PM DOSE NEEDED

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Heather&Harrison, Jan 15, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heather&Harrison

    Heather&Harrison Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2021
    Hey so this morning we dosed at 1.75u and he dropped really low. I panicked a bit and i think i over fed him with chicken and gravy x2 and some maple syrup.

    Now his pmps was 17.6/317.
    What do we dose for in 30mins

    Thanks
     
  2. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    That 1.9 means an immediate reduction from the 1.75U dose this morning.

    I would dose no more than 1.5U, unless a Caninsulin person comes in with different advice (I am more familiar with Lantus insulin). Just wanted to get you a reply since there is a time crunch.
     
  3. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Heather,
    I would reduce the dose down to 1.5 units after that drop to 34 this morning.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  4. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Adding: the important thing is that even though he's back up high at this pre-shot, you still need to take the reduction to 1.5U. He's told you, very clearly, that 1.75U is still too much insulin :).
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  5. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Are you feeding 1/2 hour before the shot? And are you giving him snacks early on in the cycle to help stop the big drops?
    I don’t think you panicked this morning, you did well to get him back up. The high PMPS is a bounce from the 34 .....normal for this to happen. I agree with Nan, just because he’s bounced doesn’t mean you don’t need to reduce....definitely reduce the dose.
     
  6. Heather&Harrison

    Heather&Harrison Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2021
    Awesome thanks everybody. we just dosed 1.5u.

    And we will continue to monitor him tonight
     
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I'd have gone down to 1.0 max.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  8. Heather&Harrison

    Heather&Harrison Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2021
    Mogs your right. We just checked him @ +2 and he is in the green at 3.9.

    We are going to give him some snacks as i suspect he is going to keep dropping.

    I kinda thought 1.5u was a lot considering last night we micro dosed at .25u and he stayed in the blue
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) and Critter Mom like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page