Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

If he goes lower, I would skip the shot tonight. You don't have enough data yet to shoot this low, I don't think.
Let's just see where he goes without feeding.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

KarensPoe said:
Is it good for him to go lower at this time?

Well, if he goes higher, we'll know if it's a "rising number" and can consider the option of shooting .25u. (If you don't shoot, you run the risk that he just keeps climbing higher to his next shot time.)

If he stays the same or goes lower, then we don't want to shoot tonight's shot, which means you might have to learn how to shot drops of insulin. But, this can also be a good thing and a sign his pancreas is trying really really hard to do the work.

Thanks, Dyana, for helping out with the dosing. :-D
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I still consider his numbers to be dropping even if they don't seem to be at the moment. In the interest of safety, and the way he reacted off the 0.25 dose this morning, and the lack of any data shooting this low, I would skip tonight.

I too was thinking of maybe having you try a 0.1 dose next.

You can go ahead and feed your boy.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

ok thank you and he thanks you immensely...lol

And how do you do that low of a dose? how do I get a drop in the syringe? ugh
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Just wanted to check in on Poe and on you. You are doing a great job! Sounds like he really is trying to get his pancreas working on its own. I am so glad that people with experience are here helping you. Best to you and your baby. Hoping to see your OTJ post sometime in the near future. Such great numbers! :smile: :smile:
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I can't thank you all enough for holding my hand through this...it's such a scarey thing to have something like this happen and be alone. It's just him and I and being able to come here and be guided by those who know exactly what I'm going through is a God send.

He's eating now and has been such a good boy through all this. He sees the lancet and every thing in my hand and will still come to me when I call him. His poor lil ears are bruised and holey, but he still lays pretty still when I poke him and work out the bead (although thats not such an issue anymore, he bleeds wells if I poke right).

So...do I need to test anymore tonight or just wait for the AMPS?

Thank you all again...sending grateful hugs to all
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

If you could get a test 3 to 4 hours after eating that would be good.

I measure 0.1 by having the top of the plunger just barely touching the bottom of the zero line on the syringe. Others may have different ideas for you. Let's see how he does tonight and tomorrow.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

wow are we having fun yet?

heres how 0.1IU looks :
01unit-1.jpg


and 0.25 for comparison:
025unit-1.jpg
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I wasnt able to get the syringes with the 1/2 u markings, so I had to eyeball this morning and will do so again. I have a good idea of the .25 so we are going 1/2 of that now?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I think that's what dyana is saying. Maybe just pull the syringe so it just passes the zero line?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

LOL nuuuu poor guy has been poked and pinched enough...this is true unconditional love :-D
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

PMBG +4 is at 157 Seems he's holding good? He finished his dinner over 2 hours ago.

Will test in the morning and post with a 911 for advice, but am prepared for the .1

Thanks and have a good night everyone...Poe and I are off to dreamland
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I have to log off to go to work, so won't be back for 11 hours.

I would give the 0.1 dose if you can get a couple tests in today, and if you have to leave can leave some food out for him. I don't know if you have another cat that will eat all the food if you leave it out for Poe.

If you decide to give the dose, please be sure it is only 0.1 and not 1.0 unit, and get a +2 test if you can, and post the number here. If he is going down at +2 and you have to leave, then I would leave some higher carb food out, like a medium carb (Fancy Feast Medleys or their Roasted varieties, or mix a little HC with a litte LC). If he is the same or higher and you have to leave I would just leave some extra LC out for him.

Have a good day.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

KarensPoe said:
... His poor lil ears are bruised and holey...
Have you any Neosporin ointment with pain relief or generic? You apply a small dab a few minutes before testing, then wipe off at test time, to reduce the annoyance of being pricked, plus it helps the blood bead up. A small dab wiped in after testing will help it heal.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I have been applying a dab of it after every test. I think they are just sore and very sensitive right now, but he still doesn't fight me when I poke him.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Good morning! Are you getting a +1 or +2?

