Question about maintaining dosage, even when numbers begin to get lower.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Member Since 2022
I finally got a reading in the hundreds this afternoon. I talked with the Vet a few days ago and she echoed what was said here. We agreed to go with 1.25 (or 1.2) before making any decisions to raise the dose.

If and when he tests in the lower 200's, or even 100's I have always been afraid to give him the full dose, if any. But, as I learn more about Glargine (Lantus), it isn't supposed to be administered based off of how the cat is feeling at the time because it is shooting for later on, I think.

So... My hypothetical questions please? If anyone knows - If/when he will test at say 190 or 200, he should still get the full dose that was used to lower him from the high 400's? I don't understand. If it has the power to lower him to normal from the high 400's, wouldn't it keep lowering him below normal numbers? OR, would it lower his high numbers and level his low numbers instead of causing them to be unsafe?

I asked because I won't be up all night worrying that something might go wrong, if I understand.
 
I finally got a reading in the hundreds this afternoon. I talked with the Vet a few days ago and she echoed what was said here. We agreed to go with 1.25 (or 1.2) before making any decisions to raise the dose.

If and when he tests in the lower 200's, or even 100's I have always been afraid to give him the full dose, if any. But, as I learn more about Glargine (Lantus), it isn't supposed to be administered based off of how the cat is feeling at the time because it is shooting for later on, I think.

So... My hypothetical questions please? If anyone knows - If/when he will test at say 190 or 200, he should still get the full dose that was used to lower him from the high 400's? I don't understand. If it has the power to lower him to normal from the high 400's, wouldn't it keep lowering him below normal numbers? OR, would it lower his high numbers and level his low numbers instead of causing them to be unsafe?

I asked because I won't be up all night worrying that something might go wrong, if I understand.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
Thank you ladies
 
I can say from my own personal experience with Lantus, and if you look at other caregivers’ spreadsheets, that’s really not how Lantus works. When you see a 200 point drop from preshot, let’s say keeping it simple, from 400 down to 200 by +6, that does not mean that when you start with a preshot of 200, it will drop by 200 points. As the preshots come down, the cycles actually will tend to flatten out.
 
I'm glad you are going to hold the dose at 1.25 units. With SLGS, you need to hold the dose for a week, unless they go under 90.

And I echo what Christie said. Lantus is great at keeping low number flat and lower. I found it much easier to predict what a cycle would do with a lower preshot than a high one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top