sweatergirrl
Member
Hello-
I'm new to this forum. My cat Clovis is 7 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes this past November 2009. She has been on Lantus since then and started with 1 unit BID but that was not enough. She then went to 2 units BID and that maybe turned out to be too much. Her preshots were ranging in the 80's and 90's. I would wait till her sugar would rise to give her her shot but that would just raise her sugar by the next preshot. So, I started injecting her when she was in the 90's with 1.5 units. That would work for about one or two days but by the third day her sugar was in the 300's again. So, then I started injecting the full two units of insulin when she was at the 12 hour marker and her sugar was at 90-something -----only that scared me cause she would fall as low as 46.
I now have her at 1.5 units BID. After 5 days I did a curve and she went from 252 to a low of 144 which I know is not low enough. Does anyone know if I should hold the 1.5 for another 5 days? Or should I increase her to 1.75??
I worry that the 2 units may be too much cause when her sugar falls to the 40's she is pretty anxious about eating and sometimes gets picky about what she wants. I've had to cook ground turkey and sometimes even bacon to get her eat something when her sugar is that low.
Any suggestions/ help are much appreciated.
Sandra
I'm new to this forum. My cat Clovis is 7 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes this past November 2009. She has been on Lantus since then and started with 1 unit BID but that was not enough. She then went to 2 units BID and that maybe turned out to be too much. Her preshots were ranging in the 80's and 90's. I would wait till her sugar would rise to give her her shot but that would just raise her sugar by the next preshot. So, I started injecting her when she was in the 90's with 1.5 units. That would work for about one or two days but by the third day her sugar was in the 300's again. So, then I started injecting the full two units of insulin when she was at the 12 hour marker and her sugar was at 90-something -----only that scared me cause she would fall as low as 46.
I now have her at 1.5 units BID. After 5 days I did a curve and she went from 252 to a low of 144 which I know is not low enough. Does anyone know if I should hold the 1.5 for another 5 days? Or should I increase her to 1.75??
I worry that the 2 units may be too much cause when her sugar falls to the 40's she is pretty anxious about eating and sometimes gets picky about what she wants. I've had to cook ground turkey and sometimes even bacon to get her eat something when her sugar is that low.
Any suggestions/ help are much appreciated.
Sandra