Questions from New Lantus User

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mariann and Shadow

Member Since 2010
Switched today from Vetsulin to Lantus. Also did my first home bg today. Shadow had been on Vetsulin for almost 4 years. I could tell by his habits how he was doing on the vetsulin. When he had curves done he would peak at his low numbers, usually between 130 and 100 about 5 hours after his shot. I have no idea what Shadow's numbers should be with Lantus. I took him to the vet this afternoon and at +7 he was 214, then I tested at +14 and he was 244. I am giving him 1u once a day. He was getting 1u of vetsulin twice a day. I will try to test b/4 his am shot. Is it a fact that it takes at least a week to get good numbers, because I think he should be lower than he is? I have a vet visit scheduled next week for them to do a curve. Would it be better to give a lower dose twice a day? I would rather he have slightly high numbers than be too low, but don't really know how high is too high. Any comments would be appreciated.
 
Hi Mariann,

My cat also was on vetsulin and we switched to lantus because I saw from here how well cats where doing on it. Gayle gave you excellent reading to do on lantus. It does take awhile for it to build up,the link on the storage shed will explain. 1U twice a day is usually a good start.

Are you using U100 syringes? Do they have 1/2 Unit markings? Walmart sells their relion brand for $12-13 for 100. Just make sure they have 1/2 unit markings. I check it before I pay for them because you can't take them back and it doesn't say it on the box.

It should be dosed twice a day. I try to be as close to 12hrs apart as possible.

Congratulations on the successful bg test. Keep practicing and it will become 2nd nature. You can save yourself money by doing the curve yourself at home.

Also here is a link to setting up a spread sheet to keep track of Shadow's #'s. spreadsheet

Check out some of the ss for different cats here. I think you'll find it very useful and it helps others to quickly help you out if you have questions.


Good luck with Shadow and welcome.
jan and sara
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Gayle and Jan have given you good information. Lantus is, in fact, dosed twice a day. In humans, it is given once a day but for cats, due to their faster metabolism, it is a x2/day injection. Shots should also be administered as close to 12 hours apart as you can manage. Ordinarily, switching directly to 1.0u twice a day would be fine if you had data regarding where Shadow's levels were on Vetsulin. What I would suggest, though, is that you drop the dose a bit to 0.75u BID (twice a day) providing you have syringes that are in 1/2 unit increments. You can drop it lower (i.e., 0.5u) if you need to.

What I suspect will be most challenging for you is how you think about adjusting doses. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot value. In addition, doses are typically held for a 2 - 3 days if you are following the Tight Regulation Protocol -- the exception is your starting dose, which is held for 5 - 7 days in order to allow the shed to fill.

To be honest, we don't consider numbers in the 100 - 130 range to be "low." They are good numbers to be in but we aim to have a cat in normal BG levels (i.e., between 50 - 120) if you are following the protocol. Since you weren't testing at home up until now, it makes perfect sense that you would have wanted to keep Shadow's numbers a bit higher.

We strongly encourage home testing. What you will find is that you will save yourself a considerable amount of money and time by not having to go to the vet for curves or fructosamine levels. In addition, the curve you get at home is likely to be much more accurate since it will not be effected by vet stress. You will need to plan on getting pre-shot tests as well as spot checks throughout the cycle. Having these data will allow you to make good decisions about how to manage Shadow's diabetes.

Also, what kind of diet are you feeding Shadow?

In addition to the three starred sticky notes at the top of the Board in the "Topics" section that Gayle linked for you, I would suggest that you read all of the notes. There is an overwhelming amount of information there. Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and information.
 
hello, and welcome!

you've been given excellent input from very experienced folks here...

binks was on vetsulin and we switched to lantus in august...it's been a very good choice.

best of luck!

celi & binks
 
Welcome, Mariann & Shadow!
You have a lot of reading to do, and it may seem overwhelming at first, but it will all come together as you go along. Lantus takes a while to build up a "shed" or "depot" in the cat's body, so don't be alarmed at first if you are not seeing results. As Sienne and Jan said, make sure that you have U100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings, and I would add to that: don't shake or roll the Lantus before drawing the dose. It doesn't like to be "shook up". Keep it in the 'fridge. The manufacturer says to discard the remainder of the insulin after 28 days, but most of us get considerably more days than that. It is more of an outlay of cash if you buy the box of 5 cartridges or pens, but more economical than the 10ml vial because the cartridges and pens contain only 3ml and therefore you don't throw out as much insulin after the 28, or 40, or however many days. You use syringes to draw up the insulin from the cartridges or pens in the same manner as you do with the vial. As everyone has said: Lantus is dosed twice a day (BID), every 12 hours.
Good luck, and welcome!

Ella & Rusty
 
We do our own curves. No need for expensive curves at the vet now and you avoid the stress component that skew the results at the vet. We've saved a fortune and Maverick doesn't have the crazy stress involved with driving.

A curve is really really easy to do you'll get the hang of home testing. Its worth every penny and for peace of mind.

This group is seriously amazing. The support and advice in Lantus Land is incredible. Welcome.
 
Nice to meet you, Mariann and Shadow!
My Tessie Lou is a newbie of Lantus--this is her 13th day on it, 1unit twice a day. FWIW, her numbers stayed in the 200 and 300s for 7 days, then took a drop (see her spreadsheet link below).

She is doing very well on it, and I'm sure Shadow will, too. It is a gentle insulin. The people on this board are very knowledgeable and experienced, and the support is like you wouldn't believe. I have learned to trust their judgment even more than my vet, because they "live" diabetes day in, and day out, and have collected tons of data and empirical evidence. Plus, it's like a family here--we're in it together. :smile:

Best wishes, and your patience will pay off.
 
Thanks to all who provided information. It really is helpful. Shadow free feds on Fancy Feast. I will try to use the speadsheet if I can get bg readings. I tried a couple of times b/4 his am shot this morning and wasn't successful. Shadow got pretty grouchy. I thought I would try a bit later in the day.

After my first post, I did find a lot more info here on numbers and when to shoot and not to shoot. Consequently, I was up till the wee a.m. reading.

I am usng U100 syringes, but not with 1/2u markings. I will be getting some soon. I really feel that I should be dosing twice a day and will discuss this with my vet today.

At this point, I need alcohol (oh did I say that) I meant caffine!
 
Hi Sandy and TessieLou,

Thanks for the reply, it is very encouraging. Your experience lets me know that this insulin switch will all work out.

Mariann
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Mariann and Shadow!! We have lots of great knowledge here and caring folks so jump in and let us know when you have questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top