PMPS 327-questions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie & Trouble

Active Member
I have a strange question...is there any way I could be giving the shots wrong? Trouble was at 340 +6. Is it normal to go lower pmps than midway through the 12 hours? I am giving the shot in the scruff of his neck...tenting...definitely not shooting through the other side. I always check to make sure! Would I know if I weren't giving the shot in the right layer of skin? Oh, this is all too stressful! Thanks for any feedback-I now have my spreadsheet up and ready, so maybe waiting for more data will help answer these questions.
 
Hi & welcome - I have had all of those questions. The fact that you are asking is a good sign. You are conscious of what is going on. Others on this Board can better inform you but I would say you are doing fine if you are thinking & questioning -- which you are. It is just a stressful place to be, so hang in there & soldier on.
Hugs,
Susan & Lanky
 
It is certainly possible for the PMPS to be lower than numbers later in the cycle. We refer to it as a "double dip." My kitty, Gabby, does this routinely. Feel free to look at her SS and you'll see.

A typical curve for a day looks like this (see the New to Lantus sticky:
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If you weren't getting the insulin where it's supposed to go, the numbers wouldn't be coming down at all. Remember to get at least a before bed spot check tonight!
 
Are you giving different doses of Lantus at am and pm? You are going to run into problems if you keep changing the dose. You really need to be giving the same dose, no changing up or down, for 6 to 10 shots.

The spreadsheet looks good, so now you just need to gather info with more spot checks and then we will be able to see how your cat is reacting. Each cat is different and you can look at the ss I have for my two cats to see that they are both completely different in how they react.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top