Sara-Jane
Member
Hello fellow Lantus users! My cat Evie will be transitioning to Lantus from Prozinc soon. I have convinced my vet. I’m trying to do all the reading and research I can. But would appreciate some advise !
Evie has been on Prozinc for 7 months now and some days it works great - most days hardly at all. We have played with her dosing a bit from 0.5 units to 0.75 units . She has had some very low numbers (2.8, 3s and 4s mmol/L) I am in canada - which has made me uncomfortable so have never increased her doseage anymore than that. Anyhow! Hoping Lantus will give us more regulation , more consistent curves, and most important help her feel better! I know it is a depot insulin and regular doseage is important. I would appreciate any other advise as I transition her over . I will be getting the U-100 needles as I know the U-40 won’t work. Do I continue with her regular dose in Lantus ? (She’s currently 0.5 units for BG 13 or lower, 0.75 for BG 13 or higher usually. I prefer a start low go slow approach.
Thank you from a worried cat mom !
Evie has been on Prozinc for 7 months now and some days it works great - most days hardly at all. We have played with her dosing a bit from 0.5 units to 0.75 units . She has had some very low numbers (2.8, 3s and 4s mmol/L) I am in canada - which has made me uncomfortable so have never increased her doseage anymore than that. Anyhow! Hoping Lantus will give us more regulation , more consistent curves, and most important help her feel better! I know it is a depot insulin and regular doseage is important. I would appreciate any other advise as I transition her over . I will be getting the U-100 needles as I know the U-40 won’t work. Do I continue with her regular dose in Lantus ? (She’s currently 0.5 units for BG 13 or lower, 0.75 for BG 13 or higher usually. I prefer a start low go slow approach.
Thank you from a worried cat mom !