Dont worry about the bruising.. it will heal and it will get better as you get better at it. I still get a little bit of bruising sometimes but its been a year and does no harm ..
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

AMPS +2 is 276

Im heading out the door. I will leave him extra LC food to snack on. I'll check this post when I get to work in about 20 min or so, will leave at 911 for now and remove when I get to work.

I also gave him his inhaled steroid after the test.

Thank YOu
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Basic rule of thumb with lantus

If +2 is a lot more than pre-shot, than it's probably going to be an inactive cycle.
If +2 is similar to pre-shot, it's likely to be an active cycle.
If +2 is much less than pre-shot, it's likely to be a VERY active cycle.
BUT, there is that ECID thing. :shock: and kitties can surprise us and not follow the rules.

With this basic rule of thumb, do you understand why we keep suggesting you get those +2 tests? :-D

Your +2 was much higher than the pre-shot, so it is probably going to be an inactive cycle.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Deb & Wink said:
Basic rule of thumb with lantus

If +2 is a lot more than pre-shot, than it's probably going to be an inactive cycle.
If +2 is similar to pre-shot, it's likely to be an active cycle.
If +2 is much less than pre-shot, it's likely to be a VERY active cycle.
BUT, there is that ECID thing. :shock: and kitties can surprise us and not follow the rules.

With this basic rule of thumb, do you understand why we keep suggesting you get those +2 tests? :-D

Your +2 was much higher than the pre-shot, so it is probably going to be an inactive cycle.

Yes and no...lol...I am hoping that inactive cycle means his pancreas is working better. It seems that just when I think I'm getting an understanding, it changes, and I'm lost again.

I'm also a bit concerned with the dosing..not that it's too small or large...it seems to be working good for him...but I'm at a .1 now...and struggling to get that precise in the syringe, but even that I can handle. It's the what if I have to go lower that I'm worried about...or is there nothing lower at this point?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I'm also a bit concerned with the dosing..not that it's too small or large...it seems to be working good for him...but I'm at a .1 now...and struggling to get that precise in the syringe, but even that I can handle. It's the what if I have to go lower that I'm worried about...or is there nothing lower at this point?

There is something lower than the 0.1, the some insulin or one drop, And then an OTJ trial. You are no where near that point yet. We need to get consistent numbers, down in the greens and blues only before we would even consider that.

We are seeing healing numbers but still some yellows on the SS so we have not reached that point of no insulin.

You will need to learn to shoot low numbers more quickly then some folks do. That is why the data gathering stage you are in, taking all those tests, is so important right now. We need to know what Poe's patterns are on the dosing he is getting. All those tests you are doing are so that you are "data ready" for shooting low. If you do not have enough data yet, you may need to skip a shot. Skipping means a step back and tehn two steps forward.

You may be nearing the point where you need to start posting over in TR, just to get those more experienced eyes on your spreadsheet.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Spoke with my vet..all is good...I invited her to come here and look at Poe's spreadsheet and gave her highlights of the past few days, along with the past 2 days work of numbers/shot doses.

She wants me to decrease his inhaled steroid to once every 24 hours instead of every 12 hours. So, my plan on that is to give it to him as a morning dose after i have tested him AMPS and then AMPS +2, since I am unable to get another test in after that during the week.

She feels it might be affecting his numbers some, but nothing significant.

I have the prescription I need for the syringes with 1/2 unit markings, which I didn't know, and the fact that Walmart pharmacy was closing down for "lunch" just as I got there, so I will try again today to get them.

I looked for the TR Board, but wasn't able to locate it.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

AMPS + 10 is 329. I had left him some of the normal LC food, which he did eat a bit of, but I don't know what time, so would that play on this number?

edited to change HC to LC
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

AMPS +11 316. Im' not sure how to dose him in an hour. Do I still give him the .1? I have about 1/2 hour before I have to test/feed/dose...
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

The pre-shot glucose level is not used to adjust the Lantus dose, unless it is low enough that there would be concern about the shot taking the glucose level too low.

