Poopers Spreadsheet numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poopers and Catia

Member Since 2021
Hey everyone! I’m just looking for someone’s advice. I feel like Poopers numbers have been a bit higher than usual. We’ve had his insulin at .75 and changed it to 1 to see if the numbers would get better. Any advice one what to do? His spreadsheet is all updated!
thank you in advance
 
Here is your last post for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-much-insulin.246956/#post-2785497

How did you go about swapping over to Lantus? Did you have any luck with that?

Are you able to get at least one test in during the pm cycles? At the moment we have no idea what he is doing during a lot of the cycles.
The higher numbers could be from dropping low then bouncing.

I don’t use Caninsulin dose can’t help with dosing. Hopefully one of the girls tagged will be along soon.
 
Here is your last post for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-much-insulin.246956/#post-2785497

How did you go about swapping over to Lantus? Did you have any luck with that?

Are you able to get at least one test in during the pm cycles? At the moment we have no idea what he is doing during a lot of the cycles.
The higher numbers could be from dropping low then bouncing.

I don’t use Caninsulin dose can’t help with dosing. Hopefully one of the girls tagged will be along soon.
Hi Bron I don't think she switched over to lantus, I told her in her previous post to let us know, never heard back from her that she did
 
For now I am still on Caninsulin unfortunately. I haven’t checked his numbers today but I will soon. Any advice if I should just keep it at 1U or increase ?
 
I am still on Caninsulin. I have to buy multiple things so I’m waiting to get paid at the moment.
Understood. We all have budget's we have to work with.

Don't feel that I can give specific dosing advice, but any time that Poopers drops into those neon green BG numbers, that is the danger zone and has earned him more food, more testing, and a dose reduction for the next dose. Those neon green BG numbers are skirting too close to hypoglycemia, and you want to bring Poopers back up to a safe BG level. Safe would be above 80-90 mg/dl (4.4 -5 mmol/L), preferably. And the monitoring should continue until he is past his usual nadir in the cycle.

I also suggest you reread the Caninsulin/Vetsulin dosing protocols, from that ISG group that you can find here on the message board. Shooting Poopers when he is under 100 mg/dL (5.5 mmol/L) at his pre-shot test is really dangerous. Even shooting when the pre-shot BG is <150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) is iffy, given your lack of test data.
 
Understood. We all have budget's we have to work with.

Don't feel that I can give specific dosing advice, but any time that Poopers drops into those neon green BG numbers, that is the danger zone and has earned him more food, more testing, and a dose reduction for the next dose. Those neon green BG numbers are skirting too close to hypoglycemia, and you want to bring Poopers back up to a safe BG level. Safe would be above 80-90 mg/dl (4.4 -5 mmol/L), preferably. And the monitoring should continue until he is past his usual nadir in the cycle.

I also suggest you reread the Caninsulin/Vetsulin dosing protocols, from that ISG group that you can find here on the message board. Shooting Poopers when he is under 100 mg/dL (5.5 mmol/L) at his pre-shot test is really dangerous. Even shooting when the pre-shot BG is <150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) is iffy, given your lack of test data.
Ok I will look for that. Also how many times should I be testing him a day?
 
Understood. We all have budget's we have to work with.

Don't feel that I can give specific dosing advice, but any time that Poopers drops into those neon green BG numbers, that is the danger zone and has earned him more food, more testing, and a dose reduction for the next dose. Those neon green BG numbers are skirting too close to hypoglycemia, and you want to bring Poopers back up to a safe BG level. Safe would be above 80-90 mg/dl (4.4 -5 mmol/L), preferably. And the monitoring should continue until he is past his usual nadir in the cycle.

I also suggest you reread the Caninsulin/Vetsulin dosing protocols, from that ISG group that you can find here on the message board. Shooting Poopers when he is under 100 mg/dL (5.5 mmol/L) at his pre-shot test is really dangerous. Even shooting when the pre-shot BG is <150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) is iffy, given your lack of test data.
Also, his numbers have been pretty higher than usual. I just tested him and it’s 19.9mmol/L (358mg/dL) should I increase his insulin later? I will test him again before his PMPS but any suggestions ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top