Prozinc

Dawn12345

Member
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/19pYXPB-jHiali67jDDiWRNJysHrqFinSnvn0iekAcoc/edit?usp=sharing
This so Far is my Spreadsheet. Today I thought was going to be a good day 12/8/18 however we started our AMPS at 513, gave 1 U at 8am 12pm Came around did a Test at +4 after shot. It dropped to 381. Our PMPS was Over 700 Human Meter Said High so assuming over 700. Tested alittle before 8pm I guess cause shot time is 8pm. Gave 1 Unit of Insulin +4 Hours Later Tested glucose and it was still saying "High" on the meter. Now we have been bouncing around since Last Sunday. Please Let me know what's going on? She also ate Fancy Feast Today the Pate' style about almost 1 can. She has been Drinking Water, However I have to take a Bastor because i have nothing else to syringe in her mouth,just to get her to drink sometimes im afraid shes not drinking a lot at dish. She will not drink unless you put the water to her mouth sometimes or same with food. I'm not really sure whats going on with her..... the Levels of high Glucose is bad and she staggers while walking, she doesn't even go to the bathroom without us actually taking her I think its because its to far of a walk however she will walk down the hallways afterwards? She has a Severe UTI that is being Treated With lots of Antibiotics however looks like it might take more Antibiotics to get this UTI to go away, either that or she has another infection somewhere in her body. any Suggests will help. I got told to come to this forum and to start filling a spreadsheet.
 
Dawn, given the high numbers and the infection, and that she isn't eating, I'm very very concerned about DKA. Do you have ketone test strips at home? You can buy them at a human pharmacy. They are little strips that you need to put in urine to test. If Little Girl has ketones, she must go to the vet right away. They are very serious. If you cannot get a test at home, you can take her in and they can do a test at the vet office.
 
She is eating we just rushed her to her vet. And to find out from the emergency vet we took her too she has the starting of kidney failure. The other place I took her to beginning told us bad uti. Now the emergency room says kidney infection. We did tests today and she is on the on set of kidney failure. Please tell me what we can do the vet gave her antibotics, a antibotics to give to her once a day, told me cranberry pills the powder in canned cat food. We are going up 1.5 units in the morning and 1 unit at night. She only has little blood in urine. The urine looks light color. I hope we caught this in time. The infection is what's raising the glucose.
 
She is eating we just rushed her to her vet. And to find out from the emergency vet we took her too she has the starting of kidney failure. The other place I took her to beginning told us bad uti. Now the emergency room says kidney infection. We did tests today and she is on the on set of kidney failure. Please tell me what we can do the vet gave her antibotics, a antibotics to give to her once a day, told me cranberry pills the powder in canned cat food. We are going up 1.5 units in the morning and 1 unit at night. She only has little blood in urine. The urine looks light color. I hope we caught this in time. The infection is what's raising the glucose.
The kidney values will be off if its a kidney infection. It may improve once the infection clears. Can you post the lab reports? If you don't have them ask the vet to email them to you. They can live a long time (years potentially) with kidney disease if treated.
 
Her lab reports came out not so good. Alot was elevated. However we are trying to treat it. We r hoping she gets better but not sure.
 
Thank you for being so kind! Does anyone know about how to help the weakness in her hind legs :( she can't walk now
 
Thank you for being so kind! Does anyone know about how to help the weakness in her hind legs :( she can't walk now
The neuropathy in her legs will be helped by getting her bg under control and adding b12 methylcobalamin supplements such as zobaline from Amazon.
 
Thank you for being so kind! Does anyone know about how to help the weakness in her hind legs :( she can't walk now
Has the infection cleared? What are her numbers today?is her potassium levels normal? If you have a copy of the labs please post them here.
 
Her levels are still abit high but not like before which was over 700 seems like the antibotics are working been on for 5 days now . lastnight her bg was 344 and we gave 1 unit. We check at 7:45 am and 7:45 pm we also check in between if need to be her poor ears are harpooned. This morning walking was a bit tough she did walk a little more then yesterday. Her temp has been checked 8 times in about a 2 week period if not shorter. She is also having constipation problems so I am feeding 1tsp of organic pumpkin in her canned food along with cranberry powder for her kidney infection and the uti that started it. If her BG is higher then 400 we do 1.5 units at 1.5 units she drops down about 200 in BG. So if she's 300 something we will do 1 unit just to be on the safe side of not bringing her to dangerous levels. Yes I do remember her lab somewhat and potassium was pretty low. She is also getting a multi vitamin started yesterday It does have 0.8% in potassium instead of one chew I'm giving her 2 chews now. She's lacking alot of vitamins.
 
