PMPS 109, still 109 after 1st stall

Status
Not open for further replies.

FurBabiesMama

Very Active Member
Mia's PMPS was lower than ever, 109. Oddly, that is her lowest number of the cycle. Anyway, she had her testing treat (a few YA kibbles crushed in water) but no other food. I retested after 26 minutes (per time on meter), and she is STILL 109. I am scared to skip her shot because I KNOW she will get very high by morning, but this is a really low PS, so I am concerned about giving her too much. She had a 172 AMPS a couple of days ago and I gave 2.5 which worked out (90 at nadir).

If she is still 109 or close to it when I test again after this second stall. Do you think I should shoot just 2? Or??
 
@Kris & Teasel , @Djamila , @Rachel .. if you are on, I would love your input.
When BG is lowest at the end of the cycle it can be a sign that the dose is too high. I can't be certain, of course. You did the right thing in stalling without feeding and retesting. It's not likely that she'll get into the high 100s even with another stall or two. Rather than skipping you can give a reduced dose of maybe 50-60% of her regular dose. Check her at +2. How much to reduce is guesswork until you've done it a few times and know how she reacts. What do you think?
 
When BG is lowest at the end of the cycle it can be a sign that the dose is too high.
Her cycles have had a pretty good curve to them. So, I do not understand why this cycle did this.

It's not likely that she'll get into the high 100s even with another stall or two. Rather than skipping you can give a reduced dose of maybe 50-60% of her regular dose.
You are right. She only got up to 117. I guess I will try 1.5. I will be monitoring.

Thank you!
 
Most of them have had a pretty good smile curve to them, but this one looks like it just went down all day. That can happen sometimes due to the dose being too high OR due to the pancreas jumping in and helping out. It's hard to say the dose is too high when you've been seeing good curves I know, but it's really possible...sometimes it's just that the cat has been bouncing and cleared the bounce and that higher dose wasn't good for a non-bounce cycle. It's hard to say...as Kris says, she's a cat! Could be a combo of things or just a fluke. I like your reduced dose and monitoring plan! Let's see what happens...if this keeps happening, we'll be able to have a better guess as to what's going on. I know it's kind of scary but really...this is GOOD news!
 
Looks like Mia was OK last night and now you have some data for shooting a reduced dose. :)
I wish I had gotten a +8, but my body said I had to sleep. I 'think' that what I see is that I could have given a higher dose than I did. We were doing so well on a consistent 2.75 until the lower PSs started popping up and complicating things. I really do not like messing with the dosing each time. I am going to try staying with f2.50 and see what happens. I am just worried that will not consistently get us into the green.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top