? PMPS 364, increase to 5?

tackeee

Member Since 2019
After a curve today with a recent increase to 4.75, it looks like Little One needs a dose increase to 5?

Also I left a message with his dental specialist saying the gums around the canines he left in look a bit inflamed, and if he might need to have them all removed. I also set an appt w my own vet to discuss potential reasons for his BG increase again in a bit over a week.

For now, is an increase to 5 recommended? @Wendy&Neko


Link to older thread:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-384-increase-dose.213907/#post-2369536
 
If following SLGS, you hold the dose 14 cycles, tonight is cycle five. So no increase yet. We only increase when safe to do so, which means knowing how low this dose is taking Little One. Cycle five or six after an increase can often see action. I hope you will be able to get a before bed test in tonight. Looks like he’s coming down,

Sorry about the inflamed gums. :( Inflammation or infection can raise the blood sugar.
 
Thanks all! Will hold at 4.75. His AMPS happens at 8:30 and his PMPS at 8:30pm so I am getting later tests in before I go to bed when I can. My work schedule is all over the place, and so I try to always get 3-4 tests in a day when I’m not doing a curve. But his numbers this am, for example, make me wonder if that’s a bounce or just high. His nadirs always seem to hit during the day late, like 7-8 hours it seems, so that would be like a 4am test. I can set an alarm to do so if people think it would be useful!
 
Also- his specialist says he doesn’t think it’s the teeth based on his notes and images only from a month ago. I’ll get my vets opinion in a week. If I wanted to get the remaining teeth removed, I’d have to pay the whole $800 all over again. I wish he’d removed them all at once, which would have been included in their estimate. :/
 
Oops- also forgot to tag his before bed last night when I took it. It’s in now, was 496.
 
Back
Top