Just bought the zobaline and cosequin . She has arthritis already on top of this.
Oh! A great treatment for arthritis is adequan. It's an injectable, but since you are already used to giving shots it's no big deal ... And it works better than any pill I've tried. Ask your vet about it.
 
If her BG is higher then 400 we do 1.5 units at 1.5 units she drops down about 200 in BG. So if she's 300 something we will do 1 unit just to be on the safe side of not bringing her to dangerous levels.
You need to have a regular testing routine to know how to dose her optimally. Please record all the test numbers you have so far on your spreadsheet and we can help you.

Here's what we recommend:
  • follow the basic testing routine outlined below every day
  • keep the same dose AM and PM unless the pre shot test shows a low number
  • don't change the dose in response to a high pre shot number
  • get a test or two in the +4 to +7 range every day if possible because that's when she's likely to be lowest - that's the test data you need to know how a dose is working
  • low numbers in the 90 to 110 range are your goal
  • give the full dose unless her pre shot number is under 200 or so
  • post here as often as possible so we can guide you.
Basic testing routine:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your spreadsheet, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
This is useful: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
Thanks for updating! Try to avoid giving portions of an insulin dose after the AM and PM dose times. It's best to give the full dose, get a few tests in the +4 to +7 range to see what it does and give another full dose 12 hours later. Deviating from that can cause a lot of erratic numbers. Treating feline diabetes is hard enough so we recommend testing and dosing methods that give good information, don't create more problems and are sustainable over time for the caregiver. You can't get good results if you react to every test result. It's the spreadsheet patterns over time that tell the tale.

Here's what I suggest:
  1. stick to 1.5 u both AM and PM unless she surprises you with a pre shot BG in the 200 range (I can say with a high degree of certainty that it's unlikely)
  2. keep that 1.5 u dose both AM and PM tonight and tomorrow
  3. resist your urge to react to an individual number with a dose change - ask here if you're unsure
  4. if you can't get a test in the day between +4 and +7 get one before bed that evening.
 
Thanks for updating! Try to avoid giving portions of an insulin dose after the AM and PM dose times. It's best to give the full dose, get a few tests in the +4 to +7 range to see what it does and give another full dose 12 hours later. Deviating from that can cause a lot of erratic numbers. Treating feline diabetes is hard enough so we recommend testing and dosing methods that give good information, don't create more problems and are sustainable over time for the caregiver. You can't get good results if you react to every test result. It's the spreadsheet patterns over time that tell the tale.

Here's what I suggest:
  1. stick to 1.5 u both AM and PM unless she surprises you with a pre shot BG in the 200 range (I can say with a high degree of certainty that it's unlikely)
  2. keep that 1.5 u dose both AM and PM tonight and tomorrow
  3. resist your urge to react to an individual number with a dose change - ask here if you're unsure
  4. if you can't get a test in the day between +4 and +7 get one before bed that evening.
Okay will do. We did do 1.5 in am and 1.5 in pm and it dropped to like 50 on human meter.. at night took her bg at +8 I just didn't want to do that again. But I do think 1.50 is what she needs. We will try tonight and test between the 4 and 7 see what happens if at +4 or +7 she is at 50? Give her honey correct? I do have her eat at 5am in the morning.
 
We did do 1.5 in am and 1.5 in pm and it dropped to like 50 on human meter.
On what day did this happen? Is it a day that your spreadsheet shows? If so, please put that data there. Anyone who gives advice goes by what is seen on the spreadsheet. That's why we recommend it so strongly. If it isn't complete we could easily give bad advice ...
 
I didn't start the spreadsheet until December 7th. This was on December 4th. I didn't keep track until the 7th. Very new at this. When the vet gave her 1.5 u on December 4th it wa's 9am she was over 700 on the animal meter then he turned around and gave her 1.5 u at 5pm we brought her home he said do not give anymore insulin tonight. I'm assuming it's because he didn't wait until 9pm to give insulin. Her bg level at +7 was 175 it dropped more by +11 to 50 on human meter we gave some honey and got her to eat.
 
On what day did this happen? Is it a day that your spreadsheet shows? If so, please put that data there. Anyone who gives advice goes by what is seen on the spreadsheet. That's why we recommend it so strongly. If it isn't complete we could easily give bad advice ...
I will put this in the spreadsheet tonight after work. Very sorry I didn't have it on there.
 
