Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Ok I am calling it, skip this one.

She is still flat and given you don't have the 1/2unit syringes (which you are picking up tomorrow right?lol) and we don't have an experienced dosing member here, I think you should skip tonite. Go ahead and give her din dins.

Let's see where she is tomorrow morning. No food for two hours before shot, then at shot time If she is over 200 try and give her close to 0.25 as u can. And get a +2. I am in the office tomorrow so won't be around as much. If she is under 200 I would skip again.

U are going to vet tomorrow right?

Wendy
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Wait...ok..let me get this straight...lol

Feed him normally...
No dosing at all
Test him again at AMPS (no food 2 hours prior, not an issue, I'll be sleeping)
I can stop tomorrow after work and get the syringes
I will do the +2 after AMPS or BG...no doses if under 200 at all

I got that all right?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Sorry I meant him. I don't know why I keep thinking Poe is a girl!

Wait...ok..let me get this straight...lol

Feed him normally... Yes! His normal low carb wet canned.
No dosing at all.. Correct
Test him again at AMPS (no food 2 hours prior, not an issue, I'll be sleeping). Yep
I can stop tomorrow after work and get the syringes.. Cool
I will do the +2 after AMPS or BG...no doses if under 200 at all .. Yep. And post if you see any drops you don't like after giving insulin (if u give any)

Vet tomorrow?
Wendy
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I will be talking to the vet tomorrow, not a visit that I know of unless she wants me to come in. I think she starts late tomorrow...like about 3 pm my time (CST)
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Actually, instead of just skipping, I'd rather we did a "food test" to see if his pancreas is working.

So, no shot, but go ahead and feed. Test again in an hour (he should be higher from the food) and then again in 2 hours (the food should have cleared his system by then). If his number from 2 hours is around 130 still, then we know he's got some insulin his body is producing. If his number is significantly lower than 130, then we know his pancreas is producing quite a bit of insulin, which is a fantastic thing and a sign he's trying to go into remission.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

KPassa said:
Actually, instead of just skipping, I'd rather we did a "food test" to see if his pancreas is working.

So, no shot, but go ahead and feed. Test again in an hour (he should be higher from the food) and then again in 2 hours (the food should have cleared his system by then). If his number from 2 hours is around 130 still, then we know he's got some insulin his body is producing. If his number is significantly lower than 130, then we know his pancreas is producing quite a bit of insulin, which is a fantastic thing and a sign he's trying to go into remission.


OK...feeding him now...will test at +1 and post...then again at +2 and post

Whew...my heart started beating again..thank you all *hugs*
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I'm sorry, I thought I posted but it dissappeared. I too think skipping tonight is best because Poe has gone for a day and a half with no insulin and has pretty close to normal non diabetic numbers. I don't think you have enough data yet, to shoot this low.

Boy, I almost lost this post too.. you guys type fast. ;-)
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Okay, that's the "food spike." Now let's see if it goes down in an hour. :mrgreen:

When was the last time you gave him steroids and is he still on his inhaler?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

He had his inhaled steroid dose at about 9:45 this morning

He is supposed to get one puff every 12 hours, but I think the vet is getting ready to end that
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

That was 2 hours after his shot, right? And he's due another one in a little bit here?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

The morning steroid inhaler dose was about 4 hours after his AMGB. The latest is PMBG +1 at 182
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Okay, still get that +2 so we can see if his numbers go down after eating without insulin.

I would be curious as to how the steroids are affecting his BGs, so if you can, try to get a test (+4?) before you give him tonight's steroids. Then, if possible, try to grab another test or two an hour or so after the steroid treatment.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Depending how often he needs steroids, in the future, you might need to increase his dose and/or start insulin again at a small amount while this is going on. Basically, you treat the steroid-induced hyperglycemia as needed. If he doesn't spike too high from the steroids, you might not even need to do that much.

Getting these tests now gives us a better picture of what we might be dealing with here. ;-)
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

He's been on the inhaled steroid for 2 weeks as of tomorrow. I was giving him albuterol too, but the vet had me stop that last Tuesday.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Usually steroids spike blood sugar which is what Kay is trying to see. The inhaled might not be having an effect but I wonder if taking him off the albutetrol is why the sugar is coming down.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

With meter variance, that's about the same. Don't worry because it might just be his own natural insulin hasn't fully kicked in yet. It's usually around two hours and his might just be taking a little longer.

