here. I have learned when Smokey's changes dose he needs to stay at the dose for at least 3 days to adjust. Before any other change.I tried this last night and I couldn't seem to draw up any fluid. I also tried counting drops, but 1 unit only gave me 2 drops so I don't think I can dose anything smaller than 0.5, at least not with these syringes.If you push the syringplunger in firmlyN insert into the insulin, and reease, it draws up a pretty tiny dose. Maybe see what amounts you get using colored water and a syringe a few times.
That's my next plan of action!Maybe pick up some U100s (0.5 markings) and use the conversion chart? You can shoot 0.1 with those.
Do I need a Rx for these?Maybe pick up some U100s (0.5 markings) and use the conversion chart? You can shoot 0.1 with those.
Folks have noted that slowly twisting the syringe barrel while applying slight pressure has allowed them to get small drops.... I also tried counting drops, but 1 unit only gave me 2 drops so I don't think I can dose anything smaller than 0.5, at least not with these syringes.![]()
I'l try that, thanks!Folks have noted that slowly twisting the syringe barrel while applying slight pressure has allowed them to get small drops.
Your mileage may vary.
Maybe a tag @Robin&BB as she is familiar with the Alphatrak.Well, no insulin last night, no insulin this morning and none again tonight. Squallie's PMPS is 125, and there's no point stalling, it's not going to come up enough for me to shoot.
I have a question I hope someone can answer for me. While his BG is 125 with the Relion meter, it's 199 with the Alphatrak. Since I never really use the Alphatrak, I am unfamiliar with the "no shot" numbers for it. It seems to me that 199 is pretty high. Should I be giving him insulin, based on the Alphatrak reading? I only tested with it so I could show the numbers to my vet, as that is what he uses, but now I'm a little confused.
Thank you, I'll look for them!Cheering you on Lucy! You go Squallie! You can buy the Relion U100's at Walmart. Just ask for the syringes with the 1/2 marks. My box says 3/10mlcc, 31 gauge, 8mm in length. The box is white with a purple strip. They have orange caps.
Thanks, Shane!I don't know about Alphatraks, I just wanted to cheer you and Squallie on! Great numbers!
I have always gone by 200 on my AT2, without any problems. So I'd say you're fine shooting at that 199 on an AT2 meter. But if you have any concern, do another AT2 test using the opposite ear. That's what I've always done if I thought I was seeing a wonky #.@Robin&BB, maybe you can help answer this question for me? Squallie's BG was 125 tonight on the Relion glucometer, and 199 on the Alphatrak. 125 is too low for me to shoot, especially since I don't have syringes I can microdose with. But 199 seems so high to me! I don't know what the no-shot number is using the Alphatrak, and what the "normal" range is. I hoped maybe you could tell me, since you regularly use an Alphatrak. Thanks so much!![]()