I didn't start the spreadsheet until December 7th. This was on December 4th. I didn't keep track until the 7th. Very new at this. When the vet gave her 1.5 u on December 4th it wa's 9am she was over 700 on the animal meter then he turned around and gave her 1.5 u at 5pm we brought her home he said do not give anymore insulin tonight. I'm assuming it's because he didn't wait until 9pm to give insulin. Her bg level at +7 was 175 it dropped more by +11 to 50 on human meter we gave some honey and got her to eat.
OK. This is good info to have. It's possible that 1.5 u won't have that drastic effect this time around but testing will reveal that. Even a week ago is almost ancient history as far as responses to a dose go. If a lot of time is spent in high BGs it can reduce the kitty's cells' ability to respond to insulin so that a dose that caused a nosedive at one time does very little several days later. Dropping low at times when there's no data can also set the stage for rebound into high numbers. Those are just a few examples of reasons why we're such strong testing advocates.
 
My parents went to give insulin shot of prozinc while I was at work. My dad thought it was in. Apparently she didn't get all of insulin what do we do? Also her reading was bg: "hi" still.... been like that all day.. she is eating drinking ect tho. We will be retesting bg at +4
 
1. if she is at 100 at +4, it does not mean that she will necessarily go low, and you would not want to give honey at that point. You could give a snack of regular, low-carb food and continue to monitor. Most often, if a cat is on a good dose, they will drop down, and then start to flatten at towards the nadir. Giving honey should only be done when they are too low (below 50) as it's a little tough on their systems. It's an important tool when you needed, but shouldn't be used if it's not necessary.

2. What do you mean that your dad thought it was in, but apparently she didn't get it all? Was there insulin left in the syringe still?
 
He went to slide the needle In for the injection and apparently was not all the way and lost some insulin. Not sure how much she got we did 1.5 u. Do we just wait until tomorrow morning to give her insulin again?
 
Hi Dawn, I'm sorry I wasn't able to respond last night. As Janet said, we never reshoot on a missed injection like that because you can't tell how much insulin got in and can end up overdosing the kitty. We call it a "fur shot" and put FS on the spreadsheet so anyone looking knows that the cat didn't get the full dose that cycle.

It's frustrating when that happens, but it's only one cycle. Hang in there. :bighug:
 
Yes, wait until next shot time. Never reshoot.
That's very good to know. My father in fact knows not much went in but I will never reshoot again. I monitored her all night. Did a bg reading +4 and it was 343. She was high all day long. But rather have her high then low for sure. We will be keeping her insulin shot at 12am to 12pm now it's so much easier probably for schedule. No going back to 8am to 8pm unless I skip a cycle... don't really want to do that.
 
It's been worse!
Okay so little girl got her insulin at 12pm 1.5 u she went from 379 to 59 by +6 hours. We fed her tuna in oil and rechecked 25 minutes later at +7 she was then 111. I'm assuming dropping that low at +6 isn't good. I'm going to go down in insulin possibly 1 u or 1.25 what would you suggest she will be retested of course before her night shot.
 
Okay so little girl got her insulin at 12pm 1.5 u she went from 379 to 59 by +6 hours. We fed her tuna in oil and rechecked 25 minutes later at +7 she was then 111. I'm assuming dropping that low at +6 isn't good. I'm going to go down in insulin possibly 1 u or 1.25 what would you suggest she will be retested of course before her night shot.
Try giving 1.25 u if you feel you can monitor. That 59 is still in the safe zone but a bit low for comfort. Don’t be surprised if she rebounds high after that 59.
 
After pmps she was 391. We gave 1.5 and at +6 she was 59.
Your spreadsheet is showing a dose of 1.25 u last night. Did you give that or give 1.25 u? If she dropped to 59 on 1.25 u then I suggest you hang in at 1.25 u for the day today. That 59 is low-ish but safe and many kitties run lower at night. If you did bump her up to 1.5 u last night go back to 1.25 u and stay there for today. If she drops into the 50s or lower on 1.25 u today then you'll need to reduce to 1 u. Let's see what she does first.

This whole FD thing is stressful and can cause us to be reactive to every BG number. It really goes against the grain to just hang in at a dose but that works best. Please clarify last night dose as soon as you can. :)
 
Last edited:
Been giving her 1.25 u did not check at +6 hours her ears hurt. Gave her a break will check tomorrow her last reading was her pmps 544
 
Back
Top