Kris & Teasel
Very Active Member
Try for a test somewhere around +4 to +7. We need those lows to assess the dose properly.Checked her amps it was 352 gave 1.25 u
Try for a test somewhere around +4 to +7. We need those lows to assess the dose properly.Checked her amps it was 352 gave 1.25 u
I gave her the 1.25 u and tested at +6 it is 290 now we will test again right before insulin time.Try for a test somewhere around +4 to +7. We need those lows to assess the dose properly.
Her bg at +6 was 108Where did her +6 end up?
I wish I could help but I don't have experience with constipation in my kitties. Many here use Miralax if pumpkin doesn't help. It's also a good idea to add extra water to all wet food meals because maintaining good hydration is important. Some members have success with a supplement called "Natural Moves" that can be ordered online:Any ideas on what to give for constipation? I've been giving 1tsp of canned pumpkin for 5 days now. She is trying to go but just isn't coming. Up the pumpkin? Or any other ideas? @Djamila @Kris & Teasel @Rachel
We gave her cat lax anD a little later the miralax she has pooped 2 days in a row nowTry 1/4t miralax twice/day until she poops. And definitely add extra water to the food - I add a hearty 3T to a can of fancy feast. Some people add even more than that.
Okay awesome we did the 1.5 u and it dropped at +6 150. It all depends how much she eats in a day I figured out. She eats fancy feast or tuna in water/ or in oil. Hardly eats dry food.I can't help with lab interpretation either. As for feeding, I would let her eat as much as she wants in several small meals a day or let her graze if that's her style. As Rachel said, just remove all food in the two hours prior to the PS.
Re dose: I'd go back to 1.5 u for 3 or 4 cycles. If that doesn't produce at least a yellow, go up to 1.75 u (not 2.0 u - too bug an increase at this low dose level) for 3 - 4 cycles. She's very volatile and things have been complicated by the infection but dose consistency and regular 0.25 u increases as needed is the way to go.
Nice!. Keep that dose for today and we'll see what tomorrow's AMPS is. No dry food is best and as much proper cat food as she'll eat because the recipe includes all the needed vitamins and minerals. We often recommend limiting fish and big fish like tuna are higher in the food chain so they tend to have higher mercury levels.Okay awesome we did the 1.5 u and it dropped at +6 150. It all depends how much she eats in a day I figured out. She eats fancy feast or tuna in water/ or in oil. Hardly eats dry food.
I read that. I need to go get the chicken fancy feast when I can possibly couple days.Nice!. Keep that dose for today and we'll see what tomorrow's AMPS is. No dry food is best and as much proper cat food as she'll eat because the recipe includes all the needed vitamins and mineral. We often recommend limiting fish and big fish like tuna are higher in the food chain so they tend to have higher mercury levels.
I'd continue with 1.75 u today and bump it to 2.0 u tomorrow. The yellow lows are an improvement over pinks. Yes, she's bouncy and rebounds high. If you hold an ineffective dose too long glucose toxicity can build (quickly in some cats) and reduce her sensitivity to insulin. That's the reason for fairly frequent 0.25 u increases until you see low blues in the middle cycle. Try to ignore the PSs and focus on the lows.We are now giving her 1.75 u however she's been staying in the 400-almost 600 range. Her lowest she has dropped that I know is 207. She is eating a good amount of fancy feast poultry now most so far is 1 can and 1/4 of another in one day plus eating a tad bit dry food. We will be sticking with 1.75 u for couple days. Not really sure why she is running so high. Does prozinc ever balance out the amps or the pmps? Are these numbers going to always remain high? Was just wondering we will see for couple days then will be increasing to 2 u @Kris & Teasel
Not really sure why she is running so high. Does prozinc ever balance out the amps or the pmps? Are these numbers going to always remain high?
I have told my parents that all cats should be on wet however affording the wet food for all cats are expensive 30 cans for 17.00 once 3 cats are eating it its expensive. The dry kibble is prescribed over weight management purina pro plan 50.00 for 16lbs bag that lasts more then a month due to litthe girl hardly eating it. Little girl comes to us and asks for wet food most the time before going to dry. When she eats dry it's only about 10 pieces if that and she walks away. Checked bg at +11 later 585. gave her 2 u at 12pm tested +4 hrs later 453. Not dropping fast might be good then? She's irritated with us now and blood testing isnt bad but giving insulin she fights. She hates the needle thinks what the vet did we r going to do.Yes, prozinc does eventually bring down the PS numbers, although not quite as flat as the L insulins get. However, since she's eating some kibble, they will probably remain rather high, although hopefully better than they are now. She's getting a really good insulin response (the amount of change from pre-shot to nadir), so when the rest of the kitties are transitioned off of the kibble completely, you will see improvement.
