? Pmps 152/ does this sound right

Status
Not open for further replies.

Debra Pratt

Member Since 2020
Ok so pmps is 152. I posted in Lantus board as well but I get faster replies here. I know I need to stall but how long do I stall before retest? And when do I decide if I need to skip, or reduce the dose?
 
Ok called vet as I could no longer stall evening food as Bitsy took to trying to eat anything she could get to. So per vet advice I gave 0.5 units along with her food tonight. And I was told to reduce her dose to 1.75 units in the morning. Does that sound correct and good to do?
 
Sorry you didn't get any timely replies...

A reduced dose is fine for tonight-- I'd still get at least one more test in, though. She's slowly coming up after breaking her bounce today, but the lantus depot can be tricky!

General stalling procedure: don't feed, test in 30mins to see if she's going up. The thing to remember about Lantus is that the new shot doesn't start to take effect for a couple hours, so you are "really" shooting what the number will be in two hours, not the pre-shot number. Of course, it takes a while before you can make reasonable predictions (at which point, usually the cat changes patterns lol), so stalling can help get a hint of the future.
 
As for the reduction to 1.75: technically, Bitsy has not earned a reduction, but I'm not opposed to that move. You increased by 0.5 last time, skipping over the 1.75U dose, so it's not a bad idea to go back and give it a try.

Looking at the spreadsheet, I suspect that she might have gone low in some of those night time periods when you haven't been able to get any tests. She's had a few nights recently where she was in mid-pinks at PMPS, and then by morning had shot sky-high to black numbers-- good chance there was a low in between. Given that, even though we don't usually recommend changing doses based on numbers we haven't seen, since the vet made the recommendation already I don't think it's a bad idea to go along with vet advice and try the reduction to 1.75U.
 
Oh! Looks like you went ahead and shot the full dose. I think she'll be just fine tonight, but you definitely need to get at least one test tonight-- can you do a +2 or a +3?
I will be setting my alarm to test her every two hours to make sure her numbers stay stable. Looking over her spreadsheet if I can keep her good till +6- +8 then she should be fine. Her lowest number is at that time. A little bit ago she was at 187. I am prepared with honey, high carb wet and dry food, and baby food.
 
Hopefully it will be an uneventful night, but in the meantime it's really good for her to still be in blue! The more time she spends in these numbers (and, eventually, dark green numbers), the better for her. With luck, she's starting to get used to being here (although a bounce will let you sleep more tonight!).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top