Simon'sMommy
Very Active Member
Good Morning!
I have a PZ kitty and when I found this community (the day after Simon was diagnosed) I was ready willing and able to home test, but that is because I have been doing this for my Dad who has dementia for years. So, I already knew about hypo episodes, how to back off a dose, how to fill a syringe and I already had a meter and test strips for the times my Dad would stay at my house overnight. This allowed me to jump in with both feet from day one. The ONLY thing I had no experience with in terms of home testing was poking a cat in his poor ears. But, I was willing to learn so learn I did!
Now, I am getting comfortable after about 5 weeks of testing to shoot lower numbers than the 200 suggested. I knew enough to lower the dose and I did so at a AMPS of 160 the other day (too conservatively as it turns out as he could have handled double what I gave him although not his full dose) safely and made sure he was tested at mid point, even if it meant my poor hubby driving the 20 miles on his lunch hour to do it! What a guy :smile:
What I want to know is WHAT in the world do we base a dose increase/decrease on? Pre shot tests? Nadir? My Simon seems to do fairly well with each dose increase in the beginning and then he starts to go back up on the pre shot tests, probably bouncing.
I am so disheartened to see him over 300 at pre shot again today. I want to know what I can do to get him to STAY in yellow numbers and never go beyond them at pre shot tests. Then of course, blue and green and then OTJ! I really am sad every single time I see the pre shots above 300 because I worry about organ damage. His ketones have been negative so far...but it is only a matter of time I suspect. He seems to make a little noise when he jumps now...like his back legs hurt. Ugh! I am worried about neuropathy big time.
So, I am working really hard with the help of this community to lower those numbers. I can't dose TID unfortunately due to work. Although hubby has been running home mid day, he cannot keep doing that! His boss is going to get pissed off sooner or later.
Also, I can't do the lantus/lev because my vet does not like those insulins for cats with working parents. He will only prescribe PZ. I don't want to switch vets because I love Dr. K!
Ok, my 2 cents are in. I want to thank all of you for your help with Simon. Sooner or later, we WILL get this right!
I have a PZ kitty and when I found this community (the day after Simon was diagnosed) I was ready willing and able to home test, but that is because I have been doing this for my Dad who has dementia for years. So, I already knew about hypo episodes, how to back off a dose, how to fill a syringe and I already had a meter and test strips for the times my Dad would stay at my house overnight. This allowed me to jump in with both feet from day one. The ONLY thing I had no experience with in terms of home testing was poking a cat in his poor ears. But, I was willing to learn so learn I did!
Now, I am getting comfortable after about 5 weeks of testing to shoot lower numbers than the 200 suggested. I knew enough to lower the dose and I did so at a AMPS of 160 the other day (too conservatively as it turns out as he could have handled double what I gave him although not his full dose) safely and made sure he was tested at mid point, even if it meant my poor hubby driving the 20 miles on his lunch hour to do it! What a guy :smile:
What I want to know is WHAT in the world do we base a dose increase/decrease on? Pre shot tests? Nadir? My Simon seems to do fairly well with each dose increase in the beginning and then he starts to go back up on the pre shot tests, probably bouncing.
I am so disheartened to see him over 300 at pre shot again today. I want to know what I can do to get him to STAY in yellow numbers and never go beyond them at pre shot tests. Then of course, blue and green and then OTJ! I really am sad every single time I see the pre shots above 300 because I worry about organ damage. His ketones have been negative so far...but it is only a matter of time I suspect. He seems to make a little noise when he jumps now...like his back legs hurt. Ugh! I am worried about neuropathy big time.
So, I am working really hard with the help of this community to lower those numbers. I can't dose TID unfortunately due to work. Although hubby has been running home mid day, he cannot keep doing that! His boss is going to get pissed off sooner or later.
Also, I can't do the lantus/lev because my vet does not like those insulins for cats with working parents. He will only prescribe PZ. I don't want to switch vets because I love Dr. K!
Ok, my 2 cents are in. I want to thank all of you for your help with Simon. Sooner or later, we WILL get this right!