ProBNP test

Howiesmom

Member Since 2020
Howie had a good check-up at the vet today! Kidneys are good, no major signs of arthritis, urinalysis was good, etc. My vet did listen to his heart and didn’t get any indications of a murmur or anything to be worried about. But he did suggest we look at doing a ProBNP blood test which can give some early indications of heart issues before any clinical signs become apparent. Has anyone else had this test done before?

As for his BG, he is back up to 52 units BID and will probably go up to 57 units on Sunday if he doesn’t start coming down again and staying in decent levels. Today has been a better day for him (AMPS= 125, +5=139). Ugh...time for another major order from Marks again. I have my next bottle of cabergoline on order. He’s been on it for 57 days. I wish when he earns reductions that he can stay there instead of doing good for a little bit and then needing steady increases back up to 50+ units. He also has started shedding like it is summer (I’m in Minnesota so definitely not summer)! Anyone else had to get their furminators out too?!?
 
But he did suggest we look at doing a ProBNP blood test which can give some early indications of heart issues before any clinical signs become apparent. Has anyone else had this test done before?
I have had that test cone on several of my cats. The results for my civi Mia were high and subsequent cardiologist visit the echocardiogram chowed somewhat enlarged heart and high blood pressure was also measured.
 
I have had that test cone on several of my cats. The results for my civi Mia were high and subsequent cardiologist visit the echocardiogram chowed somewhat enlarged heart and high blood pressure was also measured.
Thanks, Larry! This is helpful to know. Once you had the EKG done, then what did you do for Mia’s heart condition?
 
I have heard of a few kitties getting the ProBNP. It wasn't out yet before Neko had her first echocardiogram, but it's much cheaper than an echo so a good way to screen for heart issues. Note, you may or may not have and EKG done with a echocardiogram (heart ultrasound).
 
Ollie had the test before we knew about anything else. I had It done on her first vet visit. It came back normal. When I had the abdominal ultrasound done (because she had a very hard distended belly and the gruntal breathing) few days later, the IM picked up galloping heart among other things. 3 days after that, echo was done and she was diagnosed with hcm and put on benazepril. 3 months after that she was dx with acro. So I don't know how accurate it is.

Wendy if you remember Karen /Doodles may they both rest in peace. Acquired Leo from a breeder who had genetic tests done before selling. Supposedly tests were negative. Turned out Leo had hcm.
 
Last edited:
Hello...just wanted to chime in and say that Fred had the ProBNP test done in mid-February. This was before I had him tested for Acro/IAA, but we thought it would be a good idea to have a baseline, just in case. His results were normal at that time.
 
Hello...just wanted to chime in and say that Fred had the ProBNP test done in mid-February. This was before I had him tested for Acro/IAA, but we thought it would be a good idea to have a baseline, just in case. His results were normal at that time.
That is great to hear! Thanks for responding! I hope Fred is doing well!
 
QUOTE="Howiesmom, post: 2773458, member: 30789"]That is great to hear! Thanks for responding! I hope Fred is doing well![/QUOTE]
Of course! If you can stomach the various costs, I’m a big fan of baselines.

Very glad Howie had a good checkup!

Fred... *sigh*. Not a good day. ;-/
 
I had a cardiac ultrasound done last week. Maybe I should have gone for the ProBNP test instead? I paid $210 for the cardiac ultrasound and the ProBNP, I think is an expensive test? So maybe I was better off with the more specific information of the ultrasound (I just wrote up some of the report in my post for today). I don't know. If the ProBNP was high, I guess I would have been wondering what was really wrong. It's a good test though. Now I'm trying to remember the last time they checked Darcy's blood pressure (usually I ask for it to be done, but sometimes I forget). I do have a home BP machine. I may have to drag it out and see if I can get some readings on Darcy on a regular basis.
 
I was just reading this article on the test from a vet clinic that was started by a friend of mine... it says...

"... the ProBNP test is not perfect, and its results can be skewed from other disease processes in the body. Severe kidney disease, hypertension, hyperthyroidism, asthma, and chronic pulmonary disease can cause elevations in the ProBNP protein."

They do find it to be a very useful tool though. Just food for thought.
 
Kierra's ProBNP test in January was 24 so it was normal (<100 pmol/L is normal). The vet has also said her heart sounds good so we aren't doing any follow up echocardiogram at this point. Paula's post above is concerning though... what is genital breathing?
 
Ollie had the test before we knew about anything else. I had It done on her first vet visit. It came back normal. When I had the abdominal ultrasound done (because she had a very hard distended belly and the genital breathing) few days later, the IM picked up galloping heart among other things. 3 days after that, echo was done and she was diagnosed with hcm and put on benazepril. 3 months after that she was dx with acro. So I don't know how accurate it is.

Wendy if you remember Karen /Doodles may they both rest in peace. Acquired Leo from a breeder who had genetic tests done before selling. Supposedly tests were negative. Turned out Leo had hcm.
Who is Leo? Was he Maine Coon?
 
Who is Leo? Was he Maine Coon?

Leo was a kitten a departed member bought when her sugar kitty crossed. Leo was not Maine Coon or Rag doll but in the same family. Can't think what he is right now. Member researched breeds to find cats with least predisposed conditions. Found the breeder, who does testing on all her cats.
Kierra's ProBNP test in January was 24 so it was normal (<100 pmol/L is normal). The vet has also said her heart sounds good so we aren't doing any follow up echocardiogram at this point. Paula's post above is concerning though... what is genital breathing?

Should be gruntal breathing.
 
Leo was a kitten a departed member bought when her sugar kitty crossed. Leo was not Maine Coon or Rag doll but in the same family. Can't think what he is right now. Member researched breeds to find cats with least predisposed conditions. Found the breeder, who does testing on all her cats.

And Leo ended up with HCM anyway, despite the tests?
 

Pretty positive he does and stomatitis. Had full mouth extraction before he was 1 yr. Turns out the cattery he came from had a few problems with their kittens. New owners filed complaints but I don't think anything came of them. I just can't think what breed he is now. It's a large cat breed though. My Smokey was ragdoll. Her Doodles was maine coone he had hcm.
 
IMO, if you have to choose one or another, I would do a heart echo. It will give more information as to what the heart is doing and or what it's not doing proficiently.

When my first diabetic had one it showed he had a heart attack we knew nothing about 6 months prior.
 
Back
Top