is pretty cold.. we had pretty good winds the other day,, and some snow,, but its all gone now,, our weather here seems more mild than yours.. so if i did NOT reduce Logans dose,, then he can possibly go into a hypo overnite right>>? i will reduce dose.. this diabetes is so unpredictable... raise the dose.. lower the dose,, then raise it,,,.. i guess it is what it is,, and thats why we test,,,
 
so if i did NOT reduce Logans dose,, then he can possibly go into a hypo overnite right>>?
Yes, that would be possible.

his diabetes is so unpredictable... raise the dose.. lower the dose,, then raise it,,,..
You're doing the "sugardance". Or the "hokey pokey" if you prefer!

"Put you left foot in, take you left foot out, put your left foot in and shake it all about.............."

The dose will sometimes need to change based on how low Logan goes. Lowering the dose can keep him safer right now.
As we say here often, this is a marathon, not a sprint. You change and keep monitoring his BG levels, and adjust as needed, per our dosing protocols.

You learn how low a dose takes YOUR cat. ECID. Then you make your decisions based on that.
 
@Deb & Wink thx.. yes the sugar dance.. Logan was at 414 for his pmps.. I gave him 1.10 (1f).. don’t know why he went so high.. what is ECID? I plan to try and get Logan’s nadir tonite hopefully.. how much snow do I have now?
 
@Deb & Wink last nite at +6 he was 305,+7 219. then this am at 655AM (for amps bg150, so I stalled, then he went to 167 at 719AM. fed him then got his shot of 1F (black line over the line) at 736AM (AMPS).. he was VERY hungry this AM..).. You were right about lowering his dose to try and prevent a hypo Deb!! thx.. how'd the wind go and snow happen last night?? i'd love to see pictures.
 
Last edited:
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ Hello!,.. me again! ok todays amps 150 then stalled and he went to 167..then at+3 he went to 119, fed him 2.5 tblspoons of wet. at +5 he went to 67bg, gave him 1 tblespoon of wet, currently he's at 1F of prozinc, should i give him 1 unit.. flat on the line verses 1F (blackline thickness over line) tonite for amps?? thxxxxxx!
 
I think you want to reduce the dose again. After those lows today, I think you should try a 0.75U dose or a 1S (S for skinny dose, so just below the 1U line). He may not hold the reduction, but you need to give him a chance to recover from the bounce first, before you decide the dose reduction failed, before you decide to increase again.

ECID - Every Cat Is Different

p.s. Sandy, please remove you email address from your post, back at reply #14. There can be "trolls" here, bad people, so we don't like to have you post personal info like that.

I can ship you 2+ acres of snow, roughly 7" deep, of a very heavy soggy consistency. A bit too wet for making snow sculptures.

The only pictures I took today, were of all the Mourning Doves on my back deck eating the seed I put out there. I shoveled the deck first, but you can still see the snow farther out.
20210202 MODOs on deck 2.JPG 20210202 MODOs on deck 1.JPG

Haven't seen Janet on today. She's on the east coast too, so she may be busy from her own after effects from the storm.
 

Attachments

  • 20210202 MODOs on deck 2.JPG
    20210202 MODOs on deck 2.JPG
    132.1 KB · Views: 202
  • 20210202 MODOs on deck 1.JPG
    20210202 MODOs on deck 1.JPG
    119 KB · Views: 190
@Deb & Wink Hi ME AGAIN!!! tested mr logan at +7 his bg66 gave him a tablespoon of normal wetfood.. tested him again at +9 and his bg was only 99 gave him a teaspoon of his normal wet food, am beginning to wonder if in 2 hours for his pmps if i would need to maintain 1unit or give less due to his nadir of 66 today +7. PS I hope the storm over there didn't hurt anything or bury you guys in the snow??
 
@Deb & Wink email removed.. thx for letting me know.. i didn't think about that.. ok. SO THIS TIME.. SHOULD I JUST GO WITH A SKINNY 1.0 (JUST A BLACK LINE BELOW 1UNIT) OR GO WITH THE .75? HE'S AT BG99 RIGHT NOW +9 (419PM).. THANKS A LOT... and good luck in the snow!! do u snowshoe or cross country ski?? nows your chance!! I dont know if you could ship 2 acres of snow here??.. lol
 
Last edited:
The skinny 1 (1S) and the 0.75U are probably going to look about the same in the syringe.
Hard to really say which dose, since you haven't done the PMPS test yet.
But my recommendation would be for the smaller of the 2 doses, the 0.75U dose.

So questions to ask yourself before you decide on the dose for the PM.
1. Do you have plenty of test strips?
2. Can you stay up or set an alarm to get more tests if Logan is running low?
3. Well stocked hypo toolkit? LC, MC & HC foods?

Nice surfing in the greens for Logan today. But any BG < 90 mg/dL means an earned dose reduction. A reduction of 0.25U from the current dose.
So please take that reduction.

