PM shot at 11pm (2/7) and give .5
Check BG at 8am on (2/8) and if >200, give .5 (this would only be 9 hours since the last shot) - trying to figure out how to get her back on the 8am and 8pm schedule..
Katie, I agree that it would be simplest all round if you could skip that evening shot.
However, if the BG is
high when you get home, I would suggest giving the shot. ('If the cat needs insulin, it
needs insulin.')
If you
do give the evening shot then, as you say Katie, when it comes to the morning shot that would mean that it's only been 9 hours since the previous shot.
Even if the BG is over 200 in the morning (and therefore deemed shootable) there is the fact that there may still be some insulin in the system from the previous shot, and the shots could be 'overlapping'.
I use a long-lasting PZI that works on overlap. And that means that each insulin shot gets a 'kick up the backside' from the previous shot, some of which is still in the system (although is wearing off at that point).
If you were to shoot a .5 dose that morning (9 hours after the previous shot), it may have more effect than a 'typical' .5 dose. Does that make sense..?
It may actually turn out that Thaiger's BG isn't high enough to shoot in the morning at +9. So you could skip
that shot. That would be simple too!
An alternative to skipping a shot is to shoot a reduced dose.
Sometimes, even a nominal amount of insulin can act as a sort of 'duration booster'. And even if that small amount of insulin isn't enough to actually drop the BG much, it can still stop the BG rising so high/fast before the next shot. (Sorry if this is all too much information too soon...)
I think you're going to have to 'play it by ear', Katie.
We know so little at the moment about Thaiger's response to insulin so it's impossible to predict how things will play out over the next few days. (It'd be nice if he'd just sail into remission....

)
Well done for today. Top job.
I hope you get some good sleep.
We're here whenever you need us.
Eliz