? PLEASE LOOK AT SPREADSHEET 6/2/24 WATSON AMPS 400+L/315 Meter, 400+ @ +1

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
I apologize for not posting more frequently, family medical issue is keeping me juggling too many plates.

Can someone please look at my spreadsheet and help me make sense of it? Watson was raised to 2u on 5/22 and his numbers look much worse than they did at 1.75u. He has rarelyl been out of the 400+ range.
His insulin looks clear, was opened 4/8/24 and is kept refrigerated - could it have gone bad?
He gets wet LC food am and pm with Young Again Zero kibble as a snack (mostly because I have one cat that refuses wet). The YA dry kibble is shared between 4 cats so he isn't eating it all (1/2 total for all 4)
He is on a Libre but I also check with meter before am and pm shorts.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-22-24-watson-amps-273.290296/#post-3181392
 
Sorry about the family medical issues. Watson has not hot the breakthrough dose. You need to increase to 2.25.
 
How is Watson feeling/acting these days? We like to hear a WCR (whole cat report) too. A cat is a lot more than just their numbers.

Watson got down to 94 on the Libre which is lower than he got on 1.75 units, so 2.0 was a better dose. However, your recheck with the BG meter showed 161 and the goal with SLGS is to get nadirs (note the plural) between 90 an 149. He needs more insulin and has been on 2.0 units too long. He needs that increase.

If you hold a dose too long that is giving them mostly high numbers, they can develop glucose toxicity, which basically means then get used to higher numbers and you need to increase to get over it.

When you get a chance, it'd be a good idea to snap shot any lower Libre numbers (under 120 say) with a hand held so you can see if there is a pattern to how much lower the Libre is reading.
 
How is Watson feeling/acting these days? We like to hear a WCR (whole cat report) too. A cat is a lot more than just their numbers.

Watson got down to 94 on the Libre which is lower than he got on 1.75 units, so 2.0 was a better dose. However, your recheck with the BG meter showed 161 and the goal with SLGS is to get nadirs (note the plural) between 90 an 149. He needs more insulin and has been on 2.0 units too long. He needs that increase.

If you hold a dose too long that is giving them mostly high numbers, they can develop glucose toxicity, which basically means then get used to higher numbers and you need to increase to get over it.

When you get a chance, it'd be a good idea to snap shot any lower Libre numbers (under 120 say) with a hand held so you can see if there is a pattern to how much lower the Libre is reading.
Watson has been acting like his normal self. Watching other kitties outside through the door and cuddling with me and playing with/chasing my other cats.
I’ll up his dose to 2.25 tonight and double check any lower Libre numbers with the meter.
 
Back
Top