Welcome to Lantus Land!
Gayle and Jan have given you good information. Lantus is, in fact, dosed twice a day. In humans, it is given once a day but for cats, due to their faster metabolism, it is a x2/day injection. Shots should also be administered as close to 12 hours apart as you can manage. Ordinarily, switching directly to 1.0u twice a day would be fine if you had data regarding where Shadow's levels were on Vetsulin. What I would suggest, though, is that you drop the dose a bit to 0.75u BID (twice a day) providing you have syringes that are in 1/2 unit increments. You can drop it lower (i.e., 0.5u) if you need to.
What I suspect will be most challenging for you is how you think about adjusting doses. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot value. In addition, doses are typically held for a 2 - 3 days if you are following the Tight Regulation Protocol -- the exception is your starting dose, which is held for 5 - 7 days in order to allow the shed to fill.
To be honest, we don't consider numbers in the 100 - 130 range to be "low." They are good numbers to be in but we aim to have a cat in normal BG levels (i.e., between 50 - 120) if you are following the protocol. Since you weren't testing at home up until now, it makes perfect sense that you would have wanted to keep Shadow's numbers a bit higher.
We strongly encourage home testing. What you will find is that you will save yourself a considerable amount of money and time by not having to go to the vet for curves or fructosamine levels. In addition, the curve you get at home is likely to be much more accurate since it will not be effected by vet stress. You will need to plan on getting pre-shot tests as well as spot checks throughout the cycle. Having these data will allow you to make good decisions about how to manage Shadow's diabetes.
Also, what kind of diet are you feeding Shadow?
In addition to the three starred sticky notes at the top of the Board in the "Topics" section that Gayle linked for you, I would suggest that you read all of the notes. There is an overwhelming amount of information there. Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and information.