Try to get a +4 (before you give steroids) and we'll see if his numbers have come down even further.

(Yes, I'll be here in 2 hours. It'll only be 7:30 PM for me. ;-) )
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

ok see you in 2 hours...ugh his poor ears...he's a bleeder for sure :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Kay - can this "steroid" experiment wait till another day to give the poor kitty a break? Its not like we have to worry about a hypo or anything. Plus Karen could probably do with a good night sleep.

Karen - put some neosporin on them.. and give Poe a treat!
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I put neosporin on his ears every time lately...I think he's getting kinda sensitive now..but he still takes it...and gave him treats too..he's sleeping sound in the same place I have been testing him
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Usually steroids spike blood sugar which is what Kay is trying to see. The inhaled might not be having an effect but I wonder if taking him off the albutetrol is why the sugar is coming down.

The albuterol isn't the steroid...but it still might have impacted his numbers. I don't know. The vet did say that the inhaled steroid has less effect on BG than the liquid would.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

If you feel up for it. I'd like to see if he's lower by then.

Don't worry about the ears. The first two weeks are the worst, but eventually, their bodies create new capillaries and they don't get as sore any more and the bruising decreases. You can't even tell I test Michelangelo and I test him almost exclusively in his right ear at least 4 times a day or more.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Still roughly the same. I'm thinking tomorrow he'll be well over 200. So, the plan is to shoot only .25u tomorrow if he is over 200.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I'll do my best with the .25 My syringes dont have 1/2 markings..so I have to eyeball

Another thing is that if I dose him that low...do I need to be here all day to watch?
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

You want to dose him only if he's over 200, which is not that low. The .25u is a small enough dose that you're giving him some insulin so we can get his numbers lower but not too much that he drops into the 40s again or you have to keep skipping doses. The lowest you've shot was 1u and you both did fine for the most part. This is .75u less so I think Poe will be fine on this as well.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

OK him and I are headed off to bed...I'm going to try really hard to get that .25..and I did eyeball outside the syringe...so I think I have a pretty good idea.

thanks :razz:
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Have a great night and good luck in the morning! I'll still be sleeping I-) but there will be others about so don't hesitate to post first if you have any questions.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I am on my way into the office so sorry for short response. U only want to give 0.25 because the pink today is likely a direct result of the lows yesterday and he should come down from that "bounce" soon.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

For future reference, You need to go back to the very FIRST post in your topic ,click on the little edit icon over towards the right hand side in the post, and change the radio button to the 911 icon. That will make it show up better on the board.

By putting the 911 icon in the new post in your existing topic, the 911 is buried and not so easily visible. People will not see it until they open your topic and scroll all the way down towards the end.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

OK...I know I need to remember to set the 911 and then remove it when crisis has passed.

I gave him the .25 about 15 min after his AMPS...had to leave for work...won't be able to test til I get home in another 6-7 hours and hopefully will be talking with vet about that time too.

Thanks
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

AMPS +8 is at 164

I stopped at Wal Mart and the syringes they showed me did not look like they had the 1/2 unit markings. They were closing for lunch (nice huh?) and told me that if I wanted them I had to have a prescription anyway. So, even if they DID have them, I'd have to get a hold of my vet to get them and I don't think she will be in the office for at least another hour.
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

Not bad at all! This means it'll most likely be safe to shoot him again tonight, which is the goal we're after with Lantus: the smallest amount that is safe to give twice in a 24-hour period.

As to syringes, the laws vary by state, but for Illinois, you should be able to purchase up to 20 syringes without prescription. Again, it depends on the pharmacist, because even here in California (we're allowed up to 30 syringes without a prescription), there are a few pharmacies that still won't sell me any. :roll:
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I'm not going to worry about it. I did ok using the syringes I have with the .25 unit. I gave him a couple of tblspns of his regular low carb food, but his next shot is not due for another 3 hours...just enough to keep him from howling at me (he seen me eating :P)

So...I think I'm getting the hang of it...and am still prayerful that he will go into total remission. I pulled the syringe to the 1/2 and expelled 1/2 of that and it was a drop literally..so now I know how to handle the .25
 
Re: Poe's Numbers - Advice Please

I think he'll just go lower if you stall. Come on Poe, prove me wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top