PMPS too low to shoot UPDATE

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you push the syringplunger in firmlyN insert into the insulin, and reease, it draws up a pretty tiny dose. Maybe see what amounts you get using colored water and a syringe a few times.
 
Whoo Hoo! Looks like this boy wants off the juice! (Anti jinx). Sounds like a solid plan. Lucy, it looks to me like you could "chase" the number. So, once you get strips again, if he is too low to shoot, then feed him and wait a couple hours and retest. If he is over 180, shoot your token amount (whatever you decide) Then test again in 12 hours. If he is too low, repeat the chase. You are most likely to be shooting off 12/12, maybe 14 one day, 16 another - whenever he needs a drop, but no more often then +12. It's nerve wracking, but usually doesn't take long. The idea is that you are catching him when he is over your target number and giving him a little bit of insulin to drop lower. Make sense?

Your other option is to continue with 12/12, planning on stalling and sometimes skipping. That will work fine too but also a little nerve wracking. Well, let's face it - this whole dance is nerve wracking!

One fun thing to do is test before eating and 20 minutes later. If his number falls rather than rises, his pancreas is waking up!

So we generally consider a cat in remission if they are in the 40-120 range without insulin for two weeks. Paws crossed!
 
My Smokey needs Squallie's vibes. I'm definitely :banghead: here. I have learned when Smokey's changes dose he needs to stay at the dose for at least 3 days to adjust. Before any other change.

Keep going Squallie!!!!
 
If you push the syringplunger in firmlyN insert into the insulin, and reease, it draws up a pretty tiny dose. Maybe see what amounts you get using colored water and a syringe a few times.
I tried this last night and I couldn't seem to draw up any fluid. I also tried counting drops, but 1 unit only gave me 2 drops so I don't think I can dose anything smaller than 0.5, at least not with these syringes. :(
 
Maybe pick up some U100s (0.5 markings) and use the conversion chart? You can shoot 0.1 with those.
That's my next plan of action! :)

I stalled for over an hour and his BG still only read 160. I finally fed a very late breakfast (my IBD girl vomited, I think straying that far from her schedule upset her tummy) , and I'll just have to see how Squall does with no insulin today. Crossing fingers and paws that he doesn't have really high numbers this PM!
 
Depends on the state. Some places, no. I'd call your drug store and ask. Would your vet be willing to give you a prescription? They are often reluctant because you are using a syringe that is not made for your insulin (U40 vs U100). They are sometime suspicious of the conversion chart.

The other possibility is using a magnifying glass. Sometimes people can measure 0.25 on a U40 syringe of they have "help"
 
... I also tried counting drops, but 1 unit only gave me 2 drops so I don't think I can dose anything smaller than 0.5, at least not with these syringes. :(
Folks have noted that slowly twisting the syringe barrel while applying slight pressure has allowed them to get small drops.
Your mileage may vary.
 
Well, no insulin last night, no insulin this morning and none again tonight. Squallie's PMPS is 125, and there's no point stalling, it's not going to come up enough for me to shoot.

I have a question I hope someone can answer for me. While his BG is 125 with the Relion meter, it's 199 with the Alphatrak. Since I never really use the Alphatrak, I am unfamiliar with the "no shot" numbers for it. It seems to me that 199 is pretty high. Should I be giving him insulin, based on the Alphatrak reading? I only tested with it so I could show the numbers to my vet, as that is what he uses, but now I'm a little confused.
 
Well, no insulin last night, no insulin this morning and none again tonight. Squallie's PMPS is 125, and there's no point stalling, it's not going to come up enough for me to shoot.

I have a question I hope someone can answer for me. While his BG is 125 with the Relion meter, it's 199 with the Alphatrak. Since I never really use the Alphatrak, I am unfamiliar with the "no shot" numbers for it. It seems to me that 199 is pretty high. Should I be giving him insulin, based on the Alphatrak reading? I only tested with it so I could show the numbers to my vet, as that is what he uses, but now I'm a little confused.
Maybe a tag @Robin&BB as she is familiar with the Alphatrak.
 
I looked at @BJM's reference notes but I'm not sure I completely understand if the veterinary numbers are close to or equivalent to the Alphatrak numbers.
 
Cheering you on Lucy! You go Squallie! You can buy the Relion U100's at Walmart. Just ask for the syringes with the 1/2 marks. My box says 3/10mlcc, 31 gauge, 8mm in length. The box is white with a purple strip. They have orange caps.
 
Cheering you on Lucy! You go Squallie! You can buy the Relion U100's at Walmart. Just ask for the syringes with the 1/2 marks. My box says 3/10mlcc, 31 gauge, 8mm in length. The box is white with a purple strip. They have orange caps.
Thank you, I'll look for them!
 
@Robin&BB, maybe you can help answer this question for me? Squallie's BG was 125 tonight on the Relion glucometer, and 199 on the Alphatrak. 125 is too low for me to shoot, especially since I don't have syringes I can microdose with. But 199 seems so high to me! I don't know what the no-shot number is using the Alphatrak, and what the "normal" range is. I hoped maybe you could tell me, since you regularly use an Alphatrak.

Thanks so much! :)
 
@Robin&BB, maybe you can help answer this question for me? Squallie's BG was 125 tonight on the Relion glucometer, and 199 on the Alphatrak. 125 is too low for me to shoot, especially since I don't have syringes I can microdose with. But 199 seems so high to me! I don't know what the no-shot number is using the Alphatrak, and what the "normal" range is. I hoped maybe you could tell me, since you regularly use an Alphatrak. Thanks so much! :)
I have always gone by 200 on my AT2, without any problems. So I'd say you're fine shooting at that 199 on an AT2 meter. But if you have any concern, do another AT2 test using the opposite ear. That's what I've always done if I thought I was seeing a wonky #.
 
An additional note: There's still a lot of conjecture as to whether or not that 30% to 40% reference range differential between readings on a human glucometer vs. an AT2 would hold true at the mid to upper ends of the range as well as at the low end. Nobody really knows for certain, as yet - except as relates to the low end #s in the reference ranges, as cited in Dr. Rand's articles/dosing protocols.

From your SS, I can see that you're heading toward "dinky-dose" land, so would be great if you could get some U-100 syringes marked on the half unit & use the conversion table; makes it a little easier to manage those really small doses!

Here's something I keep in mind these days, given where Bat-Bat's at with her dosing at present (perhaps you'll find it useful in some way): As I know that her BG generally rises about 60 points after her AM or PM meal, I always keep that in mind now when I look at her AM/PM preshot # because (since the renal threshold occurs somewhere between 250-300 mg/dL in most cats, depending on which veterinary article you're reading). And I want to keep her from crossing that threshold as much as possible.

For anyone viewing my SS, I must caution you that while I shoot Bat-Bat at much lower #s on ProZinc than is normally recommended, I am able to do so ONLY because:
1) She's on a really, really tiny dose now;
2) I'm always here to monitor;
3) I know her insulin, I know where my cat nadirs and how her body normally reacts to that insulin.

So I would not personally recommend shooting at the same #s as I do AT ANY TIME to anyone else, as every cat is different - and hypoglycemia is always to be avoided.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top