I have a feeling this little one is eating too much. She eats 1 tbs of food 5 to 6 times a day.. she weighs 5.8 pounds now I'm wondering if this is too much? We tested her bg it said hi.. giving her 2u here soon see what happens overnight.I'd continue with 1.75 u today and bump it to 2.0 u tomorrow. The yellow lows are an improvement over pinks. Yes, she's bouncy and rebounds high. If you hold an ineffective dose too long glucose toxicity can build (quickly in some cats) and reduce her sensitivity to insulin. That's the reason for fairly frequent 0.25 u increases until you see low blues in the middle cycle. Try to ignore the PSs and focus on the lows.
If she needs to gain weight you can let her eat. Is she still getting kibble. That'll make it hard to stabilize BGs. Aside from that, continue the 0.25 u increases until you see blues in the middle of the cycle. Ignore the high PSs.I have a feeling this little one is eating too much. She eats 1 tbs of food 5 to 6 times a day.. she weighs 5.8 pounds now I'm wondering if this is too much? We tested her bg it said hi.. giving her 2u here soon see what happens overnight.
Yes she is eating some kibble,not alot. Went to 2 u and lastnight it dropped to 54 at +7 hours. She didn't eat much at night. But eats more during the day. I will ignore the amps numbers and pmps I know the mid is important I'm sure she won't stay in the "green" over night. still give her 2 u if her amps is at 225? Or even 399?If she needs to gain weight you can let her eat. Is she still getting kibble. That'll make it hard to stabilize BGs. Aside from that, continue the 0.25 u increases until you see blues in the middle of the cycle. Ignore the high PSs.
Your PMPS and dose for last night are missing from your SS. That 54 might be an initial dramatic reaction to a dose increase earlier. Lots of cats run lower at night too. I suggest you try 2 u today and get a +2 to see where she might be headed.Yes she is eating some kibble,not alot. Went to 2 u and lastnight it dropped to 54 at +7 hours. She didn't eat much at night. But eats more during the day. I will ignore the amps numbers and pmps I know the mid is important I'm sure she won't stay in the "green" over night. still give her 2 u if her amps is at 225? Or even 399?
I see that weird didn't save she was high about 600 I'm assuming.Your PMPS and dose for last night are missing from your SS. That 54 might be an initial dramatic reaction to a dose increase earlier. Lots of cats run lower at night too. I suggest you try 2 u today and get a +2 to see where she might be headed.
If the extremely high PS continue you can give some thought to trying Lantus instead. It can be bought much more cheaply from a reputable Canadain online pharmacy - info available later on if you want it.
Actually, Vetsulin can make a bouncy kitty even bouncier. A depot insulin like Lantus generally gets them calmer.Yeah I was wondering about an insulin change the vet offers vetsulin as the next insulin ? I can tell him about lantus next vet appointment is Monday the 7th
I think I might know the problem and of course very new to this our prozinc is in the fridge door.. I read that you shouldn't put that there. I'm wondering if I need to get a new vial of prozinc the insulin isn't cloudy looking like it was in the beginning. Before I put it in the syringe I roll the vial.it's cloudy but not enough. I see clear more then cloudy in the syringe. Let me know your thoughts on thisActually, Vetsulin can make a bouncy kitty even bouncier. A depot insulin like Lantus generally gets them calmer.
When you roll the vial gently a few times it should take on a milky appearance. If you see clumps, etc. that's a sign the insulin has been altered somehow.I think I might know the problem and of course very new to this our prozinc is in the fridge door.. I read that you shouldn't put that there. I'm wondering if I need to get a new vial of prozinc the insulin isn't cloudy looking like it was in the beginning. Before I put it in the syringe I roll the vial.it's cloudy but not enough. I see clear more then cloudy in the syringe. Let me know your thoughts on this
Okay good to know. We are going to finish this up I placed it in the fridge not the door, it is milky but not milky enough. Might need a new vial. We are also weening the cats off dry food and they will only be allowed to eat dry at night time now. I think this will be for the better to help the elevated bg like Djamila suggested. Her bg at +2 was 296 I only gave 1.75 u due to not going to feed dry throughout the day. Another bg check will be +6.When you roll the vial gently a few times it should take on a milky appearance. If you see clumps, etc. that's a sign the insulin has been altered somehow.