PM DOSE NEEDED

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heather&Harrison

Member Since 2021
Hey so this morning we dosed at 1.75u and he dropped really low. I panicked a bit and i think i over fed him with chicken and gravy x2 and some maple syrup.

Now his pmps was 17.6/317.
What do we dose for in 30mins

Thanks
 
That 1.9 means an immediate reduction from the 1.75U dose this morning.

I would dose no more than 1.5U, unless a Caninsulin person comes in with different advice (I am more familiar with Lantus insulin). Just wanted to get you a reply since there is a time crunch.
 
Adding: the important thing is that even though he's back up high at this pre-shot, you still need to take the reduction to 1.5U. He's told you, very clearly, that 1.75U is still too much insulin :).
 
Are you feeding 1/2 hour before the shot? And are you giving him snacks early on in the cycle to help stop the big drops?
I don’t think you panicked this morning, you did well to get him back up. The high PMPS is a bounce from the 34 .....normal for this to happen. I agree with Nan, just because he’s bounced doesn’t mean you don’t need to reduce....definitely reduce the dose.
 
Mogs your right. We just checked him @ +2 and he is in the green at 3.9.

We are going to give him some snacks as i suspect he is going to keep dropping.

I kinda thought 1.5u was a lot considering last night we micro dosed at .25u and he stayed in the blue
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top