Question human meter/relion prime first reading

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris S

Member Since 2020
Hi

so we got our Walmart reader today. The good news is for the vet IF they really wont work w me w the human meter, I have the AT for them on the occasion needed.
Anyways....

here’s my today:
At this am at amps: 447 for Harley

2.5 u lantus
+4 on human meter -161

Winston
At amps 209
1u lantus

+4 on human meter -222

so..... how close are the human readings to the “cat calibrated” ones? Did Harley really finally get close to almost a normal reading ? It’s in the blue that is...

Winston still in the yellow on both sheets.
I’ve updated my sig to be human meter only now since that will be what we use majority of the time

just looking to understand. Thanks!
 
Look at that beautiful blue number for Harley! Way to go girl!

The numbers for the human meter are different, but I think what you are seeing here is Harley's body getting used to the insulin and responding. A few more days of tests and information will give us a clearer picture. If you are curious about whether a reading is accurate, test with the pet meter at the same time, just to see the difference. Yes, the numbers will be different, but not crazy different.

A reminder for when the the time comes- if either cat's mid-cycle test drops below 90 on a human meter, reduce dose by .25. And we'll keep an eye on Winston and see if and when he needs to go up to 1.25.

You are doing an awesome job taking care of Winston and Harley. Keep it up!
 
How to explain this. There is no direct comparison between the human meters and a pet specific meter. The blood glucose readings get closer together between the 2 types of meters as the BG levels go lower. Too high is too high. Too low is too low, 50 on human meter and 68 on a pet meter, and some serious action needs to happen to stave off a hypo. That's it in a nutshell.

1 cat at a time I think.

Harley first, but only because you mentioned him first in your post. Don't know who is actually the "boss" in your home. Just that it's not you, but either Harley or Winston. ;)

Harley.
here’s my today:
At this am at amps: 447 for Harley 2.5 u lantus
Did Harley really finally get close to almost a normal reading ? It’s in the blue that is... +4 on human meter -161
Yes, Harley did get closer to a more "normal" cat blood glucose reading with that blue number. More "normal" for a cat is BG of <100. So Harley still has a ways to go. Plus, the mid-cycle numbers are the first to come down. The pre-shot tests are the last to come down. It's usually the PM pre-shot that is the last to reduce to a more normal range, with the AM pre-shot reducing first. That happens with MOST cats, because they are more active at night, using more energy, using up more glucose. So AMPS lower because of that increased activity so less "sugar" in their blood.

Winston.
Winston
At amps 209 1u lantus +4 on human meter -222 Winston still in the yellow on both sheets.

Yellows might mean that Winston could use a bit more insulin. But you don't really have a lot of test numbers with the human meter yet. And the way you have the SS setup and linked, you have lost the other tab to the old Alphatrak SS. So no way for us to see past history.

Guessing you are using SLGS for now, since you are a bit newer to all this. But you have no prior data of any kind on the only SS link we can see. Bit of a catch 22 situation. Would have been much easier if you had simply kept the same spreadsheet. You could have added a line for the other meter, if you are doing side by side testing of the human and pet meters. See Wink's 2012-2013 SS for an example.

Not sure if you are using TR (Tight Regulation) or SLGS (Start Low, Go Slow) dosing protocol. You could shorten the link to the SS's and put the dosing protocol in your signature. Plus, you could have the dosing protocol listed on the SS.

Do you know how to shorten the SS link without losing it entirely? Go to your signature and copy the SS link first. Then enter a shorter name for the SS like Winston's SS, then highlight that shortened name with your cursor, then click on the little editing icon that looks like a piece of chain, then paste the link you copied earlier in the box that opens, click on "insert" to save. Save changes to your "Signature". You're done.

I bet Harley and Winston chase each other all around the place when you are sleeping. Thunder paws at 4 am.
 
Thank you! I’ll find the links to the old sheets since I kept them ;)

and with 9 cats it’s hard to say whose chasing who lol :).

thank you for the info in generally what we should see numbers wise. I really have had no idea what to look for so thst helps give me an idea that we are making some progress. Even if slow.
Harley went undiagnosed for months so I am hoping that it’s just a stubborn internal kitty that is slowly making progress. I don’t want to think of 3u lantus... (or 2.75 for that matter).... I hope she’s making real progrsss. I feel like I am seeing changes in her a little and she is gaining a little weight finally. Just hope we stay in the right track for them both. Regulation times two has been a worry spot for me. But we are doing what we can :)

this is harley pet meter sheet-there wasn’t much there since we just started testing/just started this whole thing
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1fuNE92L9wjCFpCmoPUh0j88dacccVWsXjhQnsyjN8R8

this is winstons

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13jkhM9C9PIcrPyLDFKAnQWh8L_oKSvMV_ZM4HL7TPww
 
Hey Chris! One of the things I did to get used to it all, and what the numbers look like, was to look at as many different spreadsheets as I could. Both kitties that are still diabetic, and kitties like my Billy that are in remission. It really helps you get a feeling for what the numbers look like, and what you are aiming for.
 
We are making progress -slow and steady. And question on lantus dosing.

First blue for Harley -yesterday at +4 amps. Still a ways to go but ... first time we got far away from the 400s!! ❤️❤️☑️
Winston this am-120 amps!
Harley this am 198 amps!

I gave both their usual dose since neither in the green (Harley 2.5 lantus, Winston 1 lantus)

Question-what is the general rule for lantus and am/pm ps readings? When is generally the time to increase or decrease by .25 if needed? I was searching but get too many results to clearly understand. I had it open here but lost that link. Can someone post here? just want to be prepared as we move along hopefully continuing in the positive! :)

Thank you!!

I fixed their ss so that both AT info is at the top in grey to highlight it’s from a diff meter. Next I’ll fix my ss link :).
 
I should comment I do see above during the mid cycle if we see decreases below 90 to move down .25; I was asking more regarding the pre shot numbers if there is any general rule for those. Thanks!
 
Generally, when using SLGS with Lantus, you would not shoot if below 150 IF YOU DON'T have enough data to know how your cat reacts.

Hope you are home today, to monitor Winston. He could drop pretty low from that 120 at pre-shot.

Link to the Lantus Protocol document for you. It's over in the
Lantus / Basaglar (glargine) and Levemir (detemir) forum, for future reference. It's a "Sticky" or pinned post, which can be found at the top of the forum.
Sticky Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
Don't see any BG test numbers on the SS for today.

Trying to remember what it means when the +2 is about the same as the pre-shot.
Found it. Sorry it took me so long. Helping others.
The +2 was like an "early warning" for most cats!
If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually a pretty normal cycle...gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up again
If the +2 is higher than the PS, that usually signals a bounce, and those are the cycles when you can usually take a pokey break.
If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "Early warning" that kitty might be going much lower later in the cycle so it's important to plan on getting another test or two (or 6) in.
 
So the +2 is a very worthwhile test number to get, every cycle if you can.
It can point in the direction of how active or quiet the cycle is likely to be.
A good rule of thumb is:
+2 same as pre-shot, normal cycle. Down to nadir and back up again.
+2 higher than pre-shot, signals a bounce and a slight break from monitoring is in order
+2 lower than pre-shot, signals that BG's may go much lower during the cycle. So monitor more.

Not a hard a fast rule, but in general these +2's are indicative of where the cycle is headed. Up, down, straight.

Remember to take meter variance into account when calculating the numbers. That is, if the 2 numbers are within 20% of each other, they are basically the same number.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top