If you give the exact same dose of Lantus (0.1 units) about every 12 hours, for at least 3 days (6 shots), the nadir (lowest post shot value) is used to adjust the shot. Just hold it steady for another 5 shots of the same amount as long as he is safe to shoot and check the nadir at that time.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -Dose Due in 1/2 Hour Need

I agree. Stick with the 0.1 dose for 3 days, and see how it goes.
Did you get the syringes, today?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -Dose Due in 1/2 Hour Need

No..got stuck late at work...going to stop tomorrow. I followed your advice about the plunger touching the 0 line and it was OK..even at 6 am I did ok.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -Dose Due in 1/2 Hour Need

Hi Karen,

What is Poe's latest BG number and at what time did you do that test?

Ok, I see a 342 on your spreadsheet for PMPS.

You want to give that same 0.1U dose as you did this morning.

Yes, the numbers are high, but we dose based on the nadir, or mid-cycle numbers, not the pre-shot.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -Dose Due in 1/2 Hour Need

I gave him the .1 after I fed him. What will be the best time to test for the nadir number?

I can't get the test in during the day...but will get one tonight...just need to know how many hours after dose
 
Re: Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -Dose Due in 1/2 Hour Need

he is pretty high - 2 hours or maybe 3. almost looks like he is bouncing off a late low last night.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -Dose Due in 1/2 Hour Need

Lantus has an onset, or starts to work around hour +2 or +3.

Most cats have a nadir around +5 to +7, somewhere in between those two numbers.

Would you please get a +2 test this evening so we can see how Poe is doing then?

Then, a test before you go to sleep would be good, what we call a before bed test.

If you are willing to set your alarm to wake you around +6 tonight, that could give us some very useful information. None of us like getting up in the middle of the night to test our cats, but sometimes it is needed.

If he is bouncing off a late low from last night like Wendy said ( I think so too), then that +6 time tonight would be very good to get a test.
 
There will be about an hour difference between the before I go to bed number and the +6...should I still do both?
 
Ok but you are starting to understand this - if the +2 is the same or signifcantly lower than preshot you may want to do more tests
 
Re: Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -Dose Due in 1/2 Hour Need

Dyana said:
I agree. Stick with the 0.1 dose for 3 days, and see how it goes.

Remember this from earlier in your post today from Dyana?

So in the morning, you'll want to give that same 0.1U dose, UNLESS the BG is < 200. if under 200, then test, do not feed, do not shoot, post here for help, test again in 30 minutes.
 
PMPS 342 to 319 at +2 = 23 point difference. Flat cat as we would say. Numbers almost the same.

Still get that +6 please.
 
I would put $ on a moderately active cycle according to debs logic. You'll want that +6

If +2 is a lot more than pre-shot, than it's probably going to be an inactive cycle.
If +2 is similar to pre-shot, it's likely to be an active cycle.
If +2 is much less than pre-shot, it's likely to be a VERY active cycle.
BUT, there is that ECID thing. and kitties can surprise us and not follow the rules.
 
I will definitely get the +6...and post as soon as I have it

Thank you all very much..I'm still trying to understand all this...I appreciate your patience too :)
 
Please, ask all the questions you want. If we haven't explained the "Whys" sufficiently, let us know and we will try to state the reason slightly differently.

Someone helped us in the beginning. We are paying it forward.

p.s. And what time, central time, would that +6 be?
 
Deb & Wink said:
Please, ask all the questions you want. If we haven't explained the "Whys" sufficiently, let us know and we will try to state the reason slightly differently.

Someone helped us in the beginning. We are paying it forward.

p.s. And what time, central time, would that +6 be?

I will...I guess I'm not even sure of the questions yet...I was understanding...then the dosage change kinda threw me off...and with all the testing now...I'm still trying to understand...I know it has to do with finding the perfect dose for him for every 12 hours...

I think I'm just kinda worn...being new...changes everyday...afraid of leaving him alone...just alot to take in.

But thanks...and when my head clears a bit I'm sure I'll get a grip on it all better
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top