Question about further adjustments to my SLGS method....

Goose

Member Since 2019
Hi All,

At the moment, Do Daa is using a modified SLGS method, 2x under 90 for a Reduction. He hit many Greens yesterday afternoon, one being a 71. I'd like to keep this current run going if possible....

Can this be modified further to keep him in a good dose for an even longer period of time?

I'm just worried that he might develop a tolerance to his current dose of 2u if he stays on it for a Really long time... but at the moment he seems to be liking 2u. I'd just like to keep him in good numbers, mid to low Blues and with Greens. Dry food overnight is still going to be in use.

Goose
 
Hey Goose, glad to see Do Daa is finding a little groove with the dose, nice little run there of greens! Whenever I see the question of personalizing SLGS, I look to find whether the caregiver knows well enough how their kitty responds to carbs and insulin, and have the ability to monitor (which seems to me you do). In your case, you also are looking to make adjustments to the general guideline because Do Daa doesn't hold reductions well.

It depends on what you are comfortable with, but one possibility for you is to think about adjusting the threshold down of when you consider a reduction. If you've found that taking reductions under 90 aren't working for you, you could lower the threshold and see if that helps keep Do Daa in a nicer range longer, and since as I mentioned before, he has a tendency to not hold reductions well, and you inevitably need to go back up. The other thing to think about - I found this post helped me when I was using Lantus for Mav, I got used to feeding the curve to try and flatten him out a little and control the drops (not to be mistaken for feeding to manage low numbers). I found getting a little food in earlier in the cycle at +1, +2 and +3 helped.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

Sometimes we still end up needing to reduce, even after all we try, when they've decided they're done with the dose.
 
Hey Goose, glad to see Do Daa is finding a little groove with the dose, nice little run there of greens! Whenever I see the question of personalizing SLGS, I look to find whether the caregiver knows well enough how their kitty responds to carbs and insulin, and have the ability to monitor (which seems to me you do). In your case, you also are looking to make adjustments to the general guideline because Do Daa doesn't hold reductions well.

It depends on what you are comfortable with, but one possibility for you is to think about adjusting the threshold down of when you consider a reduction. If you've found that taking reductions under 90 aren't working for you, you could lower the threshold and see if that helps keep Do Daa in a nicer range longer, and since as I mentioned before, he has a tendency to not hold reductions well, and you inevitably need to go back up. The other thing to think about - I found this post helped me when I was using Lantus for Mav, I got used to feeding the curve to try and flatten him out a little and control the drops (not to be mistaken for feeding to manage low numbers). I found getting a little food in earlier in the cycle at +1, +2 and +3 helped.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

Sometimes we still end up needing to reduce, even after all we try, when they've decided they're done with the dose.

I think that we are going to try a Reduction number of 70. He did hit a low so far today of 66 and yesterday of 71. We'll see if he hits less than 70 tomorrow and we'll Reduce him back to 1.75u if that occurs. We would like to keep him in a nice range longer. :)
 
Back
Top