Raise dose for Logan to 1.5??

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-02-06 at 8.00.36 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-02-06 at 8.00.36 AM.png
    336.4 KB · Views: 205
Hey Logan sweetie! Nice picture.
Sometimes those flat yellow BG numbers could mean a bounce breaking cycle.
So stay tuned to the PMPS tonight, before you decide to raise to 1U.

You test enough that you could raise him to 1U tonight.
Of course, he may do something unexpected, and give you a low BG at PMPS.

As well as the BG numbers bouncing up and down, so can the dose. So you may be adjusting it frequently.

Glad to hear your skiing went well. The snow from earlier has that "corn snow" consistency now, where it isn't frozen into a huge solid lump. More snow on the way for superbowl Sunday and a couple more storms this coming week. I HATE shoveling.:arghh::(:arghh:
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ thx you guys,.. so what do you think logans' cutoff would be for me to raise him to 1.0. would it be 150?? altho I doubt he will be that low,,,he was 250 at +7. I'd be exxtremely surprized if he was lower,, but who knows,, enjoy the snow over there,,, skiing yesterday was absolutely fabulous! corn snow is nice!
 
You've given Logan an insulin shot before when he was at 150/167 on 2/2/21. You stalled and retested it looks like, from the notes on the SS.
If you test at +11.5 and then at PMPS, that could give you 2 BG numbers to look at, before his evening shot is due.

I'd say that 150 or above is a good threshold (cutoff) for Logan.

He never dropped particularly low on the 0.75U so it does look like he needs a bit more juice (insulin), the 1U.
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ. thankyou guys... well Logans BG at 625pm +11.5 is 419,,,so tonite,,1 unit for sure... Really don't know why we went up SO high after being in the Yellows ALL day,, oh well. he got 1 unit tonite.
 
Last edited:
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ for AMPS Logans 437 this AM.. last nite at +5 he was 115.. I raised him up to 1 unit as of last nite too. I guess he's starting to bounce again? Would be nice to get him stable,, oh well. Well on a another note enjoy watching the Super Bowl today, Today is gonna be a beautiful day here,
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ I think Logan is bouncing now? at 1132AM +4 2/7 his bg was 175.. for amps today 2/8 his bg 457.. his appetite is huge this AM ate 3/4 of a large can and was still hungry.. he really shouldn't gain any more weight. He's now at 1.unit about 3 cycles now. hope you guys enjoyed the superbowl yesterday.
 
When cats bounce, from a low number, they can think they are "starving".

You might try spreading the canned food out on a large plate, so he has to lick it off the plate to eat.
And/or split the meal into two portions, and feed one after the pre-shot test, and the next bit of food later closer to when the insulin kicks into action.

Redirect his attention with something other than food is also helpful. Some interactive play time, brushing, etc.
 
@Deb & Wink i like the idea of spreading out the food a bit and or feeding again in a few hours.. and seeing if he will play is another thing.. just not sure why he's bouncing again,, he just finished a bounce. maybe cuzz he dose was raised .25 to 1 unit..>? is bouncing bad for a cats health>?
 
Some cats go from one bounce, right into another one. It's very unpredictable.

Bouncing doesn't make him FEEL good, that's for sure. Makes him want to sleep more I bet.
High BG levels can cause long term organ and nerve damage, in humans. I'd imagine it's the same for our cats. After all, they do get diabetic neuropathy, just like human diabetics do.
 
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ Logans PMPS tonite is 454BG.!! he was 154bg at +4 last nite.. i was thinking of giving him a 1F unit... thoughts?? gave him a HAIR over 1 unit.. not much higher just a TINY bit. am gonna start a new thread..as of feb 9th tues.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top