Poopers PMPS 25!!!

Poopers and Catia

Member Since 2021
Poopers PMPS is very low. Were feeding him some FF pate with FF gravy lovers. Should we even give him insulin or drop it to .75U??? I wasnt able to get a mid day test i had to stay at work a bit later unfortuantely
 
Just checked its at 58 so thats good, now im not too sure if i should give him insulin

Phew! That’s a better number.

I wish I could help with that. I think I’d stall 20 min and retest to see where he’s at. It will be tough however since the food may have kicked at that point. Maybe by then your 911 will grab the attention of someone to help with dosing.

Is it shot time now?
 
Phew! That’s a better number.

I wish I could help with that. I think I’d stall 20 min and retest to see where he’s at. It will be tough however since the food may have kicked at that point. Maybe by then your 911 will grab the attention of someone to help with dosing.

Is it shot time now?
yeah his shot time is now im going to test him again and see if its gone higher
 
With a quick read on the TR protocol, I think that number earns a reduction. Please wait to hear from an expert though.

Here’s an a bit of text on stalling I got from the forum.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
 
Good call not shooting. Definitely be sure to keep checking him though to make sure he’s staying above 50. With TR and being less than a year diabetic, they earn reductions every time they go below 50 which means that he already would’ve earned a reduction to 0.75U yesterday when he dropped below 50.
 
His numbers are not going up...
Good call not shooting. Definitely be sure to keep checking him though to make sure he’s staying above 50. With TR and being less than a year diabetic, they earn reductions every time they go below 50 which means that he already would’ve earned a reduction to 0.75U yesterday when he dropped below 50.
I keep checking but now his numbers are dropping again for some reason. After we fed him it was at 58 then 50 now 40. We gave him more FF gravy lovers hopefully it goes up... should i not give him any insulin today and tomorrow morning do .75U?
 
His numbers are not going up...

I keep checking but now his numbers are dropping again for some reason. After we fed him it was at 58 then 50 now 40. We gave him more FF gravy lovers hopefully it goes up... should i not give him any insulin today and tomorrow morning do .75U?
Correct, no insulin tonight.

And yes, you would reduce to 0.75 tomorrow morning as long as he’s high enough to shoot.

Do you have any karo syrup or honey that you can rub on his gums to help bring him up?
 
Correct, no insulin tonight.

And yes, you would reduce to 0.75 tomorrow morning as long as he’s high enough to shoot.

Do you have any karo syrup or honey that you can rub on his gums to help bring him up?

yes that will be our next step, we just fed him some more and will test him again in about 15-20 min
 
With that BG of 2 at +.15 yesterday you needed to have reduced the dose to 0.75 units at the pm cycle that day. Any drop into the 30s or below is an immediate reduction in dose.
I would keep monitoring him until he is able to stay up on his own without food for 2 hours.
Would you mind putting n/s or nil into the squares where you didn’t give any insulin please…thanks.
I think he’s on a bit of a mission.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top