I used to cross country ski, until the knee arthritis put a kibosh on that activity. It's too icy to snowshoe right now.
 
@Deb & Wink THANKYOU THANKYOU T H A N K Y O U ! plenty of test strips yes. I can set alarm if need be. stocked up on lc,mc and hc.. ok i will do the .75 unit,, just below the black line,, and u are right (again) that the insulin looks about the same,, eg ,75 & just below the black line,, am trying to make it as consistent as possible.. yeah knee issues can be a problem.. i find i am needing to take more glucosamine...esp. when biking or skiing... or snowshoing, take care. will update this with the PMPS in about 110 mins from this post. (645pm ca time).. at least you can still snowshoe,,
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ thanks... how do i tell if its not enough>>? thru his nadir?? i am gonna try and get in a test tonite around midnite..and again around noon tomarrow if not earlier. i have a dentist apt. early at 730AM.. so i can get an amps test.. and have someone else that I trust give him his shot. she's been giving him his shots in the evening.. but doesn't test,
 
Last edited:
@@Deb & Wink @@JanetNJ thanks... how do i tell if its not enough>>? thru his nadir?? i am gonna try and get in a test tonite around midnite..and again around noon tomarrow if not earlier. i have a dentist apt. early at 730AM.. so i can get an amps test.. and have someone else that I trust give him his shot. she's been giving him his shots in the evening.. but doesn't test,
Yes by testing. Give this dose several days and let's see what happens.
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ. so far DOSE REDUCTION. feb2:pMPS .75. at (711pm)logan ate 1 3/4 cans ff. WOW at(108AM)+6 bg354:(. at (208AM)+7 bg371. and this AM feb3: amps (645am)341. at (1001am)+3 bg401. So should i just keep Logan at this amount 2 more cycles, tonite and tomarrow AM or Longer and just see if he stays high?? is this a bounce from yesterdays low numbers?? Why does a cat bounce after a day of good numbers?? this disease is so fickle and hard to control.
 
Last edited:
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ. so far DOSE REDUCTION. feb2:pMPS .75. at (711pm)logan ate 1 3/4 cans ff. WOW at(108AM)+6 bg354:(. at (208AM)+7 bg371. and this AM feb3: amps (645am)341. at (1001am)+3 bg401. So should i just keep Logan at this amount 2 more cycles, tonite and tomarrow AM or Longer and just see if he stays high?? is this a bounce from yesterdays low numbers?? Why does a cat bounce after a day of good numbers?? this disease is so fickle and hard to control.
Be patient. :)
 
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Although I like Janet's explanation better.;)
To drive us crazy.

Yes, please hold that dose reduction until Logan has cleared the bounce.
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ thank you guys,,, good explanation Deb..helps me to understand this a bit better. thankyou.. so when a bounce "clears" what do the numbers do?? do they level off?? do they go back to say in the 300s'. ,.. like today logan's been in the 300s and 400s..,PMPS bg316 at(641pm calif. time) I'm happy with that.. i thought for sure he'd be higher, How do I know he's cleared the bounce?
 
I copied that bouncing explanation for over in the lantus/levemir ISG forum, from one of the stickies.

Signs of getting ready to clearing a bounce can include steady string of similar numbers, often numbers in the yellow BG range all day.
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ thxx !! today AMPS at (715AM)bg386. at (150pm)+6 bg174. at/(438pm)+9 bg192!!! i test for pmps in 2 hours... feeling a little more positive today .. i like the blues!!... hows the snow over there??? tomarrow we go skiing!
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ thxx !! today AMPS at (715AM)bg386. at (150pm)+6 bg174. at/(438pm)+9 bg192!!! i test for pmps in 2 hours... feeling a little more positive today .. i like the blues!!... hows the snow over there??? tomarrow we go skiing!
We got a good 20 inches by me... Going to be a couple inches this weekend and possibly another big storm sun into mon. Yeah blues!
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ today amps@(658am)bg366. at (456pm)+9 bg345. pmps at 644pm bg373. we are still in the 300s.. should i raise logan back up to 1 unit tomarrow>>? i think his bounce is over for the moment.... am I wrong,?? thx you guys..
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ thxxs janet,, ideally i'd like to keep lowering his dose.. depending on numbers tonite and amps tomarrow AM will help me decide..right now things are saying the opposite,, raise his dose back to 1.0,, this all sucks. thxx for responding,, PS the snow today for skiing was great,, hope you are enjoying the snow where you are at, Sandy
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ thxxs janet,, ideally i'd like to keep lowering his dose.. depending on numbers tonite and amps tomarrow AM will help me decide..right now things are saying the opposite,, raise his dose back to 1.0,, this all sucks. thxx for responding,, PS the snow today for skiing was great,, hope you are enjoying the snow where you are at, Sandy
They need what they need.
 
Back
Top