? Please, I need someone to answer now 3 hours past shot time.

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I posted earlier today that Phoenix's glucose was 151 this morning. I didn't give his shot but fed him. Now, I realize I shouldn't have fed him.
An hour later, glucose 177 so I didn't give injection.
It is now 3 hours past his injection time and glucose has risen to 357. What should I do? Should I skip his shot altogether?


This happened yesterday morning as well. I shot after 1 hour of waiting and his glucose had risen above 200. At night, his glucose preshot has been in the high 300 and 400 then falls dramatically after Injection.
 
If you were to shoot this late, you would also shoot your pm shot late also, and then work your way back to your normal shot time by shooting 15 minutes early at am and pm, or shooting 30 minutes early at either am/pm (not both) until you are back to your normal shot times.
 
Do you know what dosing method you’re using?Tight regulation or SLGS? Each method has different numbers where you skip shots and where you earn reductions. If you’re following SLGS, you skip the shot when they’re 150 or lower. But you always want to post here to ask for help.
You’re finally seeing blue numbers on this current does, that’s good! When you get a blue pre-shot number, you can stall feeding for about 15-20 minutes, test again to see if the number is rising, if it’s rising, you can give insulin and feed and then get a test at +1-+2. If the number is about the same or lower than the pre-shot number, you’ll need to test more often so you can catch any sudden drops in BG and possibly feed something higher than low carb food to keep Phoenix from dropping too quickly.
 
Also, when you need help or have a question, put the blue question mark prefix in your thread title, it helps draw more attention to your thread.
 
This is actually good information to have for situations like this. You now know that when your pet is maybe in the mid 100s at the preshot, that BG stays steady or actually goes up for the next few hours. So, you can usually give the dose, feed and expect the numbers to stay steady until the cat's onset. If you are concerned, you can always check a +2/+3 and see where the numbers are heading and feed a slightly higher carb content to keep the numbers level until the +5 where it looks like your nadir might be. If you can monitor and have supplies- I say try and shoot.
That (198) and the (188) you got yesterday are really the same number with the meter variance factored in to the equation- so you can shoot those numbers. If you sat down now and took 3 BGs- they would all be different, but within the same range.
It looks like in the past you shot a half dose of 2 units with a (156/158)...you can always do that instead of skipping with a BG in the 150s at shot time- especially since you have data that shows what your cat's numbers tend to do and that not giving the shot puts the BGs in the 400s. But kitties bounce and that will likely happen anyway since these better numbers are a bit new.
Raising the insulin dose is supposed to get you good numbers like this, and eventually you will have to start working with the insulin and shooting these numbers over 150 (and then over 90). If you are worried you won't know how to handle the number, you can always check a +11 in the AM. I used to do this after I got a few surprise AMps numbers from my cat. This showed me what direction the numbers were going and gave me more time to post and get help- or stall and make a decision on my own.

:) you will get there
 
If you’re following SLGS, you skip the shot when they’re 150 or lower.
You do that in the beginning when you are new. Over time, and once you've gathered the data to do so, you lower that 150. Experienced people following SLGS can shoot as low as 90. Every time you have either reduced the dose or skipped the shot if Phoenix is low at preshot time, he's skyrocketed. At some point, if you can monitor that day, you should try shooting the full dose if you see an upper blue preshot. Lantus (and Levemir) are great at producing flat cycles if you shoot lower numbers. Phoenix seems to really like those late nadirs, so you will have to eventually get used to shooting lower numbers.

People following TR can shoot as low as 50, eventually. That's one reason it's important to decide which dosing method you'd like to follow. Regardless, he hasn't seen any numbers under 150 yet, so looks like he needs a dose increase. Though he has made some really good progress on this dose. :cool:
 
Thank you all for your excellent advice. I have been trying to follow the SLGS method. I now understand that I am still holding a dose too long.
I still tend to panic a bit when I don't know what to do. Phoenix is my baby and I am trying very hard to get the diabetes regulated.
 
Back
Top