PMPS 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Callie & Patches

Member Since 2016
Stalling. I have a hungry kitty. Callie's numbers were good today. She has been bouncing. I can stall for a while.
 
Last edited:
We just switched from Vetsulin to ProZinc last week. Trying to get the dose right. It's been an hour and she came up to 156. I'm thinking that I need to give a partial dose. I can give her 1 unit and watch over her tonight.
 
Last edited:
You hold the syringe, but I would not shoot 156 - especially on an AT meter. She will likely be high in the morning, but you can get her back in good numbers. Better too high for a day than too low for a minute.

Looking at the spreadsheet, 2 units on a 178 gave you a 90. That was either a good dose, or even a little high. I don't understand the 2.5 on a 205. IMHO you are dosing very aggressively.
 
I'm still learning. No dose tonight. I have been trying to avoid the higher numbers. I will try to lower her dose tomorrow and hope that works. Thank you for the help. I haven't had much advise on dosing, trying to read as much as possible.
 
You can always post in this forum daily and ask for guidance.

In general, I'd have 200 as a no shoot number (on the AT) until you have enough data to predict what she will do. The 90 the other day was a big drop, which was a sign that the 2 units on a 200ish preshot was a good dose. You might hold a dose like that six cycles to see if she'll drop even lower. Once you saw what the 2 units did, it was risky to raise the dose on a similar preshot. Make sense?

Have you read the protocol? In general, you try a dose, hold it six cycles. If she is high and flat, then increase by 0.25. If you see a nice drop (50%) with preshots in the 200s, hang in with the dose awhile.

Just in general, regulated numbers are preshots in the mid 200s with a nadir in the low 100s or double digits, but above 68 on the AT. That's your first goal. Then you start to fine tune the dose.
 
Thank you so much. I thought I read the Protocol, but I will print it off and study it. I will start posting my numbers. I see that a lot of people do that.
 
Last edited:
She really is looking good! Yep I think posting daily would help. Thayts what I did until I got really comfortable with making my own dosing decisions. That took awhile too! We'll keep an eye out for you!
 
Looks like a good dose choice this morning based on her previous cycles. And not a huge rise after no insulin.

My theory when considering a low number is "always better safe than sorry". You can always adjust the dose the next cycle if the dose was too low or if you skipped, but if the dose was too high and they start to crash, you have to deal with a hypo.
 
It's not a good photo. I will try to get my granddaughter to get some better photos and make a better avatar. I'm not very technical. I go back to the real "floppy" floppies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top