Quick Drop? Should I be concerned?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teanuhb

Member Since 2021
Hello! I previously wrote about my unregulated CKD kitty, Liam.

Since then, his numbers have slightly improved. I've started to cook for him at home and try some different foods.

Doing a curve today and his numbers have been as follows:

AMPS 325
+2.5 232
+4 131
+6 47

Should I be concerned? He just had a little bit of food. At what point should I be concerned about hypoglycemia?
 
I think @Bandit's Mom is on right now and a lantus user

if you are using AlphaTrak, 47 is too low. The “take action” number is 68 for pet meters so you want to feed some higher carb food and recheck his BG in about 20 mins
 
Would it be possible to update your spreadsheet when you get a chance, at least with today’s numbers? That will make it easier for those who take a look at your SS to give you some dosing advice. But with the 47, he definitely needs a dose reduction
 
Hi @Teanuhb 47 is pretty low number on an AT. Please feed a little HC food and test in half an hour?

And please reduce his dose going forward to 6U.
 
Yes, just did!

His numbers were so high last week. So doing a new curve today and this is all new. Haven't seen numbers this low since he was diagnosed.
 
Haven't seen numbers this low since he was diagnosed.
Sometimes it's a matter of reaching the "good" dose. It's also possible that he was going lower at nights or on non-curve days.
Do you not get preshot tests every day? Even with SLGS we recommend a minimum testing of preshot BG.

If you post in the Lantus forum, you will get more eyes on your posts from experienced Lantus users.
 
Sometimes it's a matter of reaching the "good" dose. It's also possible that he was going lower at nights or on non-curve days.
Do you not get preshot tests every day? Even with SLGS we recommend a minimum testing of preshot BG.

If you post in the Lantus forum, you will get more eyes on your posts from experienced Lantus users.

Ah, I see. Just last week we had a day of 400+ all day so I haven't been doing preshots because I just assumed it would be high. Even this morning it was quite high.

Vet said to not give any insulin tonight and do another curve tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top