Ragnar 155 +6; 188 +11 (PMPS)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shirley and Ragnar

Member Since 2010
Last night his pre-shot was 495 on 1 unit. Increased to 1.5 unit this morning: BG 155 +6; 188 +11. Called Dr. Jen; tonight he gets 1/2 unit; test tomorrow pre-shot and call her.

We aren't sure what is going on. 1.5 unit might be his ideal or he might be going OTJ again! I will be asleep tonight, and gone (unavoidable) most of tomorrow and won't be able to monitor him very much, and don't want him to hypo. Her first advice was NO shot tonight, but I remembered that 495 last night on 1 unit, and she said 1/2 unit tonight. It will be a small half!!

Blessings!

Shirley and Mr. Low Sugar :smile:
 
hmm, before deciding to skip or reduce I would test again at +12. Lots of cats rise fast at the end of the cycle and you don't want to end up in the 400's again.
 
I'd already given him the 1/2 unit before I saw this, but will be staying up late to test for both high and low. Testing in the middle of the night, most likely! He's asleep again in his inaccessible spot (how I wish I could make it inaccessible to him!) but when I go to bed, he'll go with me. He always sleeps at night with his head propped against my side. I'll take the testing kit along and check him whenever!

We're more concerned right now that he'll go too low. His sugar went down out of proportion to the increase in insulin, and he hadn't had enough time to react to the previous increase. As Dr. Jen says, high BG will kill eventually, but low will kill quickly. He's been dipping low enough each day to prevent a worsening of his hepatic lipidosis, which is my own biggest worry when he goes high.

Speaking of which, did Lucy get over her HL? (Please excuse me if it wasn't Lucy - I can't see your signature I write.) Ragnar went OTJ in April 09 (back on the juice only very, very recently), but a biopsy in September showed "marked" hepatic lipidosis, even half a year after his BG had stabilized in the 70s with no insulin. He's been on Denamarin ever since - and it really does help.

You have a beautiful cat - so very, very much like my Weng Chiang, who was diabetic for four years before he died in 1997 of a completely treatable pancreatitis flare-up. It took me years to forgive that doctor (who "killed" him by refusing to follow up a shot of amox with oral amox), and I am so happy that we now have Dr. Jen - who knows cats, not only horses and cattle!

Blessings!

Shirley and Mr. Where-Is-He-Now?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top